mind telling the meaning of "angmor", "wat", "noe", "peepur", "oso" ?? many thanks.. just curious..Originally posted by cunnibal:I really cannot stand chinese singaporean who act as though they do not have chinese ancestry, like the Zheng family of Joochiat - quote from old uncle zheng '...I dun understand mandarin...' and he say it with an air of arrogance - i know many singaporean has the same type of atitude and mentality, they thought that by denoucing their chinese-ness and by speaking their broken and laughable english(which to them is perfect), it makes them very ang mor.
Little do they know that they are the laughing stock that Ang Mors make fun of in their little potluck parties. I've came across these couple of American ladies when I was working in American club making fun of the way a singaporean auntie spoke on the MRT - for all u noe, the s'porean auntie may be thinking that "U see, I showed the angmor lady that I oso can speak English, wat!" without knowing that in actual fact, she is just making a fool out of herself.
I always feel that if you can't even master ur own mother tongue, or attempt to master it, and know your own culture, how can you demand respect from others? I'm sorry for the strong words, but I despise peepur who despise their own language and culture.
Dunno if this problem exist among our Malay and indian brothers? do u have peepur of ur own race who are like these chinese counterparts?
I hate Taiwan Chinese who think they are Angmoh, Hong Kong Chinese who think hey are Angmoh, Koreans who think they are ANgmoh, Japs who think they are AngmohOriginally posted by cunnibal:I really cannot stand chinese singaporean who act as though they do not have chinese ancestry, like the Zheng family of Joochiat - quote from old uncle zheng '...I dun understand mandarin...' and he say it with an air of arrogance - i know many singaporean has the same type of atitude and mentality, they thought that by denoucing their chinese-ness and by speaking their broken and laughable english(which to them is perfect), it makes them very ang mor.
Little do they know that they are the laughing stock that Ang Mors make fun of in their little potluck parties. I've came across these couple of American ladies when I was working in American club making fun of the way a singaporean auntie spoke on the MRT - for all u noe, the s'porean auntie may be thinking that "U see, I showed the angmor lady that I oso can speak English, wat!" without knowing that in actual fact, she is just making a fool out of herself.
I always feel that if you can't even master ur own mother tongue, or attempt to master it, and know your own culture, how can you demand respect from others? I'm sorry for the strong words, but I despise peepur who despise their own language and culture.
Dunno if this problem exist among our Malay and indian brothers? do u have peepur of ur own race who are like these chinese counterparts?
our what?Originally posted by SibeiSuayKia:wah...wads so bad about being chinese?
the largest population on earth wor
next time we will look down upon ang mo kia..
they will follow our culture soon hahahahahahahah
So..do you hate Americans who think that Jap fashion is cool and wann dress liek them and act like them?Globalization man..Like it or not, homogeneity is the buzzword and it is here to stay.Fundamentalism will die and it will be eradicated in due time.Sad or not, we have no say in this.Originally posted by the.raven:I hate Taiwan Chinese who think they are Angmoh, Hong Kong Chinese who think hey are Angmoh, Koreans who think they are ANgmoh, Japs who think they are Angmoh
I am curious too.Originally posted by j28w32:mind telling the meaning of "angmor", "wat", "noe", "peepur", "oso" ?? many thanks.. just curious..
what "our"?!Originally posted by SibeiSuayKia:wah...wads so bad about being chinese?
the largest population on earth wor
next time we will look down upon ang mo kia..
they will follow our culture soon hahahahahahahah
joe sixpack: so are you japanese or chinese?Originally posted by elindra:Not getting worked up
But its pretty funny really
Because they never believe me when I say I'm Asian
Or they go something like:
"Really? You mean you guys speak English in Singapore" Duh
actually i don't think they find it weird , they do have a lot of abcs who can't speak chineseOriginally posted by YaoRockets:joe sixpack: so are you japanese or chinese?
elindra: I am singaporean.
joe sixpack: uh ... are you japanese or chinese?
elindra thinking "wft?!"
joe sixpack thinking " man this is weird shit, a chink who can't speak his own language!"
thinking its cool is one thing, wanting to be something u are not is another. dont confuse the 2 thingsOriginally posted by LazerLordz:So..do you hate Americans who think that Jap fashion is cool and wann dress liek them and act like them?Globalization man..Like it or not, homogeneity is the buzzword and it is here to stay.Fundamentalism will die and it will be eradicated in due time.Sad or not, we have no say in this.
