Originally posted by miong:in our CPF acct?!?!?
Why cant we have the legal right to ask the whereabouts of our CPF savings? Is it so wrong to ask what the government is doing with[b] OUR MONEY ?
Should'nt CPF board show the account books and assure Singaporeans that their CPF savings are in safe hands - or properly invested?
Who should be held accountable if GIC invest CPF money and lost heavily? Will we ever know about such bad investments that went very wrong?
Originally posted by miong:heard that in the future, can use CPF to buy car!!!
Why cant we have the legal right to ask the whereabouts of our CPF savings? Is it so wrong to ask what the government is doing with[b] OUR MONEY ?
Should'nt CPF board show the account books and assure Singaporeans that their CPF savings are in safe hands - or properly invested?
Who should be held accountable if GIC invest CPF money and lost heavily? Will we ever know about such bad investments that went very wrong?
u go wait long long......Originally posted by no_speeding:heard that in the future, can use CPF to buy car!!!
Waaaooooooooooooooooooo..................![]()
Originally posted by miong:No no no, for those who have tons of $$$ in CPF now better dun ask, if not later he really show you all lost how? either you stop or carry on, but for sure you will never see your CPF $$$ anymore.
Why can't we ask the whereabouts of our CPF savings? Is it so wrong to insist government show us what it is doing with[b] OUR MONEY ?
Go to: http://www.sfdonline.org/Link%20Pages/Link%20Folders/Political%20Freedom/financea060900.html
You sure you will get back all the $$$ you put so call aside? This year for those going or oredi retired need to put $80,000.00 in CPF and than he can oni withdraw the rest.Originally posted by men_@_arms:Guys guys. ALrighty. This is all i know about your CPF thingy. Every working person has gotta have a % of his salary stored in a government account called CPF fund right? Then this person keeps on setting aside this % on and on until his retirement right? Then when he retires, the government gives back all his money.
So you people are GUARANTEEED to have your money returned right? So what's the big deal? Are you all afraid the gahmen won't give it back?
I dont see the issues, care 2 share?
Actually they haf juz revised the min sum scheme amt to $84,500 this yr.Originally posted by Joshua1975:You sure you will get back all the $$$ you put so call aside? This year for those going or oredi retired need to put $80,000.00 in CPF and than he can oni withdraw the rest.
Do you math with what the new ruling than come back. To let you start off,
by 2013 if you are in your retirement age, you need $120,000.00 or $125,000.00 in CPF, the rest or what is left remain than you can withdraw out from CPF. After 2013 every year CPF going to add a small number of %.
So what will be the number be if it is year 2023 your CPF need before you can do a withdraw by than.
Let me remind you one thing, if you buy a flat at age 30, you CPF will start at 0 at you age 30 as all will be deduct to pay the 1st down. Retired at 60 so within 30 years how much can you put aside in the CPF?
Originally posted by my_name_is_Natasha:hmm tats interesting...mind telling me if your insurance plan is those tat are 4 pure investment or those tat are actually like life insurance and endowment savings plan bought wif cash but only here u pay by cpf?
aiyo... you wan to complain?? you wan to hear my story??
I bought insurance investment plan with my CPF, insurance company took monie from [b]MY CPF then got bill at end of year from CPF board asking me to pay interest for the monie I invested.... a few hundred dollars which will be deducted from my account.... you got the point, you pay interest for using yr own monie... wat logic? I think the garments calculator spoilt[/b]
Ok but isn't this $80,000 already metred out in the compulsory % of salary that you must set aside every month????Originally posted by Joshua1975:You sure you will get back all the $$$ you put so call aside? This year for those going or oredi retired need to put $80,000.00 in CPF and than he can oni withdraw the rest.
Do you math with what the new ruling than come back. To let you start off,
by 2013 if you are in your retirement age, you need $120,000.00 or $125,000.00 in CPF, the rest or what is left remain than you can withdraw out from CPF. After 2013 every year CPF going to add a small number of %.
So what will be the number be if it is year 2023 your CPF need before you can do a withdraw by than.
Let me remind you one thing, if you buy a flat at age 30, you CPF will start at 0 at you age 30 as all will be deduct to pay the 1st down. Retired at 60 so within 30 years how much can you put aside in the CPF?
That is for ppl who is 46 now and by 2013 will than be 55. That is 9 more year for him to have more than $120,000 than he can withdraw the remain of 120k or he will have to wait 62. Now with the housing loan that most Singaporean need to pay, "MOST" I say again MOST will not be able to put aside that amount.Originally posted by ah san:Actually they haf juz revised the min sum scheme amt to $84,500 this yr.
briefly,in 2013, @age55 for one to be able to draw out the from the retirement acct( oa + sa),he must 1st clear the min sum scheme amt ,next the medisave min sum scheme of $25,000.then he is able to withdraw the remaining sum OVER AND ABOVE the Min Sum.Meaning if by then u haf $150,000 and the min.sum is $120,000 u can only draw out $30,000!!! the remainning $120,000 will be kept till age 62, den u will beable to withdraw it monthly till age 80.
however pls note that we are able to "claim" a max of 50% in this case to housing, thus 4 this case u juz need to haf $60,000 in yr retirement acct to clear the min sum scheme level, the other 60k is pleged to housing.
as for after the 1st downpayment, ur oa gets to zero...well there are ways to work round itperfectly legal...pm me if u wanna noe more abt that.
hope that my input helps...
y no go ask cpf ppl or your MP who spea gd english 2 u. than hor mayb u can below stand. Oh i 4get you not a SG as you writeOriginally posted by men_@_arms:Ok but isn't this $80,000 already metred out in the compulsory % of salary that you must set aside every month????
