Originally posted by loudmonkey:hmm... instead of thinking of it as an individual "choice" and "influence", isn't it possible to also think of it as a society's conception of sexuality?
It is my belief that the process of growing up, relationship with family, interaction with friends, i.e. the external environmental factors, will influence in whether a person chooses to be homo or not.
when you say "so the homo choose to be homo", you are assuming that the person is born a homo, which contradicts your agreement with me that becoming homo is due to external environmental factors. If you really agree with me, then how can a person who is already born to be homo CHOOSE to be homo later in life? It is like saying, how can a boy (who is already born a boy) choose to be a boy?
Yes it is possible, i agree. But of course I am looking from the point of an individual, and u r looking from the point of society. I think we concur that our society's copcept of sexuality is narrow, as u argued earlier.Originally posted by CX:hmm... instead of thinking of it as an individual "choice" and "influence", isn't it possible to also think of it as a society's conception of sexuality?
I feel "rejecting" is a rather strong word to use. If a person does not discriminate, like what you say, maybe it would be more accurate to use "not subscribe to homosexual conceptions of love, relationships and sex?" I feel rejecting would mean that the person is taking a negative stand. On the other hand, "not subscribe to" would infer to having a neutral stand on this. (not supporting and not rejecting)the idea that one can "choose" is not very neutral... when a choice is called for, values are inevitably attached to those choices and though u may suggest that they are both equally valid and respectable, i hardly think thats how the human mind works. [/quote]
Hmmmmm...i dun really get what u r trying to say in this paragraph...., i dun understand what u mean by "the idea that one can "choose" is not very neutral...".[quote]when we "choose", we reject. for instance, when an individual "chooses" hetrosexuality, he does not discriminate against homosexuals, but he would be rejecting homosexual conceptions of love, relationships and sex.
well I am not religious...but religion is a con-job?? erh....no comment.and that is just an overly narrow understanding of what sexuality should mean. modern society is just plain vulgar and prudish to impose these sort of demarcations that hardly makes sense.[quote]
Agreed![quote]if u ask me, the ancient greeks got it right all along... its just too bad that the nobody bothered to properly understand the nature of being human before passing judgement based on narrow precepts... bah... religion... what a con-job.
Originally posted by loudmonkey:i look at society's conception because not many pple can remain aloof of that... it influences us in more ways than one. when i'm in my cynical moods, i might even argue that there's no such thing as an individual. but lets save that for another time
Hmmmmm...i dun really get what u r trying to say in this paragraph...., i dun understand what u mean by "the idea that one can "choose" is not very neutral...".
Yea, liao gai liao gai.Originally posted by CX:but basically, what i was trying to say was, when we call something a "choice", it is never a neutral affair. free-will becomes translated into devil's choice at the drop of the hat depending on which narrow-minded bigot is around.
Yea, good example would be that they claim that they were born homo, which is such a convenient excuse to use for them (since it is so often used), without understanding what they are talking about.
in our obcession to categorise and understand everything, we had made the world cold, rigid and reductionistic... pple don't think for themselves... they just make "choices" from a ready list...
I have 1 question: what does "against nature" mean to you?Originally posted by PRP:Loudmonkey,
I really intended to mean homo are not born.
We are differed on the pt about whether homo is wrong.I believe homosex is inmoral & against nature, don't u think so?
Originally posted by PRP:blame? for making a valid observation of your narrow minded stupidity?
CX,
u should know that i said u are bankrupt intellectually after he called me a moron.So shouldn't u be blamed?
The insulting words u hurled at me are many times more than i do to u, do u think u are right to do so?i don't care if u insult me... u have a point to make? make it clear. u think i'm wrong? refute me point by point.
Originally posted by loudmonkey:ah... and how OTHER PEOPLE see these "choices" ... through the biases they bring with them.
Yea, liao gai liao gai.
making choices is about being influenced (whether good or bad) by others, therefore it is never neutral. If that is what you mean, I concur.
Yea, good example would be that they claim that they were born homo, which is such a convenient excuse to use for them (since it is so often used), without understanding what they are talking about.hee... yeah... any point of view that stems from ignorance is always funny... the contradictions just crack u up... like "feminists" who still expect men to hold the doors for them... uh... hello???
Originally posted by PRP:yawn... i'll let him answer that this time... your stubborness knows no bounds. i already addressed that in one of my previous posts...
Loudmonkey,
By nature, sex should be heterosexual because it is for procreation.Homosex cannot achieve this purpose of nature.So .....
Dear CX,at least i cite examples... THAT is rational. u have NOTHING but your narrow-minded opinion.
By right, there is no need to get personal when debating a topic.One should argue rationally to convince readers.
But u keep hurling insulting words at me and when I react similarily, u gets even more agressive.So there are some 'fireworks' in this debate.can't stand the heat, get out of the kitchen. wanna defuse the fireworks? addresses the issues PROPERLY! don't just give stupid one liners and expect me to be "nice" in return.
