they're saving for a rainy day?Originally posted by miong:I remember distinctly our Government's promise to make public housing (HDB) affordable for all Singaporeans. If this is true, then how on earth did HDB managed to suck S$14 billion out of ordinary Singaporeans?
And mind you, according to our country's constitution, this indecent sum of public money in HDB's account cannot be used or touched at all !
What is going on Singapore ???
so they've actually squandered the other 30 billion?Originally posted by RaTtY81:our flats worth 14 billions only meh. lets a a block of hdb flat have 150 house.
1 house ard 130k
150 x 130 k =19500000( $19.5m)
how much needed to build 1 flat??? lets sae 15m
so 1 flat garment earn 4.5m??how many flat r there in sgp???
10k?
10k x 4.5mil =
45 billion???
Dont buy sleep where?Or u can provide us housing is it?Originally posted by Thailand_Hero:not happy...pls dont bother to buy...
or u can be like those bodohs...go camp at changi beach
Talking about Mr.Mah,that day i watch the news that he was condemning the claims that HDB only goes for the lowest bidding contracts.He says that 28% of the contracts actually goes to those companies which are not the lowest bid.Then may i ask,how about the majority contracts which made up of 72% goes to?Natually,it goes to the lowest bidding companies right?If that is the case,wouldnt he is prevent other ppl from slapping his face whereby he slap himself using his own hands.Damn humourous!Originally posted by reyes:miong bros,
i agree with you. years ago i already notice HDB chalking up huge gains if you know the contractors and get insider information how much HDB gain from a blk of flats build. you be surprise at their profit.
why recently so many construction company bust up? because of the lowest bid system and stiff competition in the construction market. we have reach a saturation point where construction just table a low bid to get the contracts and sort out financial problems later. eventually, HDB get cheapest contract and construction company go bust, ppl under upgrading plan suffer.
Windows inspection issue also reflect what kind of attitude HDB is having. simply arrogant. if not fellow singaporean finally stand up against Mr. Mah and HDB co. what kind of bullshit inspection fee we need to pay for mistake made by HDB engineer.
put it this way, singaporean have no choice, buy HDB or sleep in the streets if u cant afford private housing. another way, migrate lor if you have the skills. do we have a choice? anyway, for HDB housing, demand and supply logic dont work. govt control and supply to push up pricing. because demand is still there. we need to buy a HDB flats. can we do anything? i recently also become a slave for HDB for 30 years. 29.6 years and counting.
stay at your father's house lah...or go pertapis rent a cheap room...in singapore u won't die one la...Originally posted by drawer:Dont buy sleep where?Or u can provide us housing is it?
Originally posted by Thailand_Hero:stay at your father's house lah...or go pertapis rent a cheap room...in singapore u won't die one la...
I mean if even HDB which almost everyone can afford one...and you can't afford...kao beh kao bu...then i guess u probably ain't much of a person to be argued with.
Originally posted by reyes:miong bros,
i agree with you. years ago i already notice HDB chalking up huge gains if you know the contractors and get insider information how much HDB gain from a blk of flats build. you be surprise at their profit.
why recently so many construction company bust up? because of the lowest bid system and stiff competition in the construction market. we have reach a saturation point where construction just table a low bid to get the contracts and sort out financial problems later. eventually, HDB get cheapest contract and construction company go bust, ppl under upgrading plan suffer.
Windows inspection issue also reflect what kind of attitude HDB is having. simply arrogant. if not fellow singaporean finally stand up against Mr. Mah and HDB co. what kind of bullshit inspection fee we need to pay for mistake made by HDB engineer.
put it this way, singaporean have no choice, buy HDB or sleep in the streets if u cant afford private housing. another way, migrate lor if you have the skills. do we have a choice? anyway, for HDB housing, demand and supply logic dont work. govt control and supply to push up pricing. because demand is still there. we need to buy a HDB flats. can we do anything? i recently also become a slave for HDB for 30 years. 29.6 years and counting.
I admire your spirit, miong. But if you only lament about the state of SIngapore and not do anything about it, can you change anything? Be proactive and take charge. Yes, one can never hope to beat the PAP machinery, but at least we should try instead of being reactive to things around usOriginally posted by miong:Any aspiring opposition member has no chance against such a big machinery called PAP. That's why I stay out of politics in Singapore even though I have a strong desire to improve individual freedom of expression - and REAL democracy in our country.
You cant survive if you have to rent a HDB room. The cost of living in our country has never come down - it is still one of the highest in Asia. In fact it has gone up lately with recent GST increase.Why is the cost of living highest in singapore is probably because we also have the highest income in Asia. BTW the earlier fact about $50 for needy people is renting the whole apartment not a room only.
Even if you can afford to buy OVERPRICED HDB apartment, bet you will be working your whole life just to service your housing loan. And the worst scenario for most of us is this - we become cashless when we retire. Why? CPF minimum sum ruling, and settlement of your HDB loans. The monthly CPF payment we get in our old age will not see us retire decently !Other cities in asia is worse. They need 2 generations to pay for their housing. When u have succeed paying for your house, tat house is yours. In another sense tat sum of money is still in your hands.
Most of us are said to be asset-rich but cash poor. I beg to differ on this point. Singaporeans are cash poor AND could possibly end up asset poor as well. Can anyone guarantee the prices of HDB houses will improve in 20 years time - or would prices dive to record low then?It has been stable for the past 30 years. It is unlikely it will drop in future too since Gov probably know the problem of reducing the price of it.
And the worst thing is this, downgrading HDB home to get cash for retirement is only a dream. For most, downgrading equates LOOSING money. Many Singaporeans will loose financially whether they downgrade or upgrade. Who makes money ? - HDB & CPF of course! That's why HDB has S$14 billion in the vault - OUR MONEY!Well.... Gov have 100 billion in foreign reserves too... tat is our money as well. Maybe we should complain about it too... So the question come whether should singapore have a reserve or not ?
Question - why didnt government control HDB prices to ensure Singaporeans dont get burned in the pockets? If HDB can come out with all sorts of laws governing HDB houses - they could easily pass a law to cap HDB prices to ensure we have more cash for our retirement.Answer is... if they do reduce the money for HDB, they had to increase tax in other forms to cover up their loss. They can easily write a law saying every singaporean get a million each... but wat is the repurcussion or effect ?
HDB started as a scheme to help Singaporeans housed affordably. That objective was never realised today!Well.... who is houseless now ? Comparing between cities our housing is still affordable...
now one can gurantee 20 years later housing price willl keep going up. basicially demand and supply. what causes housing property to go up? when there lotsa buyer rushing to purchase. the baby boom era has gone. ppl who purchase the HDB flats like 2-5 year ago are losing heaps of money now. will the good old days return? i defer so, with birth rates ever so low who would be there to buy your old housing 20 years later? demand will drop, unless we get more indian and china PR to fill-in the gap. anyone notice in mature estate these days, you cant really tell if you are living in china/india or singapore.As said demand and supply... If demand drops, HDB just have to control supply by reducing building new HDB... Sad to say population still increases in singapore due to migration...
govt dint control the price of housing, why? govt say they price their new flats according to open market. but however i think open market also price their housing base on new flats by HDB. the day of lower housing cost will not happen, why? because if govt allow so, all fellow singaporean will lose heaps of money and wash away lifelong saving. country go bonkers, bankrupcy reach new high, bad debts for banks record high. more financial impact. HDB will keep new flats price at these level to keep the music rolling. roll from our pocket to HDB Pocket.Tat is right, so the price of HDB will not decrease anytime soon. No one has the dream tat the price of HDB will decrease anytime soon either...