I really don't see what the issue is, i don't understand? Can explain in more detail in english pls?
But it sounds to me like a "legal" tropico way the government uses to get $$$ from the people heh. I wonder if the govt has swiss bank accounts overseas.
This is all i know about your CPF thingy.in ur prv post
It's purely for investment... 5 yr period... but now haiz... dunno the profits can cover interest or not....Originally posted by ah san:hmm tats interesting...mind telling me if your insurance plan is those tat are 4 pure investment or those tat are actually like life insurance and endowment savings plan bought wif cash but only here u pay by cpf?![]()
I am not so sure your statement is correct. I took a look at the HDB financial report recently and they are bleeding as well, taking government grant every year. You may want to take a look at it yourself by going to the hdb website. They post it there. The statement looks strange to me though so maybe, someone who is more financially trained can interpret it better than me.Originally posted by miong:So, has anyone any idea where our CPF and reserves are invested in ?
Is the whole thing making money or is it bleeding badly ? I know many Tamasek investments have lost heavily.
I also know Government makes most of it's money from Singaporeans for eg :
COE and HDB - the 2 biggest cash cows
......... there are others, too many to mention all in here. and maybe boring to those who already know.
From what I can vaguely remember, you can take out your $$ once you declare you will not be returning to Singapore (by signing some declaration form I think). Not too sure though.Originally posted by fymk:Just a out of point question
Let' say if a person surrenders citizenship of singapore for another country
do they get their cpf back or do they have to top up to get their cpf out'
does anyone know?
Originally posted by miong:if u wan e ans, go ask them lo..
Why can't we ask the whereabouts of our CPF savings? Is it so wrong to insist government show us what it is doing with[b] OUR MONEY ?
And why is GIC so afraid to reveal the sums? Government's explaination ("afraid of financial sabotage...) is so stupid even a fool won't believe it!
Who should be held accountable if GIC invest CPF money and lost heavily?
Will we ever know about such bad investments that went very wrong?
x x x x x x x x
Academic warns Singapore must overhaul CPF..
By Jame DiBiasio 06 September 2000
" Tinkering with the Central Provident Fund's parameters won't be enough to meet Singapore's social security goals.
The Singaporean government must stop its implicit taxation of its citizens through the Central Provident Fund (CPF) and give more weight to its fiduciary responsibility to them if Singapore is to sufficiently provide for its aged, says Mukul Asher, professor of public policy at National University of Singapore. He estimates that by 1998, the average balance members could withdraw upon retirement had declined to the equivalent of a mere 10 months' wages.
The table below illustrates this problem. Asher calculates the average monthly wage for a Singaporean, both including the CPF contribution and without, and the estimated lump sum that members will withdraw from CPF upon retirement. The problem is especially acute for women: Asher's numbers are a median between the higher salaries of men and the lower salaries of women. Considering Singapore has been a high-growth economy for decades, the numbers are alarming.
For table please Refer: http://www.sfdonline.org/Link%20Pages/Link%20Folders/Political%20Freedom/financea060900.html
CPF funds are invested by the Singapore government through vehicles such as the Singapore Government Investment Corp. (SGIC), Asher believes. The government does not say how CPF funds are invested, on what criteria or what returns they achieve. Although many observers have guessed the government invests CPF funds directly into infrastructure and public housing, Asher says the numbers don't support this view: it has persistently run large budget surpluses. That has led him to suspect CPF funds are largely invested offshore.
The professor cites anonymous SGIC executives as saying it aims for an inflation-adjusted annual return of 3-4% in Singapore dollar terms. He assumes if a 3.5% annual return was achieved from 1987 to 1999, when the average actual return to CPF members was 0.88%, then Singaporean citizens are being implicitly taxed the remaining 2.62% return, or S$2.3 billion ($1.4 billion) -- the equivalent of 20.9% of corporate and personal income tax revenue in 1999.
Government officials accept the need for change, Asher says. But so far the options they have floated, such as raising contribution rates allowed in accounts with higher interest rates or increasing the withdrawal age, are going to have only a minimum impact. The additional contributions required by individuals to sustain a monthly income in retirement of two-thirds their working salary are so high as to be unrealistic. �"Unless [the government] is willing to end the implicit taxation of CPF wealth, and unless it increases the weight given to its fiduciary responsibility to its members, the progress towards providing the adequate replacement rate will be limited," he says.
He calls for more public accountability for how CPF funds are invested and their returns, and for allowing CPF members to choose among allocations of varying risk. Individual annuity markets or similar options must also be developed. Asher will present his findings in Rayong, Thailand at a seminar sponsored by the World Bank and Thailand's Ministry of Finance later this month.