Work in Mac Donald la! Abt the same pay and better image!Originally posted by branzzz:shutterbug, you're considered lucky if you have money to upgrade yourself. as for the people who work for 600-800dollars a month, they don't have money to upgrade. these ppl have the misfortune of a not-so-good education and thus do not have oppotunity to upgrade. what i don't like are ppl who don't have a job and no money, who, for the sake of their own face, wouldn't take up a cleaning job if offered to them. whatever it is, a cleaner holding a steady job more respectable than a jobless person anytime.
Originally posted by pkchukiss:school holiday yes... but if ask u to make it ur career for life.. u want???? $800 starting pay???
For me, I would not mind taking a cleaning assignment for a school holiday project. I will take on even the toilet. The way I see it, $800 is way above what a school student will earn doing odd jobs during the school holidays.
Just give me decent hygenic protection (such as gloves and all that). In case you are wondering, I [b]am a Singaporean.[/b]
school holidays i worked as cleaner b4 at a hotel next to Newton MRT..the hotel noe no more liaoOriginally posted by I-like-flings(m):school holiday yes... but if ask u to make it ur career for life.. u want???? $800 starting pay???![]()
sighz.. all i can say is.... sometimes ppl are just born with that kind of luck. no matter where.. no matter ur job........knn.. why i never have this kind of luck b4..... sob sobOriginally posted by Troy437:school holidays i worked as cleaner b4 at a hotel next to Newton MRT..the hotel noe no more liao
At first I came in as pool attendant where got a lot of ang mo come to suntan topless. I hav to give then towel and ask take order for drinks..while they suntan topless (nose bleed ah) But a while later my suprevisor tot very unhealthy for secondary school student to see, so kenna downgrade to cleaner...clean women shower toilet at the swimming pool. I cleaning half way the ang mo gals still come in and bath..come out nv cover and change dun care abt me around...(wah nose bleed again)
I quit when my supervisor ask me to clear the sanitary pad bin...knn dun do dat bcoz damn suay wan...
Originally posted by Troy437:school holidays i worked as cleaner b4 at a hotel next to Newton MRT..the hotel noe no more liao
At first I came in as pool attendant where got a lot of ang mo come to suntan topless. I hav to give then towel and ask take order for drinks..while they suntan topless (nose bleed ah) But a while later my suprevisor tot very unhealthy for secondary school student to see, so kenna downgrade to cleaner...clean women shower toilet at the swimming pool. I cleaning half way the ang mo gals still come in and bath..come out nv cover and change dun care abt me around...(wah nose bleed again)
I quit when my supervisor ask me to clear the sanitary pad bin...knn dun do dat bcoz damn suay wan...
jeez, I thought everyone in Singapore is educated according to SIngstat's wonderful statistics?Originally posted by Parka:In my opinion, this whole situation is a image problem caused by the educational system.
It can be said that people now are more educated than people in the past. As a result, they would want jobs that matches their educational level.
As long as you hold a job that doesn't match your educational level, your image will be affected, adversely.
Amazingly, these educated population fails to realise that there are other people around who are still uneducated.
Originally posted by pikamaster:jeez, I thought everyone in Singapore is educated according to SIngstat's wonderful statistics?
It's easy to call this an image problem. But what aboutt eh toehr costs? like cost of living? Perhaps salaries for cleaners here are not sufficient even to meet basic costs. And i'm not talking abt the 5 Cs here. I'm talking abt things like water,gas and electricity, things like HDB flat cost, upgrade cost, food (blame GST), medical stuff. those already so expensive, can cleaners afford?
Nothign is as simple as you think.
the pikamaster
grass cutter $1500?? really?? where to apply?? a work that can switch off my brain one?? hmmm.. good. i want... intro leh ...Originally posted by Parka:Well, yeah. The high cost of living will make one want to have a higher paying job.
It's a very complicating situation with a lot of factors when it comes to people analysing how people choose jobs.
A grass cutter earns $1500 a month.
A rubbish truck driver earns $2000 a month.
Only a handful of the positions are filled by Singaporeans.
Working conditions of the job is a factor here.
*clap clap*Originally posted by miong:Why must we question Singaporeans this humiliating way?
Do our people need to be embarrassed further when they already have been thrashed often by Government (via biased medias) on this subject?
Is this the reward for people who stubbornly stuck to PAP during the GE - only to end up as cleaners during desperate times like today? Why are foreigners taking up jobs Singaporeans definitely can do better? Why are there so many white collar jobs given to foreigners?
Should our Government (especially GLCs and Temasek Holdings) encourage this culture which is - if cant make money RETRENCH Singaporeans and CUT COSTS by hiring cheaper foreign workers![]()
Originally posted by Accela:But when you have zero income, its better than nothing.![]()
hey hey doing window cleaning on/outside building can get that pay, the fact is you can get more than 3k. i am one of themOriginally posted by oldbreadstinks:i won't mind working in a cleaner's job if you can find me one with a take home pay of $3000![]()
hey hey well said. why no one see this coming? I didOriginally posted by Parka:In my opinion, this whole situation is a image problem caused by the educational system.
It can be said that people now are more educated than people in the past. As a result, they would want jobs that matches their educational level.
As long as you hold a job that doesn't match your educational level, your image will be affected, adversely.
Amazingly, these educated population fails to realise that there are other people around who are still uneducated.
Originally posted by Accela:But when you have zero income, its better than nothing.![]()
Originally posted by pikamaster:cannot afford also must try... say for example, 40 yr old, retrenched, got family, got flat.
It's easy to call this an image problem. But what aboutt eh toehr costs? like cost of living? Perhaps salaries for cleaners here are not sufficient even to meet basic costs. And i'm not talking abt the 5 Cs here. I'm talking abt things like water,gas and electricity, things like HDB flat cost, upgrade cost, food (blame GST), medical stuff. those already so expensive, can cleaners afford?
Nothign is as simple as you think."simple" is thinking that pple must find a job that puts them on par with their previous position, which is not always realistic.
Hi.. u serious? 3K/mth! Can temp for a week or 2?!Originally posted by Joshua1975:hey hey doing window cleaning on/outside building can get that pay, the fact is you can get more than 3k. i am one of them. but one thing in mind, life is on the line.
comon, i hear "we" pay a "cleaner" 2k per mth in oversea bases. if it true, i dun know why not in singapore where we will be paying our own ppl? of cause we will have to pay more to the "coy" doing the disposes but hey aint it the GLC doing it nowdam they are getting someone who is going for $16 to $20 per day. well this are some or should i say most of the FT in Singapore.
Go look for Ah MaOriginally posted by oldbreadstinks:i won't mind working in a cleaner's job if you can find me one with a take home pay of $3000![]()
go for the couse 1st than maybe we will talk check it out in here www.irata.orgOriginally posted by santayana:Hi.. u serious? 3K/mth! Can temp for a week or 2?!![]()