In MY OPINION,u are kiasu,petty minded,can't take criticism well and a bully.I think these kind of characters don't help u to win supporters.in MY OBSERVATION, you are narrow-minded, stupid and stubborn. u can't think beyond the superficial on any issues and u STILL think that this issue is straight-forward and black / white when pple have been telling you that THERE'S MORE TO IT!!!
U said u could be nice.Let's see if u would be like that from now onwards.i CAN be nice. can YOU be smart?
Note: There isn't a single insulting words (except words of comments)such as stupid in this msg.it STILL fails to substantiate your shallow views.
Originally posted by PRP:i have many strong points... insult is just a hobby i unleash on idiots. am i wrong to observe that your views are shallow, narrow and stupid?
Moron CX,
Is this what u want me to do?Hurling insults is your strong point.Were i wrong to say u were bankrupt intellectually.
Don't think highly of your intellect.If your intellect is high,u wouldn't argue with personal attacks.U are in fact an empty vessel which makes the most noise.Probalbly u don't know about yourself, can't blame u.if u had a valid point to make, the personal attacks would not have concealed the truth and validity of those points. fact remains, u have NOTHING and the insults hit u where it hurts the most... your pityful pride.
I'm not interested to exchange insults with u.I want to debate the topic RATIONALLY.Perhaps u want to use the tactics of personal insults to intimidate me and stop me from this debate as some chaps scared of u and gave up.i told u from the start. u want RATIONAL, then DON'T JUDGE. i have another discussion on now with the chap whom u think is "afraid" of me...
If your next msg has a lot of insulting words,I just wouldn't read your msg after that and argue my view alone.haha... hope i haven't disappointed u then... argue your point alone? in case u're wondering, YOU ARE ALONE!
Originally posted by PRP:so... u accept them as human beings and people, but u judge them to be "wrong" , "abnormal" and "unnatural" ?
Keyboard,
Althou i think homo is wrong,i certainly accept homosexuals as human beings.
CX,
Why can't i judge on homosex?If homosex is right,what's there to afraid to be judged by others?If it is wrong,of course they don't want others to judge and tell them what they do is wrong.So are u afraid others to pass judgement on homo?The claim that homo is neither right or wrong is simply NONSENSE.Whatever action one takes,there is right or wrong about it.If u don't do anything,of course no right or wrong.
I'm clear of your tacticsJust say the opinion of your opponent is stupid (no reason even given), so he is wrong ahd u are right.So your opponents are stupid,u are the intelligent one.So u win the debate,your opponent lose.I think a small kid also know how to use such a tactics -- just say other ppl STUPID.its so much more than that... but since u didn't get it over the past 7 pages, i least expect u to get it now...
I'm scare of your insults.Your insulting skill is superb.Your reasoning power is weak.U are a boasting cock and an EMPTY vessel which makes the most noise.I don't wish to be angered by your msg so i won't read your msg again.but u've never read them properly
haha... i know... he just said i was wrong without addressing why too... thats why i stopped repeating myself days ago...Originally posted by HENG@:CX. i think we can just ignore him. no point talking to someone who doesn't even know what "siggy" meant, narrow-minded as he is, and simply assumed it is an insult. AND then lack the balls and guts to even admit that he was definately ignorant, and cowardly ignores all my points in total avoidance.
Originally posted by CX:very!
haha... i know... he just said i was wrong without addressing why too... thats why i stopped repeating myself days ago...
i just come in to poke the troll now...
apples, durians, bananas, they're all [b]fruitshee... just couldn't resist the pun... but anyway, how to say whether one fruit is better / worse than the other?
and why does comparing two fruits necessarily mean that one is better than the other in any absolute sense?
it just gets funny when ignorant pple get defensive...
Originally posted by CX:I wun post here anymore. I give up.
haha... i know... he just said i was wrong without addressing why too... thats why i stopped repeating myself days ago...
i just come in to poke the troll now...
apples, durians, bananas, they're all [b]fruitshee... just couldn't resist the pun... but anyway, how to say whether one fruit is better / worse than the other?
and why does comparing two fruits necessarily mean that one is better than the other in any absolute sense?
it just gets funny when ignorant pple get defensive...
From the above msg, u can see the error in logic of those who claim there is no right or wrong about homo.They aren't even clear about their own stand.How can they argue like that?Originally posted by PRP:No Right or Wrong about Homo
Someone claims there is no right or wrong about homo.He uses the anology of choosing between an apple or a durian.Sound reasonable,isn't it?
In fact,by using 2 (good) fruits to compare hetero & homo, he is saying homo is good.Yet the analogy is to show there is no good or bad about homo.This is the CONTRACDITON of his argument.
Common sense will tell u that only if homosex like heterosex is good,then u are free to choose either one of them.So from now onwards, homo supporters should take the stand that homo is right or good.The opinion that there is no right or wrong about homo is simply WRONG.
Pls wait and see how the kiasu guy CX will 'rebut' my argument 'intelligently'.
Originally posted by PRP:I dare not read CX's rebutal.He is good in insulting but poor in logical thinking.What can u expect from him?