Sorry, just could not get the exact meaning of "my two cents worth".Originally posted by LazerLordz:Business can never be conducted without a country whose politics are friendly towards it.However, the mixture gets volatile at times.Just my two cents worth.
Mate.. look, say it again.. i really do not like you garble my comments into pieces. indeed. and please keep your reply a little compact, would you mind doing that? many thanks.Originally posted by BaByBoY:
We may be small but it does not mean we are nothing to the world.I'm not saying our nation should go around trumpeting recklessy, but we do have a say in its workings, however small.To take a stand requires guts.We do not know how our decision will turn out but to me personally, I would back Taiwan over China for the simple reason that Taiwan was the victim from day One.Furthermore, no matter how screwed up the Taiwanese political scene might be, at least you do not see the remnantsof a police state lingering behind the business vibrancy of the coastal regions of China.Democracy in any form would be preferable to the totalitarian regime of China who seeks even to jail Dr Jiang , who blew the whistle on the SARS cover-up.That is not the hallmark of good governance.Originally posted by j28w32:Sorry, just could not get the exact meaning of "my two cents worth".
yes. you are right. business is always related with politics and racial issue. Maybe you do not want to admit it.
but there is another issue that at crunch time which side you are on. it will determine a country's future, and face whatever the consequence, good or bad, derived from the decision a country has made. that is why i say singapore is quite understandably shifty. You reckon singapore has made the right decision right now?
Once again, nobody expects your sigaporeans to support china. to be honest, the strength from such a tiny city country could not do any good for such a big issue like the competition of living space in the future world. For your own sake, just keep your mind and efforts onto the business and make singaporean people living happily. that is the only realistic thing this country is capable to do. Do not try to get into sth which is totally beyond your capacity.
there is nothing like "Guts" in this matter. As singaporean started to take a position against china.. in this conflict, i think china is underdog compared with Americans. It does take your guts to support china but not taiwan. So your statement that Taiwan is victim does not stand. Taiwan is just a little pawn manipulated by USA.Originally posted by LazerLordz:We may be small but it does not mean we are nothing to the world.I'm not saying our nation should go around trumpeting recklessy, but we do have a say in its workings, however small.To take a stand requires guts.We do not know how our decision will turn out but to me personally, I would back Taiwan over China for the simple reason that Taiwan was the victim from day One.Furthermore, no matter how screwed up the Taiwanese political scene might be, at least you do not see the remnantsof a police state lingering behind the business vibrancy of the coastal regions of China.Democracy in any form would be preferable to the totalitarian regime of China who seeks even to jail Dr Jiang , who blew the whistle on the SARS cover-up.That is not the hallmark of good governance.
airite.Originally posted by j28w32:Mate.. look, say it again.. i really do not like you garble my comments into pieces. indeed. and please keep your reply a little compact, would you mind doing that? many thanks.
i`m glad u actually catch the point at allOriginally posted by j28w32:Partially agree with what you are saying..the difference among people is always there.. even among singaporeans.
The point i would like to make in here... on this topic is : guys try to use the words like "condemn" or "boycott".. Do you think that doing so is really because made-in-china product is shitty? Is it just purely product quality issue in most of people's mind in this forum? I doubt it. It is totally out of political reason.
Nobody expects your singaporeans standing up for PRC as long as you are not against it for bloody no reason. If somebody just tries to take any chance to sneak his idea of putting chinese down, this opinion is supposed to be "condemned" other than crappy chinese product. Business is business. if a certain kind of product can be sold on the market at whatever the pricce it should be, that means this product is viable on the market. But your guys are not just talking about business but politics or country or people instead.
