Originally posted by SibeiSuayKia:China stir hoo haa? you know what they are going to do now??
they are going to sell SHORT RANGE missiles to m'sia
and threaten singapore's security now.
SEE what is happening ? Chinese Chinese? they won't hesitate to use the missiles on Taiwanese and on singaporeans , by letting our potential adversaries use it..
LOL , if we lose some economic opportunities overseas never mind,cause wun affect much stuffs locally..
But if it threatens our national security it is certainly a cause for alarm...especially if the short range missiles which they are going to sell to m'sia is those which are pointing at taiwan..haiz
Who is petty now? lol...see for urself ba...
THIS is a major cause of of concern now!
This is definitely going to be very heat up ! IMAGINE missiles which they are pointing at taiwan are now going to be pointed at us..in the future.
Please lor chinese chinese...just think CN's civil wars so many chinese kill chinese u think they give a damn? LOL.
I believe those missiles are from those russian tech and if our potential adversaries fire it on us..there will not be any time to react or whatever..
unlike Taiwan who got AEGIS and ARROW and some time to react..we got none..and when the missile is fired...u will know that lives will be lost.
Must protest against the sales!
Cause its a new form of introduction of new weapons in SEA!
LoL anyway 7 trillion in debt is indeed very huge. But anyway they are prepared for a super scale conflict.
Anyway , i just wanna tell u all something , i studied history and cold war..
NATO and USA have a agreement in which 1 of their main duties is to prevent countries from being swallowed by communism.(as long as NATO exists)
They dared to intervene against Soviet union and China together..(previously
at afghanistan, at taiwan, at korea, at vietnam , and give out plenty of monetary aid..what makes you think that US won't intervene?
If US don't intervene, that will be the day whereby freedom dies..
Why? Cause pple in tW don't have the right to choose whether they wanna be with CHINA/STATUS QUO
PLEASE lor..if u say that USA is under local debt of 7 trillion
den lemme tell u something , about 5 years before WW II , they were also in debt and thats the Great Depression , in which their economy is experiencing
trouble and guess what saved the Economy ? WAR. if u want me to explain about it can.. i can go on for ages.
Anyway if china+russia and taiwan and jap and sg and blah blah blah
go challenge US + Nato , the latter will win. Why?
US believes in a policy of overwhelming , and im not following against the side of biased against who ever or whatever..
Anyway China is not really as tough as SU during the peak of the cold war..
cause Russia at that time already has conducted tons and tons of space launch and spy satellites..lol...and developed tit for tat counters for every plane made..like MIG-21,MIG-23,MIG-25,MIG-27,MIG-29,MIG-31,SU-27,SU-24,
SU-30,SU-33 and those T-60 , T-91 and blah blah ,HIND and don't forget Kiev and Typhoon class subs..i can go on for ages
China got some jets some J-6 sheng yang, F-7 and J-10
just look at the variety of planes which could be manufactured by SU..
Do you know how much resources has to be dedicated any how much production has to be achieved in order to get something called "RESULT"?
The famous RPG-7 and AK-47 is oso invented by them..![]()
USA and SU that time is very very comparable in terms of military size..
if compare the time between 1st space manned craft and CN's 1st manned craft its about 40+ years..LOL
anyway CN is still using cold war technology..which is the decomissioned stuff, enuf said. ECONOMICALLY i admit they are like a roaring dragon ,within 10 to 20 years, NGF will appear and those aircraft like SU-30 and SU-33 will be obsolete..and btw there' isn't a aircraft to rival on F-22 and YF-35![]()
, aiyah i just wanna know the results of a dogfight between J-10 and YF-35 and see the results..
Anyway You need NEXT Generation Craft to fight in a enviroment right?
