except for mahjong.Originally posted by 798:NO!!!!!!!!! No No No! NO!!!!!!!! Gambling Sucks!
yuan DU FU suOriginally posted by socrates:Is the problem a bit exaggerated due to the many Hong Kong or Singapore shows we watched ?
I can remember a scene where a girl has to get her hands fried because she owes them money![]()
YES FOR CASINO!!Originally posted by subudei:I'm probably going to get flamed for this, but my vote has to be 'YES'.
And why not? We can't, and shouldn't, nursemaid people forever. The choice of whether or not to gamble is a personal decision which should be the individual's prerogative. I don't like gambling myself, but I don't think a ban is the way to go, especially since all we're doing is driving the industry underground, and driving people to those huge casino cruise ships that ply international waters. Personally, I don't think the ban is doing much good at all.
even when i went vegas twice i was more interested in staying in the luxurious hotels (and the charges were cheap! i was a student den!) and going for those crazy buffets! had buffets for almost every meals! and o cos not to forget the cabaret shows and all. hardly gambled there.Originally posted by snk86:well, i hate to say this, but i gotta say yes as a casino would really improve our world status, but i am really in for the casino to only grant membership to people that have a certain financial standard, and each person can only gamble till a certain amount a day(this can be set according to their financial condition), but, i must say that maybe they can grant admission, to all, but only allow members to gamble........because i sure would like to see the interior of a casino![]()
By saying that, you're making Singapore citizens second class citizens in their own country. And you're adding another C to the category of 4Cs... we have enuff stupid Cs already, makes Singaporeans become more materialistic!Originally posted by snk86:well, i hate to say this, but i gotta say yes as a casino would really improve our world status, but i am really in for the casino to only grant membership to people that have a certain financial standard, and each person can only gamble till a certain amount a day(this can be set according to their financial condition), but, i must say that maybe they can grant admission, to all, but only allow members to gamble........because i sure would like to see the interior of a casino![]()
u say liao, that is las vegas,Originally posted by wuming78:even when i went vegas twice i was more interested in staying in the luxurious hotels (and the charges were cheap! i was a student den!) and going for those crazy buffets! had buffets for almost every meals! and o cos not to forget the cabaret shows and all. hardly gambled there.
Do you know how much singaporeans gambling outside, in BT today, it stated that "Analysts said it makes sense for Genting to be involved in the Singapore casino project to help retain a slice of the Singapore market. Close to a quarter of Genting's gamblers, who help generate nearly RM1 billion (S$444.2 million) in bets every year, come from Singapore."Originally posted by Hitakogi:u say liao, that is las vegas,
singapore such a kiasu country with kiasu people, i dun think it will happen in singapore ...![]()
Yes! I totally agree with , the multi million dollar ministers have ran out of idea on how to increase Singapore revenue. Casino is an easy way out. And lets hope with the revenue rollng in from the casino they will give us poor peasants a break! No more bus/mrt fare hike, no more gst hike, etc, etc ........Originally posted by :YES FOR CASINO!!
The majority of you, do not realize that Singapore's economy is not growing, and we are facing the worst recession. We are in dire need of a major boost in our economy to get it going.
Singapore has used up most of its trump cards, what I mean by trump cards, are tools which Singapore can utilize to boost the economy.
The very first card, was our PSA port. Which is currently facing strict competition from the Pelatas M'sia port.
Our second card, was Changi airport as a hub and SIA, which is also facing a downturn due to low cost air carriers and losing Changi as an international hub as newer planes can travel further distances and there would'nt be a need to stopover at Singapore.
3rd, 4th card, is our semiconductor and oil refineries. Both facing strict competition and decreased capital inflow.
Singapore as a HQ hub is being phrased out as China is still the biggest thing, its low cost to setup there and most of the factories are out there.
Can you think of another trump card Singapore can use?
Now, instead of complaining about bad vices of gambling, ever realize that cities do remarkably well with casinos.
London has several casions.
Perth has a Casino.
Sdyney has Star City Casino.
Melbourne has Crown Casino.
Macau, Genting M'sia, Las Vegas...
If its so bad, why are'nt these cities and its people crumbling to their feet. Most the citizens in these cities should be beggars already, to what you people have said about how bad a casino is for the people.
A Casino, can bring people/tourist to invest more in Singapore, such as buying/renting properties(fill up all the empty condos...), spending on items like food and clothing....
Seriously, do think with an open mind, how a Casino can benefit Singapore and how disadvantageous it can be. Please backup your suggestions with constructive ideas.
Singapore has no natural resources, with little land, we can only depend on providing high class services and products.