Well, the method of political succession here is something I never agreed with.You mention that China are the underdogs.That doesn't give them the right to lash out.It'll make their own postion worse off and give their opponents fuel and ammo.Ever wondered why Taiwan became a willing "pawn"?Given a choice, when faced with a nuclear-armed neighbour which has been threatening nothing less than full reunification?I would say Taiwan was wiser being the pawn of the Americans rather than the Chinese.Will you return to a house whose host has turned out the big guns on you when you left the living room and is threatening to shoot you?And after all, its the same host who deemed you unwelcome and unworthy(RF: Communist eviction of the KMT govt in 1949).It simple does not make sense for Taiwan to reunify, especially if its on terms which are dictated by China.She is clouded by the outfashioned thinking that by using force on Taiwan, she can reunify it and its populace will erupt in happiness like in some propaganda poster from Pyongyang.Illogical thinking like this only hurts the region and will not prosper China.Originally posted by j28w32:there is nothing like "Guts" in this matter. As singaporean started to take a position against china.. in this conflict, i think china is underdog compared with Americans. It does take your guts to support china but not taiwan. So your statement that Taiwan is victim does not stand. Taiwan is just a little pawn manipulated by USA.
As to the political system, china certainly is not the wonderful case.. but i recokon singaporean is not doing fantastic job either. at least those chinese goverment leader does not let their son to succeed their position. what happened in singapore is the worst case in the world.. that is feudalism. Don't you think so? or there is something like censorship in this regard in your country, and you would not say?
to be honest, i just could not read through your comments.. just not used to the way you use so many colorful thing. it is very distracting indeed. no offence. many thanks.Originally posted by BaByBoY:airite.
is that all u can say about my comments ??
well u get wat u wished for.. i`ll not fragmentise ur comments..Originally posted by j28w32:Just do not know where that 95% is coming from? Based on your accurate calculation or sth??
you reckon chinese living in malaysia are not second class? In my opinion, it is even worse.
Is it possible that chinese can become the top head in a public company in that country?? As a chinese can you get equal opportunity of entry or funds as others like malays , let us say when you want to get advanced education in university??
buddy,, a strong man shall to face up the reality, not avoid it. You reckon i am exaggerating the situation of chinese living in malasia?? right? I think you just have got no idea about what kind of thing is called discrimination. Maybe you are so used to it as your knees are always on the ground.
bullshlt ..all of my friends all experienced life as 2nd class citizensOriginally posted by Qitai:I am afriad what you said about second class citizen in Malaysia is not true. I am a Malaysian Chinese and have never felt that way before. Also, I travel a lot and have no problem telling others that I am a Chinese Malaysian living mostly in Singapore. I do not feel prejudice at all.
In interacting with the world, you just need to show your respect to others opinion and culture and they will respect you. When you do that, people will be willing to share and help you. If you do not respect others, it does not matter what race you are, they will not respect you. You are 95% judged by your own action then your race or nationality.
i don care much who u support here..Originally posted by SibeiSuayKia:bullshlt ..all of my friends all experienced life as 2nd class citizens
Bumiputra policies and i have this personal experience
of being bullied by almost 10 pple malay gang as i walk thru a shopping center in KL..
of course la i cfm lose so i just walk away lor
the reason why i say china is underdog is because you mention sth like "guts". In my opinion, there is no such thing like "right or not" in this matter. That is related with the competition about the living space for the chinese people. I noticed you used the word "wiser". in my understanding you are not trying to convince me with "right or wrong". it is "wise.. it means taiwan will benefit from what they are doing in there.. as they have got much stronger country to rely on but not china. you reckon it is gutful or gutless behaviour? if Japan were in the situation, taiwan will lean towards japanese. even though chinese have got such a strong sentiment against japanese because of what they have done against chinese in the past. As to the justice, taiwan is chinese territority, isn't that right? i would not think you will argue about this. and if this "country" will take the side of chinese would-be enemy, what chinese will do? I really do not know how much you know about china. if your judgement is still based on the so called regime, that would be very very dangerous. Assume china is "democratic" country, it will do the same thing when in current situation. Once again, it is not all about regime, but all about whole nation. and i suppose that a lot taiwaness are holding the same opinion as you do. but to me they will put themselves into a big diaster in the nearly future.. as a showdown time is coming shortly in this matter.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Well, the method of political succession here is something I never agreed with.You mention that China are the underdogs.That doesn't give them the right to lash out.It'll make their own postion worse off and give their opponents fuel and ammo.Ever wondered why Taiwan became a willing "pawn"?Given a choice, when faced with a nuclear-armed neighbour which has been threatening nothing less than full reunification?I would say Taiwan was wiser being the pawn of the Americans rather than the Chinese.Will you return to a house whose host has turned out the big guns on you when you left the living room and is threatening to shoot you?And after all, its the same host who deemed you unwelcome and unworthy(RF: Communist eviction of the KMT govt in 1949).It simple does not make sense for Taiwan to reunify, especially if its on terms which are dictated by China.She is clouded by the outfashioned thinking that by using force on Taiwan, she can reunify it and its populace will erupt in happiness like in some propaganda poster from Pyongyang.Illogical thinking like this only hurts the region and will not prosper China.
