Originally posted by geruicheng:Is it just me who feel this way??
Most of their reply often seemed cut and paste. The whoe reply is a standard answer to question about pricing. They only add in the last paragraph to answer the main issue being raised by the previous writer..
if u have read 'rich dad, poor dad' u will noe that ur house is not an asset, but a bloody liability.Originally posted by Gregorsamsa:after some thought, i realise that or rather might have stated that the HDB problem is a self made one and cannot be rectified amicably.
the people who are complaining are people like us, who d-ont own a HDB flat or property. this is because the fixed cost of the HDB to us puts off alot of us. it affects whether we want to get married and stuff.
However, for those who own property, if HDB prices fall, they would feel like idiots. so own one hand we are asset rich, on the other hand, if everyone owns HDB flats, or can get them cheap, your assets deflate.
On why they cannot give better replies, i think maybe the PR department of HDB is thought the standard line. I mean they had like 1 week to reply so maybe they drafted and vetted the language and words use. or in the most cynical case, use cut and paste method.
hey hey another rich dad, poor dad reader... good for you.Originally posted by cunnibal:if u have read 'rich dad, poor dad' u will noe that ur house is not an asset, but a bloody liability.
'Rich invest in assets, while the middle income invest in liabilities that they thought are assets'
Do not be fooled by the gah'men when they tell u u r asset rich, bullshit, ur HDB is ur liability man....
PS: asset is something that can put money in ur pocket, while liabilities are items that takes money out of ur pocket. therefore, unless u decide to sell ur HDB, keep the money and stay on the street, ur HDB do not have any potential to make money for u....
A house is a liability if you are still paying for it and once fully paid, its is an asset. HDB can generate income also you can set up home office or rent out a room. CPF is money also. USA also have retirement scheme.Originally posted by cunnibal:if u have read 'rich dad, poor dad' u will noe that ur house is not an asset, but a bloody liability.
'Rich invest in assets, while the middle income invest in liabilities that they thought are assets'
Do not be fooled by the gah'men when they tell u u r asset rich, bullshit, ur HDB is ur liability man....
PS: asset is something that can put money in ur pocket, while liabilities are items that takes money out of ur pocket. therefore, unless u decide to sell ur HDB, keep the money and stay on the street, ur HDB do not have any potential to make money for u....
helloooo... yes it will be fully paid but you will still be paying your property tax to the garment. this is expense and not an income.Originally posted by tspg:A house is a liability if you are still paying for it and once fully paid, its is an asset. HDB can generate income also you can set up home office or rent out a room. CPF is money also. USA also have retirement scheme.
I think you have misquoted Robert T. Kiyosaki. He is angry when people twisted his ideas or misinterpret them. The book is a useful financial planning guide to wealth if you read it throughly and apply them.
lol, i think u r der one misquoting him, in dear robert's context, he mentioned that so what if u have fully paid 4 ur house? u still gotta pay for all sorts of expenses like property tax. Dun forget all the interests u already paid for the flat, with that interest paid, u can easily buy 1 more flat.Originally posted by tspg:A house is a liability if you are still paying for it and once fully paid, its is an asset. HDB can generate income also you can set up home office or rent out a room. CPF is money also. USA also have retirement scheme.
I think you have misquoted Robert T. Kiyosaki. He is angry when people twisted his ideas or misinterpret them. The book is a useful financial planning guide to wealth if you read it throughly and apply them.
Originally posted by Joshua1975:wah, struck it big already? if got pointers to exit der rat race must teach leh....
[b]
umm.... cpf is money we dun get to see phsically, I like to call it the number game play by the GOV/CPF with ppl like me... oh, sorry i stop playing with them 2 years liao...
b]
Ok ok I go read again.Originally posted by Joshua1975:helloooo... yes it will be fully paid but you will still be paying your property tax to the garment. this is expense and not an income.
you may say set home office or rent out, but if this dun generate income, it just add on to your liability...
umm.... cpf is money we dun get to see phsically, I like to call it the number game play by the GOV/CPF with ppl like me... oh, sorry i stop playing with them 2 years liao...
I think you are the one that has misquoted Kiyosaki and his team leh... why not re-read again... it work this way, ppl at diff stage read the book differently due to understanding of facts around.
ok ok going to reread it again. Like Joshua1975 said different ppl got different perceptions from their own positions. Time for a refresher course.Originally posted by cunnibal:lol, i think u r der one misquoting him, in dear robert's context, he mentioned that so what if u have fully paid 4 ur house? u still gotta pay for all sorts of expenses like property tax. Dun forget all the interests u already paid for the flat, with that interest paid, u can easily buy 1 more flat.
