den wat he said does not affect u lor.. or mabbe it does. u will have scholars competing with u in the private sector soon.Originally posted by no_speeding:Im not a PSC scholar...
how how??!?!?!
Ahhhhhhhhhh..............![]()
i see point 2 as more valid than point 1. there is not necessarily going to be a downsizing of the public sector - just a higher turnover rate, congruent with what they announced recently - the retirement of the senior management to give way for the young.Originally posted by Ecxentrique:just my opinion..
looking beneath the layers...
1. Public sector shedding excess baggage? With all the cost cutting measures in place, manpower cost have got to come down somehow... in the private sector.. its called a retrenchment exercise.. In politics.. we have it as "freeing scholars"So I guess those new ones who just enter "serving their bond" wont get to continue their nice honeymoon at the public sector anymore.. time to buck up?
2. Legitimizing of public sector going private. Can these scholars truly be "free". Depending on which level they are at, all the connections and "guan xi" with people higher up.. easier for them to tug a few strings to get things through... unfair advantage?
its not that when one studies too much one will become risk averse.Originally posted by gerrykoh:The reality is that the scholars will end up in top management in pte. sector rather than being entrepreneurs. When u study too much, u lack the guts to try & do your own business.
Also parents who invested so much in their kids education will try & discourage cos too much risks at stake. Not all entrepreneurs can make money immediately. U also need a lot of money/backing to try & try again. Only those who poly education & lower will try cos they got less to lose.
not ALL scholars are superb. not ALL scholars get fast tracked career paths. and not ALL scholars have lousy character and personality.Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):sighz....scholars again.....are scholars really that good?? anyone that work in GLC will know that... they got more chance than others and most of the time... are promoted as long as a bullet train as they career path have been planned......personally i know, talk or work with scholars b4... and.... their character usually s.u.c.ks.......sighz...and now more scholars in public sector??
i know..not all.. that is why i never say ALL... and... the news never say directly.. but u know what they mean lah... they will be just set up alot of new company in the private sector that are linked and back my GLC....but they are so called private...Originally posted by wuming78:not ALL scholars are superb. not ALL scholars get fast tracked career paths. and not ALL scholars have lousy character and personality.
and btw, the news did not mention having more scholars in the public sector.
Maybe its a plan to invade the private sector?!?!?!?Originally posted by no_speeding:Im not a PSC scholar...
how how??!?!?!
Ahhhhhhhhhh..............![]()
p.s. sorry edited all the public to private.. paiseh..Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):sighz....scholars again.....are scholars really that good?? anyone that work in GLC will know that... they got more chance than others and most of the time... are promoted as long as a bullet train as they career path have been planned......personally i know, talk or work with scholars b4... and.... their character usually s.u.c.ks.......sighz...and now more scholars in private sector??
that's LKY style what....he dun say things for fun one... when he said it.. he mean it.... and always have everything planned...Originally posted by wuming78:wow. super fast response! or was it all pre-planned??
Originally posted by Xprobe:How can you teach someone to become an entrepreneur? Part of it is to be streetwise and have a knack for wheeling-and-dealing. If the scholar dont have these qualities by now, what are the chances that they will pick it up? Not to mention the opportunity cost for them to go thru the transformation process.