I dont believe in the working with others BullShit, in all my school days I have never had a pleasant experience of it, some retards dont do Shit, some do a lot of things...things that screw your work up that is. the only time I wanna work with someone, is when the people all listen to me, then we will be damn productive.Originally posted by laurence82:Overheard....
"KIds nowadays are taught to be competitive right from young. I must be first in class, and the others must be second. They are not taught how to work with others, to share what they have, etc etc..We are so engrossed with being number one, we forgot cohesiveness and cooperation push the whole society up"
Btw, working with others towards a common goal is different from working with others towards gahmen's goals hor...
more and more meh?Originally posted by Ole:if really harder how come more and more people getting straight A's?
Thats why SIngapore education system sucks.Originally posted by the.raven:I dont believe in the working with others BullShit, in all my school days I have never had a pleasant experience of it, some retards dont do Shit, some do a lot of things...things that screw your work up that is. the only time I wanna work with someone, is when the people all listen to me, then we will be damn productive.
singapore society fall apart meh? where got? oh just because people are competitive the society will fall apart? ok tell me an education system that is "good" in your opinion, HolmesOriginally posted by laurence82:Thats why SIngapore education system sucks.
Producing people who think they are the best and others will impede progress (more likely their own progress), others are useless, other are blah blah...
Thats why no social cohesiveness.
When the society fall apart, oneself will also feel the impact.
those ppl usually dont do that well...Originally posted by gerrykoh:It is happening in the better schools. The kiasu kids will never share notes or help one another cos they afraid their friends will do better than them in exams.
ITs god's fault!! "Why never give Singapore OIL 'lah!"Originally posted by chunyong:well....singapore have to full utilise its people cos we don't have natural resources and we have very little population. it is worsed by declining birthrate. don't be surprised when they marked up the retiring age again and again.
American/Western education is better. It gives you knowledge and life. To succeed in life is not all about good pieces of paper, which is what we in Singapore and most Asian countries seem to be encouraging by mass. But then again only the whites.. *cough* errr i mean Westerners can afford to have such systems coz it seems god preferred them by giving them resources. But then again, China/Japan also has resources, so why are their systems also strict and competitive?Originally posted by the.raven:singapore society fall apart meh? where got? oh just because people are competitive the society will fall apart? ok tell me an education system that is "good" in your opinion, Holmes
men@arms what ur saying is slightly wrong as u must understand that in America they can afford to do so by allowing everyone to try and findl their interest.... Singapore cannot afford to do so espcially wif the NS thingy tat takes away 2 yrs of our lives..... . I'm sure u know that in the USA the system is such tat it is very broad based but often many graduate without knowing indepth in their relevant fields(esp Engin and Sciences) until they pursue their masters(in their 4th yr) and beyond.... do you think singapore can afford everyone to spend so much time and resources to find their interest....Originally posted by men_@_arms:American/Western education is better. It gives you knowledge and life. To succeed in life is not all about good pieces of paper, which is what we in Singapore and most Asian countries seem to be encouraging by mass. But then again only the whites.. *cough* errr i mean Westerners can afford to have such systems coz it seems god preferred them by giving them resources. But then again, China/Japan also has resources, so why are their systems also strict and competitive?
I guess competitive is everywhere, just depends on the degree. And the degree is based on culture. Western culture more free and fun loving because they can afford to be, because of resources (when u talk about Singapore's case). But when u talk about japan and China, i have no answer.
haha u look at those western students, they dont know Shit, and everyday only know how to enjoy life. those good students in Western countries are surprise surprise: Chinese and other Asians.Originally posted by men_@_arms:American/Western education is better. It gives you knowledge and life. To succeed in life is not all about good pieces of paper, which is what we in Singapore and most Asian countries seem to be encouraging by mass. But then again only the whites.. *cough* errr i mean Westerners can afford to have such systems coz it seems god preferred them by giving them resources. But then again, China/Japan also has resources, so why are their systems also strict and competitive?
I guess competitive is everywhere, just depends on the degree. And the degree is based on culture. Western culture more free and fun loving because they can afford to be, because of resources (when u talk about Singapore's case). But when u talk about japan and China, i have no answer.