If he feels that he is not treated as a 2nd class citizen, so be it. Why must you condemn his views with a blatent bullshitOriginally posted by SibeiSuayKia:yes greengoblin
i oso see no point defending against our friendly neighbour!
haiz!
den i think we would have wasted our time training for jungle warfare liao lor!
i think ar we should train for desert warfare instead..
coz our enemies is located on deserts lor : Al-Qaeda
Haiz i surely tell my CO next time so we can change from jungle warfare to desert storm warfare
and shlt we wasted our money buying green camo uniform
i think we should have 1 desert storm uni and 1 green camo uniform oso leh!
For sure, not bringing malaysia.. talking about malaysia is just giving an example. nothing specific. if you want to have a opinion about the current issue in this region, you have to look at the big picture. not just about the things in sg, otherwise, you would complain about the rise in the electricity bill, the worsening traffic condition etc.Originally posted by BaByBoY:i don care much who u support here..
plz do not bring in malaysia.. unless u wan to be associated w them too
malaysia haf their own set of rules and problems
pls compare to the right context if u really haf the need to do so
lolOriginally posted by greengoblin:If he feels that he is not treated as a 2nd class citizen, so be it. Why must you condemn his views with a blatent bullshit? And the topic here is on China Products.... stick to it and not diverge to some other topics. If you wish to do so... go to my buddy's forum at Military Nuts or start a new topic
There will be more than enough people willing to entertain you
BTW your CO does not buy or issue the uniforms![]()
you think condemn and boycott are strong words?Originally posted by j28w32:Partially agree with what you are saying..the difference among people is always there.. even among singaporeans.
The point i would like to make in here... on this topic is : guys try to use the words like "condemn" or "boycott".. Do you think that doing so is really because made-in-china product is shitty? Is it just purely product quality issue in most of people's mind in this forum? I doubt it. It is totally out of political reason.
Nobody expects your singaporeans standing up for PRC as long as you are not against it for bloody no reason. If somebody just tries to take any chance to sneak his idea of putting chinese down, this opinion is supposed to be "condemned" other than crappy chinese product. Business is business. if a certain kind of product can be sold on the market at whatever the pricce it should be, that means this product is viable on the market. But your guys are not just talking about business but politics or country or people instead.
you know, i keep asking about this while i was serving ns but no one ever gave me an acceptable answerOriginally posted by SibeiSuayKia:yes greengoblin
haiz!
Haiz i surely tell my CO next time so we can change from jungle warfare to desert storm warfare
i think we should have 1 desert storm uni and 1 green camo uniform oso leh!![]()
anyway...with regards to CN..i think that we must be firm in terms of dealing with them...
China will be the next superpower..and i don't wish to see the world's top country is a communist
coz if the top is communist..the same thing will be established..
like Cold War..
Spending billions and sending armies to convert nations into communism
that is very dangerous!!
They might have a capitalist economic system but a communism political system...but the 2nd 1 is the more dangerous 1!!
coz when communism takes over..you will be living like in north-korea..
