When Blackout Call ST Lor
Today's Straits Times featured a front page Home article on jittery Singaporeans who after experiencing the Blackout is asking for a national "hotline" for such situations (http://straitstimes.asia1.com.sg/singapore/story/0,4386,259513,00.html?). Walao ...
this is a bit of an overkill right? I pay taxes for a reason, already see so many cock-up gahment policies and now ST wanna suggest another cock-up wate tax-payer money policy!! When blackout just light candle, talk cock, listen small radio and have sex lah. Why the hell do we need a "hotline"?
The Auntie in the article, Cecilia Teo, (who stays in Bukit Timah, yep u got it, the rich type one) in the article suggests that can use technology to solve the problem, juz record one message and let people call the "hotline" and than they will be shiok. WALAN eh, this Auntie home computer mus be a 386 one ... u keep one hotline with 5,000 lines free to access a recorded message??? Ask the NKF do lah ... Record one message? Errrrm ... Must record 4 national languages, plus hakka, teochew, hokkien, cantonese, hock chew, than teach people must press # followed by 5 for sub menu .. in what language? and the most FUNDAMENTAL problem? People who call hotline are the kan cheong (nervous) spider type (those who buy 4D on monday) who need doctor to tell them they do not have SARS for 50 times in an hour long consultation ... u let them listen to a recorded message, they will just become more kan cheong and think that all the mata and SCDF kena nuked or something ... than they want to call MP, call Goh Chok Tong to sayang them ... the Auntie might as well suggest u call the dating hotline and tok to some sexy chick voice to soothe ur anxiety ... dunno who more stoopid, the Auntie interviewed or the journalist who write this down ... sighzzzzzzz
The article quotes another retired professor from NUS who say that there should be a 3 digit hotline number so that it is easy to remember ... (i think he needs something like nair nair fire type of thing) ... walan eh .. no wonder he retired from NUS ... u haf an easy number, u call and u ask them ... "my house blackout", the fellow answer "yes whole singapore blackout", than u feel better ah? WALAN EH!!!!!! Than he say he called police abd police ask him call Singapore Power, and he say number very long cannot remember .... i think whoever is his children have to take care of him well, maybe he can wear a small white board around his neck with ALL the emergency numbers there.
This article is obviously penned by a crisis hypochondriac (with an obvious permanent blackout between his ears) for other similar hypochondriacs ... or it really reflects the type of Singaporeans who read ST and rely on ST to tell the world their problem ... those that must have things simplified into very pretty pictures and graphics (yep ST win those awards alot). The Minsta for Takchek, Tharman, recently whacked alot of students for being 'soft', TVD challenged him to list out just which kids are soft, well the answer come out in this article lor ... when you have parents like that, all of whom seems educated and well-to-do, the kids are not that far behind.
Since police and SCDF obviously dun wanna hotline, why dun ST do a good deed for its diehard supporters, set up a Straits Times National Emergency Hotline (3 digit hotline 669 -- tell people it is sex sex nair), than the journalists can explain to all these people what happened and is happening lor -- for a start, u can have old chicks like sumiko tan man the lines and gossip away with these people just like her former Sunday columns. Anyway, since ST already part of gahment liao, might as well go all the way and set this up ... so when got blackout, who do u call? Straits Times Sumiko!!
See Guai Lan
thevoiddeck.org