Say that China's NGF is equivalent to the F-16 C/D , and that means to draw with the F-22 they must make NNGF to challenge.. and to Win they need NNNGF , Next next next generation fighter which will take many years
Still though 3 million cannot be underestimated , but the quality and morale of the troops must be there , ground forces should be reduced , cause no adversary will ever land in Chinese soil !! a very big risk , naval forces should quadruple in size and the if possible Europe should have more military contact with CN , the reason why pple rather choose MIG cause they have been tested in various wars.. and some conflicts =/ ...anyway overall MIGS vs US-made jets , i believe overall MIGs get downed more..wonder why? I rather take a battle proven's country jets to the test or French Rafale , thank you , at least i know about the specifications and the arnaments ..rather den a country whose jets are not really tested and technology based on a previous superpower =)
The way u argue is like SAF has no duty to be here in the 1st place.Originally posted by Roquet:Are you kidding now? I dont ask you where you got the news, just ask you how you can think the chinese missiles threaten Singapore? Do you really think there is another Kuwait or Israel in Asia? Do you really think any other country in Asia has an ambition to Singapore? If you talk about threat, then there is a Chinese saying: there is no unreasonable LOVE in the world, and there is no unreasonable HATE in the world too! Before you suspect others, you should look at yourself first, what you have done to others! Actually, Singapore should feel lucky to stay in Asia and lucky to have a friend like China!
You talked about missiles pointing at taiwan. OK, let me give you a lesson. Do you really think those missiles will fall on the island? Do you really think it is valuable for China to use thoes valuable missials to just destroy a few stone buildings? Use your brain! If there is no warship from the famous country in the channel in 1950s, how can the tanwan crisis happen now? A war comes to true only because another military force interferes and supports taiwan independence. Remember, did they cross over 38?
You talked about chinese killing in the civil war. You should learn more about history, not only chinese, but also world and yourself's. Then you will know who was keeping to carry weapons to china battle field to kill another part chinese. Did chinese send a single bullet to Washington general? Do you dare to say that nobody was killed when Singapore set up? then where did those reactionaries go? evaporated?
It is not strange to your cold-war-thinking. However, look at practice, you cannot find another country like China to keep peace in Asia. But, we know that famous country has brought two wars to Asia, and both failed. Now Asia is growing in all aspects, so the third war seems to be closer and closer. Who will benefit from the war? Use your brain!
Once again, Before you suspect others, you should look at yourself first, what you have done to others! Singapore should feel lucky to stay in Asia and lucky to have a friend like China! At least, this friend has tried her best and hurt herself deeply to help Asia to overcome economy crisis in 1997-1998!
Did you live in Mars at that time?
If you still use cold-war-thinking to look at China, then what I can only say is: an idiot cannot be educated. Hope you are not like that.
Originally posted by SibeiSuayKia:The way u argue is like SAF has no duty to be here in the 1st place.
why so many arms in the 1st place?
may i ask u a question? how china had hurt so badly in the economy crisis by helping Asia? give more detail pls?Originally posted by Roquet:Are you kidding now? I dont ask you where you got the news, just ask you how you can think the chinese missiles threaten Singapore? Do you really think there is another Kuwait or Israel in Asia? Do you really think any other country in Asia has an ambition to Singapore? If you talk about threat, then there is a Chinese saying: there is no unreasonable LOVE in the world, and there is no unreasonable HATE in the world too! Before you suspect others, you should look at yourself first, what you have done to others! Actually, Singapore should feel lucky to stay in Asia and lucky to have a friend like China!
You talked about missiles pointing at taiwan. OK, let me give you a lesson. Do you really think those missiles will fall on the island? Do you really think it is valuable for China to use thoes valuable missials to just destroy a few stone buildings? Use your brain! If there is no warship from the famous country in the channel in 1950s, how can the tanwan crisis happen now? A war comes to true only because another military force interferes and supports taiwan independence. Remember, did they cross over 38?
