For transportation, it a service and ppl pay for the service if not you drive yourself, car there are cheap and can drive for a long long time without COE.Originally posted by GwenSilvz:Just comparing with sydney...
eating out wise, Singapore's definitely cheaper focusing just on hawker/food court. Average $4 a meal compared to $10 over there. Prices in restaurants are about the same. $25 for main dish?
As for transportation, Singapore has it's reason for the sky high taxes; to curb congestions. In conjunction to that, public transports are actually cheap relative to australia where it can cost up to $10 for a 45 minutes subway ride and $3 for a 5-10 minutes bus ride. Travelling from one place to another is also an ease here via public transport. Singaporeans don't really need cars.
Can you substantiate that?Originally posted by Joshua1975:I just feel that ppl in Singapore be it you are the operators or consumer, you pay to the garment more than you pay for the services
Dun know can this call substantiate or not why I feel that ppl in Singapore be it you are the operators or consumer, you pay to the garment more than you pay for the servicesOriginally posted by Qitai:Can you substantiate that?
I know this is true for Cars (130% tax (was 171% tax) + COE). But others.........I do not think so.
I try to be objective here, okay.Originally posted by Joshua1975:Look at the night food stall or what you call it the DA PAI DANG. It kick off at $7,500 per/mth on the rantal and after the good respond from the public, out of good will 'they' extent the period to 02/2005 and the rent oso get an extention goes up to $11,500. So can I say that consumer or operators, we are paying more to the garment?
The $7,500 is given by the stall operators when reporters interview them. The average cost of renting a stall in other areas such as kopithiam and markets is not cheap also. Rentals are the main cost in these business and the cost is past on to the consumers. Govt collect most of the money and consumers end up absorbing the cost while the businessman is just earning enough to get by. I think Jos is looking at it from that angle.Originally posted by Qitai:I try to be objective here, okay.
Where you get the $7,500 per/mth from? If you are refering to the pasar malam popping up all over the island in recent years. Then the figures goes like this.
SLA charge event organizer $0.65-$1.80 psm per day. Then event organizer charge rental to stall holder. Example, if the pasar malam goes on for 1 month in sub-urban area with an area of 5000 square metres, SLA charge the organizer $0.90*5000*30=$135,000. The organizer then sets everything up and charge the stall holder rentals. If the event organizer charge $7,500 per stall and assuming he can accomodate 100 stalls (average 50 square metres - i.e. half your HDB size), then he will get $750,000!!!! So, the event organizer Dua Tan!!!
If you are refering to something else, then please be more precise, can?
You can get the SLA figures from here
http://www.sla.gov.sg/what_we_do/fees_and_charges_land_management.html
I am refering to Orchard Road Carpark Gluttons Square ExtensionOriginally posted by Qitai:I try to be objective here, okay.
Where you get the $7,500 per/mth from? If you are refering to the pasar malam popping up all over the island in recent years. Then the figures goes like this.
SLA charge event organizer $0.65-$1.80 psm per day. Then event organizer charge rental to stall holder. Example, if the pasar malam goes on for 1 month in sub-urban area with an area of 5000 square metres, SLA charge the organizer $0.90*5000*30=$135,000. The organizer then sets everything up and charge the stall holder rentals. If the event organizer charge $7,500 per stall and assuming he can accomodate 100 stalls (average 50 square metres - i.e. half your HDB size), then he will get $750,000!!!! So, the event organizer Dua Tan!!!
If you are refering to something else, then please be more precise, can?
You can get the SLA figures from here
http://www.sla.gov.sg/what_we_do/fees_and_charges_land_management.html
Orr.... I understand now you refering to the example in orchard road. But to me, that is still limited example since it does not represent the situation in whole of Singapore. Some of those Kopi thiam is own by private people one. I had one neighbour who owns one (and he and his wife damn sing nang, no need to work one).Originally posted by tspg:The $7,500 is given by the stall operators when reporters interview them. The average cost of renting a stall in other areas such as kopithiam and markets is not cheap also. Rentals are the main cost in these business and the cost is past on to the consumers. Govt collect most of the money and consumers end up absorbing the cost while the businessman is just earning enough to get by. I think Jos is looking at it from that angle.
is it? i think so oso la ie me businness man cost go up i just add on to you. so to say your lunch box will cost you $3-6, cloths $5 and barber $12?Originally posted by Qitai:... ... ... The cost of business is for the business people to worry about. What matters to me is that the lunch box cost me $2-4. The cloths I buy cost me $3 if I really want to buy cheap cheap. The barber cost me $8 if I go for the Indian/Malay barber.
I will grumble when that happens and start to check why those cost goes upOriginally posted by Joshua1975:is it? i think so oso la ie me businness man cost go up i just add on to you. so to say your lunch box will cost you $3-6, cloths $5 and barber $12?
Originally posted by Qitai:I will grumble when that happens and start to check why those cost goes up![]()
Originally posted by Qitai:
Agree that rental is one of the main cost of business with an outlet and sometimes, the property is own by the government.
Tuition.. never had them... but I earn a lot from it. I use to earn >$1000 even while I was a student. So, that is not a cost of living for me, but rather a source of income for meOriginally posted by gerrykoh:Food prices at hawker centres goes up esp. after upgrading. Now very rare to get $2 meal. Most meals at aircon foodcourts cost at least $6 (incl. 1 drink).
Pri- JC edn. may be cheap but if u consider tuition + extra CCA it is not. I know some families spend more than $1000 monthly just on tuition!
Pre-school & childcare edn. also not cheap. One friend says she spend $1300 p/mth to send her kid to Julia Gabriel.
Don't forget maid's levy, HDB maintenance, carpark/ECP/transport charges, PUB, GST, petrol/cigarette duty, car/housing loan (these 2 most expensive) etc. All these adds up to quite a lot. U don't take home much of yr salary after CPF cut
local salary for a common man in Bali < SGD200Originally posted by ratinacage:locally brewed beer in Bali- SGD1.50
seafood meal in a nice cozy restuarant in Bali - SGD12 for 2 person(includes crabs and prawns + local beer)
common food for the local in Bali- SGD0.40 per person
taxi ride fro app. 45km - SGD6.00
a handmade beaded braclet- SGD0.60
u go do the math..
But if you look at the average salary of blue collar worker $1000 +. The cost of living is high. Basic items like food and transport shd be kept affordable.Originally posted by Qitai:Tuition.. never had them... but I earn a lot from it. I use to earn >$1000 even while I was a student. So, that is not a cost of living for me, but rather a source of income for me
I think you can cut down some of your expenses if you want to. To me, cost of living only includes necessary items. Some people include their yearly tours in their cost of living and claim the cost of living is very high. For these people, even a $10K salary is not enough for them because they will probably increase their spending the moment their salary goes up.
no point really....Originally posted by Qitai:local salary for a common man in Bali < SGD200
what's your point?