ya lor.. your fren all staying in aust now right?? so many croco there...Originally posted by sgboy2004:many of mi friends...young young already dun wanna hav kids liao...and then many wanna retired in a country other than sg![]()
Straits Times
MARCH 13, 2004
insight
[b]Would you like to be born in Singapore? Come on, you can be honest
By Asad Latif
I WAS amazed to receive your e-mail. Here I am, a baby not yet born, and there you are, in Singapore, asking for an interview. I dare say that technology is one of Singapore's major draws.
You say that everyone has a view on Singapore's baby shortfall. The carrots being dangled in front of couples are getting bigger, but there is talk of using the stick as well if people do not respond. In this frenzy, people have forgotten us - the babies-to-be.
Do I want to be born in Singapore? That was your question.
Here is my answer.
What I find astonishing about your baby debate is that it is not about babies but dollars. How much does it take to bring up a child? What does he cost his mother? How far should she be rewarded for her motherhood? How about men? Could they get some time off - time is money - for being fathers?
I do not know whether to laugh or to cry at those questions. Have these couples ever wondered whether their parents would not have been better off without having them? Are they willing to pay their parents for the bother of raising them, for dreams unfulfilled, for opportunities foregone? What is the going rate?
So why should we, the unborn seeking the sun, be born in a world of cold calculations? Why cannot couples just have us, as their parents had them, and take life from there?
I do understand why your government is desperate. Unlike parents who can choose not to have children, a government cannot choose not to have a country. A country requires people to work for it, fight for it and make babies for it.
Yet, there are problems. Asad, have you noticed how often the word 'contribution' is used in your Singapore? It is such a big word that I can barely spell it correctly.
Society values a person for what he or she contributes, ultimately to the economy. Baby incentives are the smiling face of the same coin whose other face demands sternly that the child contribute to the economy.
I have nothing against contributing, of course. In fact, I shall hardly mind if, some day, I pay more in taxes a year than what someone makes by way of a salary.
However, I cannot guarantee this. I am a brainy child-to-be, and so I know what is a guarantee, but how can I promise it? Can you promise me that Singapore will accept me whether my talents lie in making money or in making music, in excelling at things which make me happy without making others suffer?
I want to be born. Can you promise me that Singapore will cherish me for what I will be - which I do not know now - rather than treasure me for what it wants me to be?
Do not call my questions childish: I am not even a child yet. I know that there is no country where children rule. Everywhere, people welcome the next generation as the future, but by the time that generation comes of age, the future has passed into its past and it is time for another future, another carpet of mile-long hopes laid out for another generation waiting to be born.
I understand all this, but can you understand what I am saying? I am saying that I want to be myself, and so long as you count me in dollars, I am too precious to be born.
Are you upset, Asad? Sorry, but you wanted me to speak the truth.
All right, calm down. I have more to say about Singapore.
You have a lot going for you. I can be born in your country without cats and dogs hosting my reception on the hospital floor.
No civil war will kill me before the age of four. No mother will need to sell me off at 12 if I am a girl. No starving father will have to depend on my eight-year-old arms to bring food home by carrying the bricks with which the rich build their homes.
Your schools are not communes, but they are not palaces, either. They are playpens of the nation. Every child gets the same toys - English, maths, science, the mother tongue - with which to build tomorrow's Singapore.
These sharp toys often cut tender skin - God help the Singaporean who does not know how to play with them - but, at least, no Singapore child has to become a foreign worker because his parents were too poor to give him the most expensive of toys: English, the passport to the riches of the globe.
And, most of all, Singapore stops no child from climbing into its lap because of the colour of his skin or the name of his faith.
That is why I want to be born there.
I do not know what I shall be if I am born: girl or boy, a tycoon's child or a gangster's brat, the darling of my parents or the debris of a broken home.
I have no idea of which race or religion awaits my arrival. I do not know what my chances in life will be. Will I excel in school or elbow my way through the university of life? I do not know.
But I can speak about Singapore honestly because I do not know how the dice will fall for me.
I do want the dice to fall for me in Singapore because I want to live before I can struggle to be what I want to be.
For that, I need a set of parents.
Could you pass the word around?
Thank you.
Yours Sincerely,
unborn child
well, i don't particularly agree with the "racial enclave" thingy u were referring to... if anything at all, i think this is a rather remarkable achievement here at least for myself... i have friends of every creed and race and it has gotten to a point that we're so certain and so comfortable, that we don't even have to mind those unsaid "sensitivities" ... we're perfectly comfortable and at ease with each other.Originally posted by pikamaster:then the unborn praises Singapore for all the benefits you get being born here i.e no civil wars, racial equality, economic strengh etc. of course, there are no civil wars. racial equality and economic strength, however, are rather facadious, considering the alleged formation of "racial enclaves" in our schools and foreign (white)preference in job application. as for economic strength, is it really accurate to say that the lay Singaporean is "rich"? lastly, the unborn forgot that being born in SIngapore means that he will not be able to speak his mind out on politicla matters as then he will be labelled as a "defamer".
i guess it is alright for the unborn to ask for a set of parents, but...*sigh*, this is soooo complex!
the pikamaster with conflicting thoughts
No we are certainly not alone, there will always be such people who judge others by what they own, and they do exist no matter where you are.Originally posted by CX:but really... is does seem rather offensive to place a price tag on everyone in this day and age... "what school do u go to?" "how much is that scholarship worth?" "how much do u make?" "what car do u drive?" ...
and kids will be subjected to this kind of scrutiny if they're born here... are we alone in judging pple by these shallow criterias? or are we perhaps over-doing what pple in other countries do as well?
it sickens me that pple here measure each other by what they own... poor unborn ones...