You talked about chinese killing in the civil war. You should learn more about history, not only chinese, but also world and yourself's. Then you will know who was keeping to carry weapons to china battle field to kill another part chinese. Did chinese send a single bullet to Washington general? Do you dare to say that nobody was killed when Singapore set up? then where did those reactionaries go? evaporated?
It is not strange to your cold-war-thinking. However, look at practice, you cannot find another country like China to keep peace in Asia. But, we know that famous country has brought two wars to Asia, and both failed. Now Asia is growing in all aspects, so the third war seems to be closer and closer. Who will benefit from the war? Use your brain!
Once again, Before you suspect others, you should look at yourself first, what you have done to others! Singapore should feel lucky to stay in Asia and lucky to have a friend like China! At least, this friend has tried her best and hurt herself deeply to help Asia to overcome economy crisis in 1997-1998!
Did you live in Mars at that time?
If you still use cold-war-thinking to look at China, then what I can only say is: an idiot cannot be educated. Hope you are not like that.
you are a real man!!!Originally posted by go_china:First of all, I'm a citizen of PRC, and proud to be one.
Singapore, or for that matter, any other country has their rights to do what's in their best interest. BUT, DON"T STEP ON OTHERS TOES, or you're gonna have a foot in your ass.
I don't care if your Prince Lee's visit to our Taiwan province is official or unofficial. He made a carefully calculated political maneuver. And it backfired. So now you, as a country, will have to face the consequences. Don't like it?? Tell your Emperor Lee or Prince Lee to stop stick their noses in other people's business, or do you have any guts to say anything?
I'm a firm believer of asymmetric responses : be nice to me once, I'll be nice to you ten times; betray me once, I'll make sure you won't dare to do it again for the rest of your farting natural life.
Decision is yours, be wise.
and thank china to let singaporean face the same missiles as taiwanese... thank for the early national day present.Originally posted by sgdiehard:To go_china,
Singapore is also a firm believer in returning kindness. Taiwan, or the ROC, has been supporting Singapore since our independence. Eygpt and India rejected our call to help set up SAF, it was the Isrealis who helped us set up the Army and Taiwan who provided the training ground. China was then going thru yr cultural revolution, killing yr own people and set Chinese civilisation back at least 20 yrs!! This is just one example.
When yr Teng Xiao Peng came to power and opened up China, who invested all the money into China to help China jump start yr economy? Taiwanese and all other overseas Chinese!! not the American or you did it yourself!! How are you returning such kindness?
Politically, Singapore recognised one China. We changed from recognising ROC to PRC. It remains our hope that Taiwan is united with China in a peaceful manner. Teng Xiao Peng and Lee Peng knew it, they understood and accepted the fact that Singapore cannot abandon Taiwan total just like that. They certainly have the big heart of big leaders. Now China is bigger economically, but do you have the big heart?? yr action shows.
Singaporeans go to poll once every 4 yrs, to elect our leaders. We have the right to vote! Chinese in China have no right to vote so you have a long long way to go before you can call our leader emperor or prince!!
So read yr history, know yourself, and speak wisely. Let others respect you for yr wisdom, kindness and generosity!! don let them fear you just because you are big.
Have a good day.
No one is questioning your pride in being a citizen of your PRC.The main point here is that you should never ever tell others how to behave when they visit another country.The whole issue started because your shallow-minded government cannot swallow their pride and admit that Taiwan has been in every sense an independant nation, save for an official proclamation.Pull away those wool from your eyes and look at the reality in the Straits today.Does "face" mean so much to you that you are willing to call the bluff and forsake all the progress you guys have built up just so that you can assuage your measly pride?Only when you fellas answer this question,can there be peace in the straits.Why force a country to return when they refuse to?Originally posted by go_china:First of all, I'm a citizen of PRC, and proud to be one.
Singapore, or for that matter, any other country has their rights to do what's in their best interest. BUT, DON"T STEP ON OTHERS TOES, or you're gonna have a foot in your ass.
