HDB presents a magical illusion of the government to provide affordable housing to everyone and the best part - you don't really own them. After paying so much, you only lease from them.Originally posted by Gregorsamsa:Hey check this out its on today's forum
http://straitstimes.asia1.com.sg/forum/story/0,4386,261041,00.html?
[/url]
wonder how the HDB will answer it.
I mean i know the Real reason why it is so expensive but i dont know whether they will give a reply that doesnt anything or an in your face answer.
so what's the reason for selling those flats at such a high price?Originally posted by Gregorsamsa:Hey check this out its on today's forum
http://straitstimes.asia1.com.sg/forum/story/0,4386,261041,00.html?
[/url]
wonder how the HDB will answer it.
I mean i know the Real reason why it is so expensive but i dont know whether they will give a reply that doesnt anything or an in your face answer.
Originally posted by Gregorsamsa:My personal belief that, reinforced by my brothers quote from his social studies text, that such a high price is levied firstly to ensure we do work (slavery) and also as a revenue churner for the government.
yah thats the Real answer
the most funny thing is....they always still claimed that it's a subsidized price given to citizen onlyOriginally posted by blurgirl:so what's the reason for selling those flats at such a high price?
...and what if they don't?Originally posted by spyder:will they finally give people a damn damn good explanation why they are charging sky high prices for our hdb flats...
no matter what the reason behind might be, we are still gonna pay that price when we buy new houses in future. Unless u dun wanna buy new flats at all lah. This kinda of price is never going to change.Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):the most funny thing is....they always still claimed that it's a subsidized price given to citizen only![]()
If my observation is right. HDB direct purchase is always priced at prevailing valuation price of neighbouring similar estate minus some $?0, 000. So, the only way to change it is to crash the housing market. Well.... not sure if everyone wants that to happen. And the government can "influence" the market by releasing more/less land for housing as well as to the extreme of taking back lands. Not sure if all these means anything to anyone anyway.Originally posted by blurgirl:no matter what the reason behind might be, we are still gonna pay that price when we buy new houses in future. Unless u dun wanna buy new flats at all lah. This kinda of price is never going to change.![]()
Originally posted by Gregorsamsa:so far its a week and still no reply from HDB.
well maybe the problem comes from us
wow it moving $$$ from pocket A to B than to C and than back to A but end with more than it 1st start off...Originally posted by robertteh:If land cost of a project is S$100 per plot ratio per square foot. Construction cost is S$150 per plot ratio per square foot. HDB can sell the flat for a profit at S$250 per plot ratio per square foot.
However HDB cannot take the land cost at S$100 per plot ratio per square foot because the lands acquisition profits were transferred to consolidated account. HDB bought lands back at the highest price from Consolidated Fund. The final land cost would be higher than S$100 because it was re-sold to HDB at higher price with difference (profits) earned by government in the first instance.
How can HDB flat be cheap?