Har ha, I am the one contributing more to the societyOriginally posted by ziezoe:Maslow's theory (of motivation) is a good help to those bosses who can't keep employees.
Job hop is usually referred to as a habit, a bad habit.
However, sincere workers who move on to a better place for them to display more of their talents are contributing more to the society.
Which side of the coin are you?
Originally posted by Joshua1975:Joshua, I am in a similar situation. In 4 years of working life, I have worked in 5 companies. I am in my 6th company now. The shortest period I worked for was approximately 3 mths. and the longest was approximately 18mths.
Why job hop a Yes?
Ans: Let face it, no job security does not mean oni for us the work force. it apply to the company as well.
Boss peanuts. Boss get monkey.
To all the new work force, start low, way below market is ok as long it can get you through everyday you are fine. Get the experience, get yourself some achievement if you can, build up your contacts not more than 6mth, best is before your comfirmation you should ask for an increment, nothing happen start looking for new company. With the pay you start in you can get the same else where and for sure will be higher for the some experience you gain yah.
Dun worry abt the other coy ask you why you leave within such short working period. Just say you are under paid, it true anyway. For this you may get a bit higher than the last coy you are in.
I am writing this because I had done it in 1998 till now. Guess, for 6 years how many company I had been? more than 6 and the shortest period I work for one is less than 1mth and the longest not more than 20mths. For the 1st year I had a pay increment of 100% and more than the market rate back than.
Now I am working on my own liao.
Think abt it.
Like to hear those who say No to job hop.[/b]
Good for you, hope more ppl will be like us no matter which field they are in.Originally posted by thinker:Joshua, I am in a similar situation. In 4 years of working life, I have worked in 5 companies. I am in my 6th company now. The shortest period I worked for was approximately 3 mths. and the longest was approximately 18mths.
I consider my career/job: Technology (Semiconductor/System Integrator/IT/Engineering/Telecommunication). I feel that I learn and understand more when I 'moved' from one company to another company. I am unsure about other careers, but for Technology, 'moving' from one company to another is one way to keep up with the lastest technologies and understand how things work as a whole.
Employees need to take-charge of our own career now, as employers need ppl who can contribute to their biz/operation immediately. Employers are unwilling to spend time, effort or $ in training their employees. Take charge or fall out. Its your choice as an employee.![]()
Yup, you get to see more, learn more and one very important thing you build up your contact.Originally posted by lao_chio:yeah job hopping is the best way to quickly increase your pay, but of course must choose high paying ones.... Personally i feel that working 2 yrs in 2 different companies you'll learn more than 5 years in the same company.
"Good" point there, for those can oni pick up the basic please dun hop or you will compromises your positionOriginally posted by Xenthar:I don't agree with job hopping if it can be helped. The fact is in job hopping too much, you tend to pick up on only very basic experience that are not very useful. Most jobs that are looking for experience are talking about the perm type. Besides, there is always the chance that you end up taking what comes along and become a wandereing generality in the long run. How come a person improve his lot in life if he compromises his position all the time. I will onlt compromise to move forward and not back![]()
No no no, I mean the same level as you and NO not oni the elites have the rite to plan about the future, all ppl have the rite. You may say they can "get things done faster" like migrate but so what, they still have to work it out there. Why you are not picky, because you dun plan, even you do, I think you never try to achieve it. What about the elites that still around? Can you beat them? The way I look at your reply NOOriginally posted by Xenthar:To answer you Joshua indeed they are. Most of my "friends" in the army are from quite well to do family. Some drive cars paid by their parents. Most of them are smart enought to defer their national service to go study university for a full three years fully paid and sponsored by their parents without any national service stupid recall. After they which they probably will sign a bond etc to ensure they get a job once they are out of the university. Or with their degree, at least get jobs meant for us diploma holders. Of course they are way ahead of me what. The ELITES have a rite to plan their future what. Its only people like us that must not be picky rite![]()
1st thing 1st. Why in financial sector? Never think before hand or just follow the crowd? Some of your batch sometime get better pay, here it show when you hop you get better pays.Opps. I forgot to answer your question. Those guys that were on the same batch as me (taking into account financial positions and same level of education) are not getting any better. Yes true, they have been hopping all over and can now sometimes get a slightly better pay. But still effectively stuck at the lower rung. To be frank, I am from a very poor family and thus money is even more important to me than you think! The thing is my "same level" friends just want to survive. I want to move out of this position. I cannot imagine that if I have children in the future, they wil have to go through what i went through. Criticisms from teachers when I was in N, losing out to people from elite family who can afford to pay for their education, getting looked down on cause he is poor or do not have a degree. Thats why I think differently I guess. Cause I need to move out of this cycle. In fact, look at the facts! Those who can migrate to other countries are usually very well off. To be honest, when i make it to the elite class, I still wouldn't want to stay here if I have a family. I don't want my kids to end up like the people here.
Keep all the excuses. Tell employer you want to study for what, night class do not distubed your work hours ok. Just go, plan and carry it out, you dun need some other ppl approval to upgrade, unless you are asking them to pay for you.Originally posted by Xenthar:I agree planning is important but quite useless. When you tell employers your intentions to work and study at the same time, they will tell you to "get lost" in the current market. ... ... ... ...The companies here got slave mentality. Expect you to OT. So many jobs they prefer degree holder too.
As for my friends it cannot be helped, they need the money and thats why any job comes along must grab. How can afford to choose to choose a job to advance their position.
... ... ...Take our top "civil servants" for example. So many got backup house overseas. How come so many of their sons and daughters go there to study somemore??? Also I don't like it when the govt calls those that migrate quitters. ... ... ...
I read the book you mentioned before. But I don't think its good anyway. States the obvious but doesn't tell you exactly how to get there. I agree the govt don't own us a living but neither do i own them my life and soul.
how much are you earnig now by job-hopping?Originally posted by Joshua1975:looks all happy with the job you in now?
why not check the above post bitOriginally posted by The Hobbit:how much are you earnig now by job-hopping?