I don't care if your Prince Lee's visit to our Taiwan province is official or unofficial. He made a carefully calculated political maneuver. And it backfired. So now you, as a country, will have to face the consequences. Don't like it?? Tell your Emperor Lee or Prince Lee to stop stick their noses in other people's business, or do you have any guts to say anything?
I'm a firm believer of asymmetric responses : be nice to me once, I'll be nice to you ten times; betray me once, I'll make sure you won't dare to do it again for the rest of your farting natural life.
Since when it was your toe? =) the 1949 stuff haven't ended lol..Originally posted by go_china:First of all, I'm a citizen of PRC, and proud to be one.
Originally posted by Qkool:may i ask u a question? how china had hurt so badly in the economy crisis by helping Asia? give more detail pls?
economy growth drop?
for what i know, china only stable the RMB..what hurt so bad?(pls correct me if im wrong)
i do agree china had help Asia,but China main is to help HK,dont forget 1997 HK just return to china..they must defend HK economy.
yes,as chinese.it hurt to learn china been bully by other from 100yr back.
i do feel lucky ..for US supporting singapore in Trade and military.
i do feel lucky for england for helping us for water and indepandent.
i do feel lucky for Israel for help us to build our army.
i really think china is a peaceful friend..really .
but no few missiles aim at taiwan? it 400 missiles leh..
just think you are taiwanese? how you feel?
pls dont only look from china view .
and don't forget the SARS yet...have china aid singapore? taiwan?
ya...he have aid HK,and dont even have any word of apologise
from SARS.
so what when chairman HU want to donate $ to asia to fight against SARS?
japan also aid many $$$ to china,but they still own china an apologise.
You dont need to express you understanding on the China past, whatever you do or not, believe me, China is not like you imaging now.Please elaborate
I dont question your feeling lucky, any country must own trade, army and water. But it is not easy to say that is a "help" or a "business".I don't understand
Answer me: Did China ask any type, any piece of reward for her efforts during the crisis?
As to SARS, personal opinion, it is better for Singaporeans not to mention, especially to China. China has never intended to create any virus, and announced the unknown virus at first time. If there is any government or organization ignored or did not believe our government's announcement, then it is not what China can control. Like AIDS, the first case happened in US and now thousands of lives lost, but nobody condemned US. People always have some logic in their behaviour.okie
However, however, dont forget what your PM has done and said to China. You Look at the whole world, at that time, can you find the second country like Singapore to treat China in that way? If someone forgot, see below.Wat has PM done and said to China ? BTW, I find the below report biase and very inaccurate.. even the proposed motives for his visit seems to be ridiculous... Frankly do u think LHL is dumb... he is certain to be PM, why purposely create trouble for himself to become "famous" ? Frankly does tis argument hold any water ? It is like putting sh!t on my face before receiving a prize in a prize giving ceremony. Do people do tat ? Also he falsely accuse singapore of supporting taiwan independence... do we do tat ? I think the report is really off the point
PM Goh is the first and only country leader who refused to visit to China, whiles PM of France and DM of India went to China in plan.Frankly, I never seems to have heard tis comment from PM goh before. Can u offer me some objective info to read ? Something seems to be funny... I thought Wen jia Bao and Goh Chok Tong is at the ASEAN summit on SARS on 30 April ?
On May 2, PM Goh announced in public that China will spend 2 or 3 years to fight SARs and "do not put eggs in the same basket".
In fact, only half year, and more and more investments went into China. In fact, most of countries gave various aids to China including UK, Germany, Japan, Korea and even US. They knew that this is a battle between virus and human being.
But, but, where is our friend, Singapore? Not willing to support , that 's Ok, why attack?
I also invite all of you who want to make the thing clear to see the paper published in your Zaobao website. http://www.zaobao.com/yl/yl505_210704.htmlMy comments on your report is given above. Please ponder on it...
I would like to say that the thing about your DPM is clear enough, the rest things are whether you can really understand, and what your government will behave.