Originally posted by laurence82:This thing was never hush hush or is unwritten rule.
I have seen this along with other benefits in some articles long time ago, when they do recruitment for grassroot leaders.
x2.Originally posted by laurence82:Its one of the perk for being a grassroots leader I guess. Maybe because less and less people want to become involved in community work?
and thats the reason for offering a bribe?????Originally posted by laurence82:Its one of the perk for being a grassroots leader I guess. Maybe because less and less people want to become involved in community work?
Dont know whether to call it a perk, benefit, a bribe or just a human resource policyOriginally posted by oldbreadstinks:and thats the reason for offering a bribe?????
first of all..it's a waste if we buy a condo or EC in singapore..because of the price! and now when it comes to this [email protected]'s a public or HDB house still the price is like crazy!! so..if u ask me i don't feel regret for not buying it!Originally posted by The Void Deck:As someone who is going to get married and buy a HDB flat (since I cannot anything else) I was recently informed of this "fact" of Singapore's public housing. In my 29 years of existence, this little "fact" is a big shocker to me in today's Singapore; well, I was informed by my oldie birdie friends in my neighborhood kopitiam that all the Choice flats and Choice units in a HDB housing estate is prioritized first and foremost for this group of people known as Grassroots Leaders -- aka or also commonly known as the people who do the dirty work for PAP MPs in each constituency -- remember how the Nee Soon grassroot buggas cocked up in the last GE over the lor zhu incident and almost cost the Minsta of State his seat until SM had to go to a temple and negotiate like a true blue gangsta? Yep, those people indeed. Anyway, back to my story: I gaped and said "WTF???"
My guess is that there has to be some truth to this little fact since it was confirmed by at least another 3 or 4 people. When asked whether this kind of policy is logical, they shrugged their shoulders in the very Singaporean style and said "like that lor?". To pre-empt any Minsta from justifying by saying that these people contribute tons to the constituency and break their Sundays arranging the walkabouts for PAP MPs, my answer is "SO WHAT?" To be a grassroots leader, you are VOLUNTEERING right? So why should this act of volunteering be sweetened by these little "perks"? It's like donating for NKF so that you can win the first prize condominium. Where is equality and a free market for PUBLIC housing? If these people are so important why doesn't HDB build one block right in the middle of Toa Payoh Central and house them there? While you're at it, paint the block white with a red lightning logo across the building. These can be the first 10-room HDB flats to reward these minions of the party.
If such a policy does indeed exist, it has to be removed. Simple as that. For all the lucky ones getting Pinnacle @ Duxton, maybe you should go find out who your top-floor neighbours are.
Bo Zheng Hu
www.thevoiddeck.org
do u still call it community work then? oh mabbe.. giving time to the community. but using these to entice people?Originally posted by laurence82:Its one of the perk for being a grassroots leader I guess. Maybe because less and less people want to become involved in community work?
tt is not the point...Originally posted by malarica:first of all..it's a waste if we buy a condo or EC in singapore..because of the price! and now when it comes to this [email protected]'s a public or HDB house still the price is like crazy!! so..if u ask me i don't feel regret for not buying it!
vol·un·teer ( P ) Pronunciation Key (vln-tîr)Originally posted by stupidissmart:U can get the offer too if u volunteer
When u donate blood regularly u get to have extra medical priviledge too. If u like the offer so much donate blood lor...
i know sir...it 's just my opinion!Originally posted by wuming78:tt is not the point...
Maybe becos there is less volunteerism in people that they have to resort to this?Originally posted by wuming78:do u still call it community work then? oh mabbe.. giving time to the community. but using these to entice people?![]()
It will be a good thing actually...less suicidal contractor would mean tt the true contractors will survive....Originally posted by Joshua1975:Who ever get I dun care, I just want to know how many contractors going to close shop for this.
Low tender prize... go ahead all the local builder, may you all closed shop for good.
Yes! Welcome to the REAL WorldOriginally posted by I-like-flings(m):that's the real world........ everywhere is like that too.... it's about having the right connection.......![]()
Originally posted by Joshua1975:Low tender prize... go ahead all the local builder, may you all closed shop for good.
comon our mr. shorty for sure will give to the lowest tender as he say "in the past we had 28% of tender not given to the lowest." when ask is it true that all tender was given to the lowest with check? So in the past we had 78% of tender was given to the lowest rite?Originally posted by wuming78:u r v corny
Nicole was still awarded to the lowest by LTA. Way way way below? in parliment "they" mention it oso.Originally posted by stupidissmart:I thought the whole idea of tender is to find out the contractors tat will give us the lowest price... Isn't it logical for people to want to buy the same thing at a cheaper price.... If in the end they choose a company tat provides a higher price, don't u think there must have strong reasons or grounds for justifying it... Otherwise I may suspect some amount of corruption may have taken place...
BTW... if local companies have to use a higher price to build the same thing compared with foreign companies, than even if Gov gives the job to them, how long can they still last ? I am pretty sure other private companies will choose the contractor tat is cheaper too...
Although in the end incidents like Nicole highway had occurred, they had at least practise normal business sense to accept the service of a cheaper contractor. BTW the company tat built Nicole highway is actually a reputable Japanese company before the incident