..........Originally posted by YaoRockets:joe sixpack: so are you japanese or chinese?
elindra: I am singaporean.
joe sixpack: uh ... are you japanese or chinese?
elindra thinking "wft?!"
joe sixpack thinking " man this is weird shit, a chink who can't speak his own language!"
Very well said, Joshua. The Frenchman will also tell you that French language is part of their culture.Originally posted by Joshua1975:haha, many not ABC, but act like onewhy arh???
joke of the earth leh, which English man dun speak English, which Malay man dun speak Malay, but in Singapore we have many Chinese (hau ren) dun speak Mandarin (hau yu)
Can we or should we call them S'pore CBA ~ Singapore Chinese Born AngMor.
Globalization does not mean homogeneity !!! Those Anti-globalization demonstrators are not fundamentalists!Originally posted by LazerLordz:So..do you hate Americans who think that Jap fashion is cool and wann dress liek them and act like them?Globalization man..Like it or not, homogeneity is the buzzword and it is here to stay.Fundamentalism will die and it will be eradicated in due time.Sad or not, we have no say in this.
Shades of Southpark here.Originally posted by laurence82:Blame Canada!
Tee heeOriginally posted by shandower:Shades of Southpark here.![]()
Originally posted by sgdiehard:Globalization does not mean homogeneity !!! Those Anti-globalization demonstrators are not fundamentalists!
People now are really conscious about their identity when they are among people of different kind, and they want to know where do they belong. Attend any international meetings and you will find, outside of the meeting proper all languages are spoken and people feel better talking to people of the same kind. Even Shanghainese started talking to each other in Shanghainess, instead of mandarin. The only people who continue to speak english are the american, the british and the Auzi. But do you think these yankees, brits and Auzi will take you as one of them just because you speak english? You should find out.
the Jap will feel proud that the americans want to dress like them, but they are american and not japanese. We have been wearing western clothing and speak english for decades, it never make us westerners.
What is precious is the content, not the cover or the wrapping.
many s'porean will speak with a lame half-cooked crappy ameRican accent, (with a blind emphasis on all the Rrrrrs....) in the presence of yanks, brits or auzis - how shallow can they get?Originally posted by sgdiehard:Globalization does not mean homogeneity !!! Those Anti-globalization demonstrators are not fundamentalists!
People now are really conscious about their identity when they are among people of different kind, and they want to know where do they belong. Attend any international meetings and you will find, outside of the meeting proper all languages are spoken and people feel better talking to people of the same kind. Even Shanghainese started talking to each other in Shanghainess, instead of mandarin. The only people who continue to speak english are the american, the british and the Auzi. But do you think these yankees, brits and Auzi will take you as one of them just because you speak english? You should find out.
the Jap will feel proud that the americans want to dress like them, but they are american and not japanese. We have been wearing western clothing and speak english for decades, it never make us westerners.
What is precious is the content, not the cover or the wrapping.
where r u from?Originally posted by j28w32:mind telling the meaning of "angmor", "wat", "noe", "peepur", "oso" ?? many thanks.. just curious..
correction: Peranakans are Straits-born Chinese, but most of the older generations nyonyas and babas do not speak chinese because they don't have to take Chinese in school back in the old days. The main languages they speak are Malay, and the dialect, usually Hokkien.Originally posted by cunnibal:really? most peranakan I know have chinese as their mother tongue, but maybe these are peepur of my generation...
em, correction, i think u mean mandarin...hokkien is also chinese, so technically ur grandpas can speak chinese tooOriginally posted by skinnybeanie:correction: Peranakans are Straits-born Chinese, but most of the older generations nyonyas and babas do not speak chinese because they don't have to take Chinese in school back in the old days. The main languages they speak are Malay, and the dialect, usually Hokkien.
Only we, the modern Peranakans, can speak chinese.
correction....Originally posted by cunnibal:em, correction, i think u mean mandarin...hokkien is also chinese, so technically ur grandpas can speak chinese too![]()