Originally posted by the Bear:i suggested to one of my junior staff who wanted to get a part-time degree to seek greener pastures as the department will not recognise his..
which i think is weird....
the part-timers work even harder and show that they are capable of juggling both a job and studies... and are therefore better equipped to handle things at their jobs...
oh well.. we are led by a bunch of "scholars" who haven't a clue...
so u mean cannot use Overseas part-time degree to apply for MASTER in NTU or NUS?.Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):gov cannot come out and admit they have an unofficial rules on this overseas degree... coz... they are trying to promote sg as an educational hub....coz it's a big business....
but....most ppl in sg know about it..... so my advice to ppl... die die try go jc then sg uni lor...dun be siao on and go poly then part time study and think u can save money and time and still can a degree...... like mine also not recognise.. want to take my MBA in ntu or nus also cannot now.. sighz![]()
depend on which one lor.. some i know is officially they accept ur application but will never select u for it lor... but for mine... i can't even apply lah..... long story lah...Originally posted by The Hobbit:so u mean cannot use Overseas part-time degree to apply for MASTER in NTU or NUS?.
Originally posted by Parka:Sometimes the knowledge from courses also not used during work. SO what's the big deal about certification?
BINGO! you've hit the nail on the head.Originally posted by the Bear:oh well.. we are led by a bunch of "scholars" who haven't a clue...
hmm how about degrees thru PSB academy? i supposed that is related to civil service somehow right??? me interested in getting IT degree from there leh, now working in garment sectorOriginally posted by witness:Not just the government but all employers need to be wary about recognition of degrees.
NUS, NTU, SMU, SIM and other local degrees are generally recognised because of their familiarity, as they are all homegrown. Some are government supported and work with the MOE. So it is only natural that recognition is taken for granted.
Originally posted by thoreldan:hmm how about degrees thru PSB academy? i supposed that is related to civil service somehow right??? me interested in getting IT degree from there leh, now working in garment sector
How abt full time from SIM? also cannot right?Originally posted by foga:public service huh. u're div II officer?
if u're taking a part time degree course, regardless SIM or NTU or NUS or PSB
u'll still be stuck in the scheme as before. jus tat u would have an additional pay increment or abt 50 to 150.
Originally posted by laurence82:How abt full time from SIM? also cannot right?
In anyway, me dont think me want to go public service, so many ZHL here seems to have suffered
Originally posted by Xenthar:good point so no point in getting a doctorate now?
Hi everyoneI am a diploma holder fresh out of the army and can understand the situation. Its not just even about degree holders actually. For govt jobs that are suitable for diploma holders, they actually prefer to give to degree holders. I went for a quite a lot so I sort of get the idea. As for degree posts, go do a check and you will notice most of those employed are honours students.
To address the issue of why they don't openly admit it is simple. Not moral and ethical to do it openly. Simple as that. You can't expect the govt to "declare" they only want to accept NTU and NUS top honours students cause they are interested in papers can't you?
Another point someone mentioned about studying full time vs studying part time is quite shallow. Not everyone can afford to study full time for three years. I often suspect that most of the people who make this kind of statements are the types who have their parents paying for everything. School fees, cars and for some I know of even marriage and hdb apartments!
I guess that most job seekers after getting poked a few times would know better.
As for the final point someone mentioned about having limited view and being restricted, I agree. I had a taiwan friend living in Singapore who only had an ITE cert. Complained a lot to me that people do not give him chances( Same for my case even though I got a diploma!) I scolded him and guess where he is now. In China learining business from his Father who has his own company there. Sometimes people are just blind to the opportunities that are rite in front of their eyes.
My closing comment might make some angry but I feel its the truth. Education is good as a stepping stone. But the ultimate guage of success is when you can have your company and can become very rich and have more than a million. In spite of what they say, with enough [b]money you can even change your environment. The CEO of Novena Furnitures said that too!
Like Henry Ford said before " Why should I know everything when at the push of a button, I can have people to give that info to me!" Like they say cash is king and even a Phd holder will have to bow before a mutli billionaire to work for him! [/b]