CPF not helping ppl to save, it's forcing=if u go to a bank and u say u want to deposit money there.. and the tell u can only take it out when u are 62.. will u use that bank??? it's about customer's rights and choice here........Originally posted by Game1980:The problems of Singapore lie with Singaporeans not planing their finances and not on the govt.
1. CPF
CPF is a scheme to help people save.
The reality is that few people save thus we need CPF to make them save.
Solution: Pay off all debts and never spend beyond yr means.
Only buy house when u have cash.
No cash pls don't buy a pseudo asset which does not generate income(house)
I'm not willing to pay.... but do i have a choice??? u dun buy u live where???
2. HDB
Why did HDB prices rise?
Because Singaporeans/ PRs were willing to pay high price
Whose fault? Singaporean's fault
the supply is higher than demand in flats..... u know how many new flats are still unsold this few yrs??
Why did HDB prices fall?
Because Singaporeans/PRs were only willing to pay low prices and sellers were desperate as they overstretched themselves.Whose fault?
Singaporean's fault.
Cinema is not a Necessity here......cost of living for poor ppl are about .....e.g water, electricity, transportation....if we dun pay what ever prices they say... u think we got a choice???
3. Cost of living
The cost of living only rises when everybody is willing to pay high prices for non-essential.
Eg. Cinema at $8.50
If nobody willing to pay $8.50 to watch movie, then movie prices won't go up so much
Again. SIngaporean's fault
To conclude......yes... i blame myself for not studying hard and not a scholar or an elite and cannot shake leg in a big office making decision that have a impact on ppl's life that they dun understand.....
To conclude, u have only yrself to blame for getting yrself in debts
Thus, pls review yr financial statement and live below yr means to gather asset so as to be able to retire.
Will you be suing your econs lecturer (if any)? I can recommend a good lawyer.Originally posted by Game1980:The problems of Singapore lie with Singaporeans not planing their finances and not on the govt.
1. CPF
2. HDB
Why did HDB prices rise?
Why did HDB prices fall?
Because Singaporeans/PRs were only willing to pay low prices and sellers were desperate as they overstretched themselves.
Whose fault?
Singaporean's fault.
3. Cost of living
The cost of living only rises when everybody is willing to pay high prices for non-essential.
Eg. Cinema at $8.50
If nobody willing to pay $8.50 to watch movie, then movie prices won't go up so much
Thus, pls review yr financial statement and live below yr means to gather asset so as to be able to retire.
Save so much money for what,for the government to spend away is it?Already CPF money get blocked by them,since they have raised the minimum sum,i think until i died i also cannot take all my money out.ITS MY HARD EARN MONEY,mind you!!!Other than buying house,my money basically get locked.Originally posted by Game1980:As mentioned earlier, people don't like to save.
They like to spend so CPF make them save but it is not enough, they must save more.
I don't like the fact about government forcing me to save. But who will take care of the old folks who never save in their life time and do not have children to take care of them (or have children who wouldn't take care of them). Then everyone points their finger at the government. But where will the $$ come from - more taxes. And who will pay the taxes - you!Originally posted by drawer:Save so much money for what,for the government to spend away is it?Already CPF money get blocked by them,since they have raised the minimum sum,i think until i died i also cannot take all my money out.ITS MY HARD EARN MONEY,mind you!!!Other than buying house,my money basically get locked.
If let say the money in CPF can use for other purposes,i agree with u.But you have to understand,now the money can only use to buy house or pay for your "hospitalise fees".Thats all!How are you going to get back ur CPF money when u are in need at old age?Originally posted by Qitai:I don't like the fact about government forcing me to save. But who will take care of the old folks who never save in their life time and do not have children to take care of them (or have children who wouldn't take care of them). Then everyone points their finger at the government. But where will the $$ come from - more taxes. And who will pay the taxes - you!
Now, would you rather government forcing everyone to save to avoid that scenario or would you rather that you pay more taxes just because someone failed to plan for their old age. Seriously, I rather being forced to save. At least, those $$ are still mine. And since I can buy a house with it, I can still use it in some ways. So, it is still my $$.
It depends on what type of need you are talking about.Originally posted by drawer:If let say the money in CPF can use for other purposes,i agree with u.But you have to understand,now the money can only use to buy house or pay for your "hospitalise fees".Thats all!How are you going to get back ur CPF money when u are in need at old age?
You are very constructive indeed . . . . . . . . .Originally posted by the.raven:whoa suck up to the govt sia
There is a large amount of truth in what this guy is saying. But if you want to look at it from a different angle, its because of the class discrimination system that has happened in our society. If you make it to an elite you can have it all!Originally posted by Game1980:The problems of Singapore lie with Singaporeans not planing their finances and not on the govt.
1. CPF
2. HDB
Why did HDB prices rise?
Why did HDB prices fall?
Because Singaporeans/PRs were only willing to pay low prices and sellers were desperate as they overstretched themselves.
Whose fault?
Singaporean's fault.
3. Cost of living
Eg. Cinema at $8.50