We have become exactly what our political masters want us to be (and who have shaped the system to that effect). Mindless, ignorant, apathetic human batteries driven by a lust of money who care for little beyond the confines of our pigeonholes and offices, never mind the good of the country and the world beyond. Just slave for the GLCs, MNCs and SMEs to make them happy to provide for the government's pockets in exchange for some material well-being and "stability"Originally posted by CX:u know, with all these talk about declining birth rates and subsidies and parents and employers, we really do seem to have forgotten about the babies themselves...
what kind of world are we bringing our descendants into? what have we become?
u know... thats a question i've been wanting to bring up for some time now... just that nobody seems to want to discuss it...Originally posted by nismoS132:not all bills are necessary. most people are too accustomed to their luxuries that it becomes a necessity for them.
why do pri sch children have hps?
why do people earning minimal wages have hps?
are cars a necessity?
do we have to turn on the air con every bloody minute? do we even NEED the air con?
for those of us in the middle and lower income groups, there are many things we can cut back on, but yet so many are unwilling.
[quote]Originally posted by Atobe:thats an issue of how u define "marriage" isn't it? in Sg, we are faced with the peculiar situation of young pple only able to move out into their own place IF they get married... since its pretty obvious that a fresh grad would not be able to afford private property immediately.
Will it not be better to continue in the 'Romance of Co-Habitating', then to enter into a Marital Contract with the significant crossing of a threshold of new responsibilities, behavior and social expectations ?
Try making babies and starting a family, it may help in solving the 'Sinus Problems' – the joys of Parenthood, and the accompanying disinfecting smell of the new born, seems to give relief to the daily stresses, and make ‘sinus’ disappear.was that supposed to be funny? cos i don't get it...
A word of caution, the sinus problem maybe passed on to your offspring.
Originally posted by Atobe:not that they're intrinsically linked, but young singaporeans perceive very few alternatives.
CX, it is certainly unfortunate that ‘marriages’ are today being dictated by the necessity of getting a roof over the head first, without considering the long-term implication of the good Sense of Marriage.
It seems that the ‘Dollar and Sense’ has to be linked in this discussion even if we try to avoid it, and simply based on the merit of having babies.well, i'm going a little further back in the process... before the baby... and if the situations i've described strikes a chord with the pple in my generation then i guess we have a pretty good idea why they feel they can't afford to have kids.
Comparing the comfort of a secure and apolitical career that you are having, it will be quite admirable on the part of Dr Chee Soon Juan to be able to raised two kids - despite his public political position with the accompanying financial hardships, and his entanglement with the Law.narcissism as i suggested? pple too in love with themselves and their lifestyles can't bear to sacrifice it just ot bring another life into the world.
One will then have to ask, what is the real excuse in the other Singaporeans of Dr CheeÂ’s generation in not having children ?
No, the suggestion of having babies to help you find relief from sinus is not intended to be a light hearted comment.mine's heriditary... don't think babies would help me...
An ENT Specialist, from Singapore General Hospital, once informed me that sinus is also a symptom of mental stress, and may not necessarily be inflicted by some genetic, nor a physical defect in the nose.
CX,Originally posted by CX:well, i don't particularly agree with the "racial enclave" thingy u were referring to... if anything at all, i think this is a rather remarkable achievement here at least for myself... i have friends of every creed and race and it has gotten to a point that we're so certain and so comfortable, that we don't even have to mind those unsaid "sensitivities" ... we're perfectly comfortable and at ease with each other.
but really... is does seem rather offensive to place a price tag on everyone in this day and age... "what school do u go to?" "how much is that scholarship worth?" "how much do u make?" "what car do u drive?" ...
and kids will be subjected to this kind of scrutiny if they're born here... are we alone in judging pple by these shallow criterias? or are we perhaps over-doing what pple in other countries do as well?
it sickens me that pple here measure each other by what they own... poor unborn ones...
to varying degrees, we're always more comfortable with pple of our own ethnic groups or religion. we shouldn't need to feel alarmed about that.Originally posted by pikamaster:CX,
last year there was a letter to the Straits Times that sparked off intense discussion. a person wrote in to indicate her observation that in primary schools, CHinese students were forming their own groupings which excluded other races. her nephew and a few of her friends' children (from other schools) had the same thing occurring in their schools.
but i agree with ur other pts anyway....hopefully that doesn't confirm that i'm an idealist?
the concerned pikamaster