the mere fact that they can have such ideas, shows how they view us and the way they think we should be run.Originally posted by socrates:Aiyoh... don't get so agitated yet since up till this present moment it is still just a suggestion... They haven't implement the "stick" yet lah... Some of you guys seems to be ready for a rebellion or something...
Atobe: Contrary to common perceptions, China, the big cities, are even less imposing than what we have here...I have been living there for 3 years now. Officials that come out with this kind of statement will be laughed at and they are becoming ultra-sensitive to public opinion as the world's media spotlight is on them.Originally posted by Atobe:This kind of crap thinking, coming from a PAP MP, is the result of the high handed methods in which LKY has been using since the PAP first ruled Singapore - from Self-Government in 1957, and since independence in 1965.
The past methods used by LKY, and its continued encouragement of the practices adopted by the current Cabinet, is a very close semblance of the same methods employed by closed societies such as Communist Russia and China.
Duty to the Nation, the Government, the Citizens.
Every INDIVIDUAL EFFORT is to serve a National Purpose.
Now the shadow of a Communist Type Political System is slowly revealing itself clearer - even when we are constantly fed with the false threats of Communist Cells, each time the Ruling Party has to deal with those threatening the Ruling Party's political interests.
But the fact that our modern day Spore policy makers are even thinking along such a line is both startling and unsettling.Originally posted by socrates:Aiyoh... don't get so agitated yet since up till this present moment it is still just a suggestion... They haven't implement the "stick" yet lah... Some of you guys seems to be ready for a rebellion or something...
now i feel like a hamster...Originally posted by Yunhaier:BREED!
BREED!
BREED!
GO FORTH AND MULTIPLY!!!![]()
Poly.Halfway.Dropout - what so special about that?Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:How on earth did this guy get his P.H.D ah?
very easily... wait till u read chee soon juan's phd... its a no brainer... feed rats some noxious stuff, record their behavior... *yawn* ...Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:How on earth did this guy get his P.H.D ah?
In Mencius' mind, knowing and not fulfilling one's parents' wishes makes one guilty of being unfilial. This was the intention of my allusion to Mencius.and what business has he to allude to that? so pple are being fillial if they gives birth to children they cannot afford, and instead burden their aged parents with the care of that child?
I can't even read beyond the 'burden' and 'moral' part. The rest is pure damage control and mitigation.Originally posted by CX:and what business has he to allude to that? so pple are being fillial if they gives birth to children they cannot afford, and instead burden their aged parents with the care of that child?
grandparents may want grandchildren, but aren't the parents themselves in a better position to decide if they can afford it? should the decision to have children STILL remain with the individual instead of society, parental pressures or WORSE, state initiative?!
our politicians very smart right?
My guess is that he listened to all those old-timer constituents who dont have to struggle in today's world and less of young ppl like us.Originally posted by CX:and what business has he to allude to that? so pple are being fillial if they gives birth to children they cannot afford, and instead burden their aged parents with the care of that child?
grandparents may want grandchildren, but aren't the parents themselves in a better position to decide if they can afford it? should the decision to have children STILL remain with the individual instead of society, parental pressures or WORSE, state initiative?!
our politicians very smart right?
i don't think his elderly constituents are to blame... and i don't think he got his inspiration from them... its all very convenient lah...Originally posted by Viper52:Sure, his elderly constituents want grandchildren. Which parent doesn't? But when he bandied this fact about, did he bother to find out the family situation of his constituent's children's families? Are they struggling in insecure jobs making barely enough to cover their HDB loans, education loans, their own and their aged parent's living expenses? Its easy to judge the actions of others when you're sitting in an ivory tower like he is.
I don't expect the elderly to all understand the facts of life for our generation, but I certainly expect that of one of Singapore's MPs, someone with a doctorate to boot.
Haha...good one, CX. True, all those major rebellions in Chinese history have almost always been preceded by the flooding of the Yangze and / or Huanghe.Originally posted by CX:so judging by the recent floods, floundering economy and the objectionable stuff that out politicians are saying these days, i'll say that they've lost the mandate of heaven...
If getting a PhD is so simple, as you have described...... why do you - or any of us - NOT make an effort to grab such a supposedly easy achievement ?Originally posted by CX:very easily... wait till u read chee soon juan's phd... its a no brainer... feed rats some noxious stuff, record their behavior... *yawn* ...
if u pay for it, its even easier... just go through can liao... very unlikely to fail one...
i'm not belittling it, i just think that we need to think beyond it and not assume that everyone who has a phd is "somebody" cos thats obviously flawed.Originally posted by Atobe:If getting a PhD is so simple, as you have described...... why do you - or any of us - NOT make an effort to grab such a supposedly easy achievement ?
Your comment is unfortunate, as it belittle all others who have sweated and made sacrifices to work towards such a qualification.
Hey, yun yi, thats my line....Originally posted by Yunhaier:BREED!
BREED!
BREED!
GO FORTH AND MULTIPLY!!!![]()