Agreed, it's far from Singapore.Originally posted by 2004Lancer:must share with u people young or old about Christmas Island....this island is damn far from us ok.....so don't keep saying it should belong to us.....i felt that way too until i saw the location of the island....NBZ.....it is to the left of Sumatra....now who dare to say it should belong to Singapore?

Had we not sold off Christmas Island, we would at least have a natural resource, i.e. the vast naturally occuring phosphorous compacts over thereOriginally posted by 2004Lancer:seow eh....i have a very old book of Christmas Island.....
must share with u people young or old about Christmas Island....this island is damn far from us ok.....so don't keep saying it should belong to us.....i felt that way too until i saw the location of the island....NBZ.....it is to the left of Sumatra....now who dare to say it should belong to Singapore?
So more, an old man told me Lim Yew Hock wasn't the one who actually sold Christmas Island.....he was just a scapegoat...someone else did.....
And Christmas Island was an island full of crabs....u may laugh but it is true.....the amount of crabs on the island is scary .... as much as ants .....
in the olden days, when people are sleeping in their beds, lines of crabs climbed up their beds in the night......
roads were also full of squashed crabs......
what Christmas Island produce last time? Phosporous......the island land is full of Phosporous....
Those people living there mostly are Chinese and Malay....just like olden days Singapore.....you also could see school buses and schools.....and students attending schools on the island......nostalgic memories
Originally posted by panzerjager:Had we not sold off Christmas Island, we would at least have a natural resource, i.e. the vast naturally occuring phosphorous compacts over there
aiyo! its PHOSPHATE! not phosphorus... in a word, FERTILIZER... and its not exactly a renewable resource...Originally posted by Asfi_Kay:You think phosphorus is enough to maintain SG's economy? Phosphorus, comes in 4 allotrophic forms, white, yellow, red, black/dark violet. Do you know the value and uses of phosphorus even? Is is highly dangerous, highly poisonous and burns spontaneously in air.
Have you ever went mining before? I don't think the cost of mining, producing and refining phosphorus, on a crab infested island could be covered by the profit of the sale of phosphorus.
Anyway, you could always make phosphorus from urine. It was first discovered that way..
Originally posted by LittleTiger:I think someone must go to Christmax Islands and open a Crab House so that we can organised a eat till u drop 3 days 2 night tour to crab feast.
Or organised a free and easy (catch and pengang/roast) of crab as you like ......,
Anyone wanna go there and claim back the island..... buy lands there, build Crab hotel, Crab restaurant, Crab house, crab pub, crab kopitiam. Put all the flags on in your premises and somehow are becomes truely S'pore.
they're not edible?Originally posted by the Bear:those people living there were singaporean...
you think they would not have done it already if the crabs were edible?
the red crabs can be eaten one meh? small leh... bo ba one...Originally posted by LittleTiger:I think someone must go to Christmax Islands and open a Crab House so that we can organised a eat till u drop 3 days 2 night tour to crab feast.
Or organised a free and easy (catch and pengang/roast) of crab as you like ......,
Anyone wanna go there and claim back the island..... buy lands there, build Crab hotel, Crab restaurant, Crab house, crab pub, crab kopitiam. Put all the flags on in your premises and somehow are becomes truely S'pore.

Originally posted by oldbreadstinks:they're not edible?
Originally posted by j28w32:just wonder when singapore was kicked out of malaysia or in other words became independent?? in 1965??? selling christmas island in 1958?? just do not know how they could do that when it was part of malaysia.
Mate, you are the first person i have ever heard in my life about your opinion of territory. you are right today?? or your brain is stuffed somehow or got brain damage from car accident.
Mate, two points i would like to make:Originally posted by idwar:Even up till today, Christmas island follow some parts of singapore law
eg
Customs Ordinance (of the Colony of Singapore in its application to the Territory)
Quarantine and Prevention of Disease Ordinance (of the Colony of Singapore in its application to the Territory)
A refugee who lands on Christmas Island is NOT deemed to have landed in Australia, and hence cannot claim refugee status.
By the way, Christmas Island is closer to Singapore than Australia.
I am not asking for armed conflict. I am only asking that Singapore buy back the Island. Pay for what it is worth, crabs and all.........