going by what you said , i'm sure we'll abuse the system, just look at how we behaved in nsOriginally posted by BillyBong:Before we rubbish our medical expenses as exhorbitant, let us take a a peek at how other nations administer their medical practices.
For example, in France, the taxes are extremely high at ard 45% in terms of overall income compared to ours. However for the french, that takes care of most education bills and all medical check-ups, including specialists treatment (yes they dun pay a cent). This practice is such that some among the french abuse it to an extent that has caused growing concern within the french parliment, with calls from the leftist conservatives to review the current situation with a suggestion to increase taxes to cover the added burden brought on by these irresponsible 'malingerers'.
Over here, our gahmen introduced medisave to help our pre-dominantly aging population cope with future medical expenses. By creating a special account under the CPF scheme, they hoped that a portion of our monthly CPF would be sufficient to allow partial or full payment of any hospital treatments incurred. Obviously, this cannot cover the full cost of major operations such as chemotherapy or magnetic resonance scans needed for cancer treatment, if partially at all.
The consideration here might be to moderately increase the percentage contribution in our CPF special accounts, with an view at increasing the distribution in our medisave. The bad news is, only those who work and earn a monthly income are entitled to this benefit and that cuts off the jobless community completely.
Our medical bills here, while comparatively expensive in our eyes, are relatively cheaper compared to other established countries like germany and US. This coupled with our graft-free reputation and our competent hospital practices makes Singapore a medical destination for many ppl in the region seeking professional advice and treatment. One major reason why the iranian conjoined twins came here for their op was due to the relatively low cost of the operation. Since then, many others have visited our shores for medical assistance.
If that is not enough, then we should also consider the fact that hospitals have reduced the prices of various outpatient treatments and consultations last year to aid Singaporeans with the rising cost of living standards.
If we were to adopt a method similar to the french, will our ppl agree to the huge increase in income taxes that will curtail it? Will our ppl use the previlage that comes with this practice honestly and not try to abuse it as some within the french population have?
Let's face it, no system is full-proof. No method can cater to all the needs of a nation. Some will undoubtedly be left in the cold. At the moment, medisave is as good as it gets.
There are simple explanations to your response.Originally posted by reyes:i have a feeling that some gahmen ppl are spying this forums. in my opinion, ppl like billybong need to be careful of. the way he compare with country like france to such detail really fighten me.
frankly as a citizen of singapore i only know we have the right to demand lower medical cost here. why we need to compare medical cost to france? dispite their taxes being higher, their pay are also relatively higher. gahmen ask us to lower our wages to stay competitive with neighbouring country but on the other hand when come to living expenses we are comparing to developed country like France? funny isnt it? what kind of comparison is it?
i agree with shutterbug. when i firstly hear the mother with 2 children jump to their death after mother got cancer. reason for suicuide do not want to burden family. i can only think of she feel she cant afford medical treatment. as most coffeeshop uncle often say ' can die but cannot sick in singapore'.
i fail to see your argument.Originally posted by reyes:as i mention why we compare ourselves when come to medical healhcare standard and when come to wage competitiveness we compare to neighbouring country? your comparison of french engineer to your pay does not justify we are equal with france. if you are high position engineer like pay $5000/mth , you can basically equal with most country. just like few minister in other country can match our minister pay. not a good guage. ever find out how much a fresh grad from UK earn in their country compare to ours? why working with french engineer become honour?
i did not follow newspaper daily but i do recall few days ago i browse through about inflation here. . i dont agree that everyone is affected. rich do get richer and poor do get poorer. however i do agree that subsidies need to focus more on the poor and the rich have to pay more.
i am true breed singaporean, the way i see some of lowerclass suffer esp less educated one in singapore is really sadden me. we are no asking for free healthcare, but hope govt can contribute more to help the needy in singapore. i hope govt can reduce expenses in other area and pump in more resources to healthcare.
it hard to satisfy everyone but try to help the needy.
when i had an accident i had a fractured knee, fractured collar bone: the cut on my knee was so deep that the doctors say they could see my bones!!Originally posted by ShutterBug:Here's a thought: if medical and healthcare isn't costly in SIngapore, why do people choose to commit suicide when they find they have terminal illness? I refer to the the recent sad case of one mother who jumped with her two young children.
I heard that even if you have a disease like cancer, use of your Medisave is still limited!
Why does our government prevent us from using our money to save our life?
Of course it's unfair...but look at the numbers being bandied in the article. For open heart surgery, it costs 64% more in Singapore than in Thailand and 82% more than Malaysia. The figures for cataracts are even more shocking. Use the figures in the article, take a calculator and do the math. Pay premium prices for quality? Sure! The problem is, the premium is TOO HIGH! Is the standard here 64% better than Thailand and 82% better than Malaysia? I don't think so.Originally posted by stupidissmart:I think is unfair to compare Singapore hospitals and malaysia and thai hospitals... it is like comparing Thai airlines with SIA... Maybe someone can give us the figures for hospital billing in cities like london or new york or hong kong...
Buddy.. it's not that it is too expensive that drives them over the edge.Originally posted by ShutterBug:Here's a thought: if medical and healthcare isn't costly in SIngapore, why do people choose to commit suicide when they find they have terminal illness? I refer to the the recent sad case of one mother who jumped with her two young children.
I heard that even if you have a disease like cancer, use of your Medisave is still limited!
Why does our government prevent us from using our money to save our life?
Baseless accusations against the professional healthcare workers in Singapore. Shame on you! Recently, on the forums in the ST recently, the PR head of healthcare, said that hospitals will save lives first before payments in an emergency.Originally posted by ShutterBug:BASICALLY, there is NO REAL CARE here in hospitals, if you have no MONEY.
Everything here, all boils down to one crucial and critical factor: MONEY. It's either you have it, or you die.
So, when a person in hospital is in critical status, potentially ill on the edge of death, what do you think the doctors are more concerned about? Saving the cashless individual's life? I seriously doubt so.
In America, ER divisions saves the people first, then worry about payment later. But with costs and POLICIES in place here in SG, that can only remain a dream.....