ITS basically having a life being governed by NS-5..
for those who watch i,Robot ...
so we must help china to be a democracy..so that taiwan will come join them
and hk will be more pleased...america will see china as friend too!
i`m rather fine w ppl givin examples.. but i do make sure they are used in the correct context. i won be comparing Sg to China like i`m comparing a diamond to a big but useless rockOriginally posted by j28w32:For sure, not bringing malaysia.. talking about malaysia is just giving an example. nothing specific. if you want to have a opinion about the current issue in this region, you have to look at the big picture. not just about the things in sg, otherwise, you would complain about the rise in the electricity bill, the worsening traffic condition etc.
all what i have put in here is only for one thing, as chinese, we should be in one group for the interests of all whole chinese people wherever he lives.
i am not defending the ugly chinese political system. As taiwang issue is all about nation. by the way, singapore is not a democratic country in any sense. but your singaporean are still supporting this country and hope everything is being done in the best interests of it. similarly as a chinese from china orginally, i also support chinese government in dealing the issue of Taiwan. since at this moment i am thinking that doing so will benefit all chinese, even though i am totally opposed to chinese communist party. But that is completely different issue.
Well.. I do not want to explain too much on the 95%. I can only say I have no problem moving around in different countries (not as tourist but a common folk on the street). Have it ever occur to you that you are partially responsible for how people respond to you?Originally posted by j28w32:Just do not know where that 95% is coming from? Based on your accurate calculation or sth??
you reckon chinese living in malaysia are not second class? In my opinion, it is even worse.
Is it possible that chinese can become the top head in a public company in that country?? As a chinese can you get equal opportunity of entry or funds as others like malays , let us say when you want to get advanced education in university??
buddy,, a strong man shall to face up the reality, not avoid it. You reckon i am exaggerating the situation of chinese living in malasia?? right? I think you just have got no idea about what kind of thing is called discrimination. Maybe you are so used to it as your knees are always on the ground.
yes, you right.. i am a chinese.. oversea chinese. probably like your father..Originally posted by oldbreadstinks:you think condemn and boycott are strong words?
wtf i thought you're chinese, haven't you read what's in the forums in your beloved BIG country?
as for standing up for PRC, my dad's kind of a china fan ,he belongs to the generation that still feels loyalty to china ( in his sixties)
ever since i was 6(no memory of previous ages)
i noticed my dad's always watching documentarys on china and reading up on china, i dare say if china's involve in a war with USA , he might even sign up to fight if he's younger and doesn't have a family to support, he doesn't care about china's economic prospects and all that crap people are going on about when they say they like china
to him , china's like his homeland or something despite the fact that he's sixty+ and has probably never set foot on china, how's that for support for China?
but now, even he is standing on SG's side for this stupid crappy issue you chinese brought up just to show sg that we're just a TINY country which does not have the right to our own interests
you know, i keep asking about this while i was serving ns but no one ever gave me an acceptable answerOriginally posted by SibeiSuayKia:yes greengoblin
haiz!
i think we should have 1 desert storm uni and 1 green camo uniform oso leh!![]()
anyway...with regards to CN..i think that we must be firm in terms of dealing with them...
China will be the next superpower..and i don't wish to see the world's top country is a communist
coz if the top is communist..the same thing will be established..
like Cold War..
Spending billions and sending armies to convert nations into communism
that is very dangerous!!
They might have a capitalist economic system but a communism political system...but the 2nd 1 is the more dangerous 1!!
coz when communism takes over..you will be living like in north-korea..
ITS basically having a life being governed by NS-5..
for those who watch i,Robot ...
so we must help china to be a democracy..so that taiwan will come join them
and hk will be more pleased...america will see china as friend too!
buddy,, let me tell you a thing,, you are just another chinese, typically good at comforting yourself. in terms of money. like japanese they are rich for sure,, you reckong they get respect from whites or other ethinic group of people?? Do not be silly. but it is always good to think positive and know how to comfort yourself in such a cowardly way. as you are avoiding the truth.Originally posted by Qitai:Well.. I do not want to explain too much on the 95%. I can only say I have no problem moving around in different countries (not as tourist but a common folk on the street). Have it ever occur to you that you are partially responsible for how people respond to you?
As for the situation in Malaysia, again, I shall not explain too much. I will just say that the Chinese Malaysian are doing much better than the Malay Malaysian. I do not know what kind of discrimination is this when the Chinese has bigger cars, house and everything compared to the Malays. If second class citizens means those things, I guess I do not mind being a second class citizen.
Lastly, I am amazed by the fact that someone overseas is telling me, a Malaysian, that I am being discriminated in Malaysia when I said I am not.