Okay, I will tackle each of your inputs, as I strongly disagree to your obtuse views. First, is money laundering, if you do not know recently Singapore has setup a task force to counter money laundering (effectively checking accounts for frauds) and is working together with world banks on this issue. Secondly, the MAS, has supreme powers to look into any bank account (why do you think our IRAS is very good at catching tax evaders, even ktv ma ma san also can catch). Thirdly, any cash or large transaction or TT wired in will be investigated, amounts more than $1 million (or high transactions on individuals or groups, most suspicious are companies setup in the Bahamas). There are other measures setup as well... if you want to know about M'sia fallout in currency that was due to currency speculation, it goes in far greater detail than just that. We can still keep both issues separate.Originally posted by socrates:Is true that Singapore can go into other areas like Nanotech bio tech etc... however another venue which is casino may help too
Talking about money laudering new word... to me people can still go to other casino and change their currency easily... I mean... now money laudering is so easy... About your example of a person changing 250,000... they could do that in a malaysia casino tooIf other part of the world have casino, then stopping singapore from building casinoes new word to stop money laudering isn't going to help much...
About investing the money using laudered new wordmoney is a bit... common too. George Soros, a businessman also use its money to play with the economics of poor countries. This phenomenon do not need specially laudered money from casino, this can take place as long as there are rich people.
About your third point and forth point, I guess it is okie
By then gambling is like postitutes new word... is a vice, addictive and harmful. But human by nature need to have some place to vent it off... That explains the people going to casinoes and cruise ships. The effect of broken home etc are real... however the economic benifits new word are real too...
Originally posted by [ Neo ]:And although we do not see much physical beggars around the streets, what we can expect from families living within an active sphere of influence from the casino core, will be poverty in respect to their quality of living.
You do not want to know what our govt did to rid beggars off the streets in the early 90s.
In your own words, , ‘Singapore has no natural resources, with little land, we can only depend on providing high class services and products’. Singapore – with its relatively high level of technological development – has more or less arrived at a brand new junction where we are now becoming more capable of developing high-end technological services and products.
If we choose to build on existing infrastructures, we have alternate heavens waiting for us to conquer. Biomedical engineering and pharmaceutical production, nanotechnology products, materials engineering, weapons R&D and manufacturing.
You mention all these great trump cards, ppssttt know which ones we failed in?
These are just a couple of examples that the country can easily adopt into consideration for its latest review on economic feasibility studies and nurturing. In fact, we already have much investments being brought in to the country – courtesy of the IE Singapore efforts.
Hey, you know thereÂ’s more capital investment outflow then inflow?
So will we really all starve to death just because we dun have that casino?
Hmm.. probably not I guess.
I love it when youÂ’re cynical, good to joke once in a while. Yes we will not, but imagine the services and jobs it opens up for Singaporeans? If youÂ’re interested to know which sectors of the economy drive SingaporeÂ’s GDP, please visit the MAS website. Which sectors of the economy's GDP has been reducing? Identify, explain why? If you're not sure, I will tell you. I know how most sectors are doing and whether we can remain competitive!
Cos since we donÂ’t have that so conveniently reached casino in our backyard, we wonÂ’t probably be so eager or diligent to go all the way up to Genting and try our luck to change that little $100 bill that is left in our hands in hope of getting a bigger $1000 bill back. Think of the $110 million SGD that you have mentioned in your earlier post this wayÂ…If we already have $110 million SGD out flowing to the Genting casino, then having a casino in our own backyard might just as easily cost us two or three times that amount in domestic consumer spending when a new competitive source appears to view for the average SingaporeanÂ’s disposable income.
Yes, we spend more in the SingaporeÂ’s Casino, but psstt guess who gets the profits back? Our dear government! And who comes to gamble as well?
What we will all have on hand by then – will be a cannibalizing effect when disposable income gets diverted away from the ‘traditional’ basket of disposable income purchase, typically to the domestic retailing and F&B industries.
YouÂ’re forgetting the tourist that the casino draws. The boom in the hotel industry, more business for taxis.... etc
WhatÂ’s going to happen then?
How are we going to effectively solve the new set of problems then?
These are all deeply rooted concerns that we have to keep thoroughly in check at all times.
My answer: How does a city survive in the desert with no resources? EXCEPT FOR HOOVER DAM! Las Vegas but without the drugs and guns - Singapore
SINGAPOREANS ALL CLAIM ITS BORING HERE, NOW GOVT BRING CASINO, PEOPLE SAY BOOO BAD BAD BADÂ… WHAT DOES THAT SAY OF SINGAPOREANS? BORING LAH!!!!