Originally posted by trueno86:32 yo...10 years worth of IT experience... a dozen of certifications except a degree...still trying to pay debts of 15k since three years ago due to wedding...new 4 rm flat...and now a 1 year old baby...end up owing 18k now. A car??? tomica more likely...got hundreds of them...sian!
Welcome to the Singapore Dream...a dream that has been increasingly turning into a nightmare.Originally posted by trueno86:32 yo...10 years worth of IT experience... a dozen of certifications except a degree...still trying to pay debts of 15k since three years ago due to wedding...new 4 rm flat...and now a 1 year old baby...end up owing 18k now. A car??? tomica more likely...got hundreds of them...sian!
But the kind of debt we're seeing in Singapore?Originally posted by nismoS132:seems like middle class ppl in many other countries all tend to live in some sort of debt.
i was suppose to have this higher level IT post in a MNC, u noe wat?? my female sporean manager went hired one all the way from kuwait!!! i left that company sinceOriginally posted by Viper52:Welcome to the Singapore Dream...a dream that has been increasingly turning into a nightmare.
Who's to blame? Those who told us to follow that dream, and ourselves for listening and obeying blindly without weighing the pitfalls ourselves, just because the false prophets who proclaimed themselves "top talent" are supposedly "smarter" and "know better"
debts not that bad because most newly wed couples have parents and in laws to lean on...i eat myself in hokkien...if u noe wat i meanOriginally posted by Lingos:I didn't think that debt was that bad in Singapore.
Low interest rates and stuff.
Hmm.. must be hard as.
Hmm.. is experience really not that important in singas?
debts for luxuries and debts for necessities are different thingsOriginally posted by nismoS132:seems like middle class ppl in many other countries all tend to live in some sort of debt.
Ling, its not bad if you're willing to accept that a middle-class wages do not equate to middle-class lifestyle. No car, 3 room pigeon hole for 2 kids, no major illnesses in the family and no job losses among the breadwinners.Originally posted by Lingos:I didn't think that debt was that bad in Singapore.
Low interest rates and stuff.
Hmm.. must be hard as.
Hmm.. is experience really not that important in singas?
garmen keep us busy working ass off & paying thru eyeballs so we won't have time for 'zhao fan'Originally posted by trueno86:32 yo...10 years worth of IT experience... a dozen of certifications except a degree...still trying to pay debts of 15k since three years ago due to wedding...new 4 rm flat...and now a 1 year old baby...end up owing 18k now. A car??? tomica more likely...got hundreds of them...sian!
I think7 or 8 out of 10 S'porean r in debt.Originally posted by trueno86:32 yo...10 years worth of IT experience... a dozen of certifications except a degree...still trying to pay debts of 15k since three years ago due to wedding...new 4 rm flat...and now a 1 year old baby...end up owing 18k now. A car??? tomica more likely...got hundreds of them...sian!
Given the new trend in the employment market to packagejobs out in contracts between 1 to 2 years, I certainly am without a doubt that people of our generation will have to seriously reconsider on their choice of personal purchase decisions such as the above few.Originally posted by Dragstar:I think7 or 8 out of 10 S'porean r in debt.
My sis-in-law studying her local degree is now in debt of 20k from OCBC bank for studyloan. Even b4 she start to work she areadi in debt.
For me, i'm owe the hdb 180k for my new 5 rm flat.
Me lucky, no reno debt or car debt(cause no car), but soon, baby debt and also me gonna out of job(contract gonna finish).
Me not worry now, as i'm still young(not at 40s), no problem to get a job(lousy and low pay mostly).
Anyway, i think this a trend to keep us s'porean on our toe and work hard so that we can achieve prosperity and progress for our nation lah.![]()