Good 4 those who rent out a room, at least they are doing something to counter the effect their liability has already had on them. Robert has always viewed one's home as a liability - never an asset, read it up in rich dad poor dad, u'll see him repeat that again and again.![]()
dun only read, APPLY, and when u apply, tell me how u do it so that i can copyOriginally posted by tspg:ok ok going to reread it again. Like Joshua1975 said different ppl got different perceptions from their own positions. Time for a refresher course.![]()
If I become billionaire I write new book and distribute free.Originally posted by cunnibal:dun only read, APPLY, and when u apply, tell me how u do it so that i can copy![]()
no lar... key word not to let GREED lead your way around. as in the book he say something like pay yourself last...Originally posted by cunnibal:wah, struck it big already? if got pointers to exit der rat race must teach leh....![]()
things to note, even the book itself dun work in the whole US because of some diff law in diff state or something like that and for sure it not a what planning book for ppl...Originally posted by tspg:Ok ok I go read again.I agree ppl at different stage read the book differently even for the same person every time you read you get new ideas also. Its time for a reread !
According to Forbes, Singapore got 5 billionaire now. So, good luck for being the sixth. Note that they are all older than 63 and three of them includes family wealth and not just individuals .Originally posted by tspg:If I become billionaire I write new book and distribute free.![]()
he mentioned abt paying urself first, then the bills, for him it worked because this because a driving force for him to search harder for money to pay his bills. Anyway, his book is just a book to open up ur mind, the examples are only meant to illustrate his point, which is to look for opportunities to invest and not wait to be retrenched.Originally posted by Joshua1975:no lar... key word not to let GREED lead your way around. as in the book he say something like pay yourself last...
and for CPF, really dun see the point of paying??? till now ppl been asking what they do with the $$$ and nothing been answer yet. what they invest in? did it make or lost, if make what do we get? needless to say lost, i think we get nothing... if invest i might as well do it myself...
the saying goes, if you cannot manage you $$$, why go work in the 1st place...
I agree. There is another book The Millionaire Next Door which I find very useful also. The basic ideas in the book are similar to Rich Dad Poor Dad. MUST READ. Available at popular bookstores.Originally posted by Joshua1975:things to note, even the book itself dun work in the whole US because of some diff law in diff state or something like that and for sure it not a what planning book for ppl...
it just to let you 'see' and understand something that has been going on for years... like he tell you what REALTY means, how the words come abt...
I think basic idea of HDB is to provide housing (shelter) for all Singaporean. Once you get into the part of investment, then it is not HDB role liao. So, if you got $$ to invest, then buy apartment/Condo loh. So, you will be subject to the free market forces loh.Originally posted by Joshua1975:to add on CPF, there are some topic in here, you can check it out again if you have read b4...
i had mention time and again, ppl like me in or around late 20s to mid 30s will not see the $$$ at all even when we work till retired age... sad real sad.
I mean it my $$$ but I dun get to control it??? what logic is there here? whatever i dun get to control it not my, so 4get abt CPF...
back to the topic... HDB, why ppl cannot buy 2 HDB, why? some rules have change why not this? it will be a good investment for those who can buy 2 or more... if not why HDB has to privatise; of cause there are some other reason behind such as to divert $$$ out of it... can i say that, arh who care, all business man know how it work. maybe i start another topic here...
hmmm.... disagreed as mention some rules had change why not this?Originally posted by Qitai:I think basic idea of HDB is to provide housing (shelter) for all Singaporean. Once you get into the part of investment, then it is not HDB role liao. So, if you got $$ to invest, then buy apartment/Condo loh. So, you will be subject to the free market forces loh.
Depends on what you think HDB role is loh.... then we can talk about what it should do. If cannot agree on role, then surely cannot agree on what it should/should not do. So, got to give definition of HDB role first. Can discuss in other thread you created if you want.Originally posted by Joshua1975:hmmm.... disagreed as mention some rules had change why not this?
good point on basic idea of HDB, how basic is it now? the basic idea was for some 20 to 30 years back and i am somehow sure it cannot be apply today and oso from the person in-charge, mah oso ask ppl to rent instead of buying/own one...
cannot oni 'they' make but not us leh...