Combative Korean labour unions is that a good example for you.Originally posted by reyes:anyone ever ponder what is the role of our worker union? does tripatite really exist in singapore and will anyone care for labour movement in singapore.
i really question the function and role of NTUC play in our labour movement. impartiality of NTUC.
my question:
1. why union leaders from NTUC need to join PAP. isnt union to stand alone and just fight solely for the benefits for the workers iregardless who is in power? of coz they may explain by working inside PAP they can get opinion of workers to the party more easily. i say, so that the party can control the union more easily.
can anymore share their experience with labour movement in another country as compare to ours?
i white collar worker and not eligible to join union in my industry. but i really concern for the stage of our union. to some ppl, they cant even distinguish between NTUC and PAP. to such extend NTUC to some ppl are basically supermarket chain that offer points redemption for members.
but NTUC isn't doing anything for them if its rights you're talking about, its just relocating them or retraining them for another jobOriginally posted by tspg:Combative Korean labour unions is that a good example for you.
SG depends a lot on foreign investment a combative union will scare a lot of them away. Will that be good for us ?
Union is for blue collar workers because they tend to be the less educated cohort and needs the help of the union to protect their rights and that they are fairly treated.
As for white-collar workers you can approach MOM or seek a lawyer if you have any grievances.
Hope I have answered your questions. Thank you.
Originally posted by sgboy2004:it has been so long ago tat the post of "M without portfolio" has been relinquished....where were someone when it happened? in a welll??? whahahahhahaa.... tok lor
Originally posted by sgboy2004:why ask motive if one care less... tok lor ...wahahahhahaha
whahahah... *take dictionary to try to understand wat u toking....dun understand.... disappear *Originally posted by the Bear:again, you have destroyed a discussion with your incessant nonsense...
that is the reason why.. personally vendettas with me, i don't care.. you don't exist in the real world anyway... trying my damnest to not be part of anything that causes discussions to come to a halt because of your nonsense... mayhap i can prevent it...
enough of the reptile...
back to the politics bit...
why should a union leader be part of politics?
and what the heck was a minister without portfolio about?
further BS from the reptile will be ignored by me... you guys wanna have a go, go ahead...
During the recession some employers didnt pay wages on time or didnt pay their CPF. The union take against the errant employers. The union also help retrench workers find new jobs and retraining as you mention.Originally posted by oldbreadstinks:but NTUC isn't doing anything for them if its rights you're talking about, its just relocating them or retraining them for another job
which recession? in the current one the union didn't seem to be helping much in preventing retrenchmentsOriginally posted by tspg:During the recession some employers didnt pay wages on time or didnt pay their CPF. The union take against the errant employers. The union also help retrench workers find new jobs and retraining as you mention.
What rights are you talking about, can clarify or give some examples? Thank You. The right I am talking about is the right to receive fair wages for work done.
BTW I am not PAP supporter but I am a union member.
The union is the union, PAP is PAP I think you are lumping the two together.Originally posted by oldbreadstinks:which recession? in the current one the union didn't seem to be helping much in preventing retrenchments
to me , NTUC's turning into something more of a country club for the poor rather than a union
just look at the stuff they keep coming up with
same as our MPs ,they used to be people we elected to voice our opinions in the govt.
but now? they're more busy helping children stay in school by interfering with how the schools are runned
maybe if they spend more time running the area they're in charge off , the charges wouldn't go up
Haiz .... I tot thats my last post.Originally posted by the Bear:tspg, i remember someone was forced out of the union movement because he was a member of the opposition...
see that happening to the PAP members? i have not...
Originally posted by tspg:Haiz .... I tot thats my last post.
Maybe we should look at why he was forced out instead of looking at his party affilations. If he is the trouble maker type like Chee or that pilot from Alpha S, then I dun think any would be surprised that he is forced out.
He was a stumbling block in the negotiation between Alpha S and SIA .The other unions have accept the paycuts and other measures to help SIA tide around. The pilots of Alpha S refuse to do so and he was the one inciting them. If the pilots were to go on strike, the repurcussion will not only be felt in SIA, but throughout SG economy.Originally posted by the Bear:alpha S?
you mean the roger fella?
what did he do wrong?
Originally posted by tspg:He was a stumbling block in the negotiation between Alpha S and SIA .The other unions have accept the paycuts and other measures to help SIA tide around. The pilots of Alpha S refuse to do so and he was the one inciting them. If the pilots were to go on strike, the repurcussion will not only be felt in SIA, but throughout SG economy.
Never like pilot union. Earn so much and still always complain they earn not enough. And it has happen in so many airlines that these pilots are willing to go on strike just for their own sake, allowing the airline to lose millions of dollars EVERYDAY just to get more $$ for themselves.Originally posted by the Bear:alpha S?
you mean the roger fella?
what did he do wrong?
My stand is based on the role of the union as a whole. In that aspect I feel that the union has done a good job. If people want to criticise individuals, it is not fair to point finger at the entire union.Originally posted by the Bear:so, are you saying that we should accept being taken for a ride by our union leaders who tell us that we must be happy being financially sodomised?
oh, fyi, the AUPE "union leaders" and their families went to Perth for their "retreat"... i know coz someone i know went on that "working trip"...
Originally posted by tspg:My stand is based on the role of the union as a whole. In that aspect I feel that the union has done a good job. If people want to criticise individuals, it is not fair to point finger at the entire union.
If you have other juicy bits of gossip to share, feel free to air them here.