my only response to it is....Originally posted by robertteh:It is a good and imaginative speech full of promises. Let's us hoped they will be carried out promptly to address problems posted in this forum. However, there was no mention of intention to lower costs or change the pro-foreign and pro-talent policies which caused some difficulties to the economy.
Any views and comments on this ?
This problem has been already started long long ago in ancient Civilisation till now..Which emperor or its prime minister LIVE with the commoners then report to the emperor how hard the life of the commoners are??Originally posted by robertteh:When an organization looks from the top, the problems on the ground look very small.
The speech seems to be of the same nature.
Previous Ex-PM's speeches were of the same nature as well.
How could people's problems be solved if leaders don't mingle and live with the people who could not make ends meet due to high costs.![]()
I remember Roanold Reagain's speeches. His were full of jovial optimism ..what a difference. There was hardly any contrivance.Originally posted by edseeker31:my only response to it is....
that was one of the worst speech by a PM that I've ever heard... with all the mispronunciations... isn't it also obvious he's having some kind of stage fright when you see him squirm when trying to break a smile... its so artificial... not the slightest bit warm and genuine...
sorry... but I still cannot picture him as our good leader... I can only hope he doesn't go screw up everything we've created and fought so hard for... just like how he had by going to Taiwan and pissing the Chinese off, just before taking over....
what a dick-head....
Historical perspective seems to be so as stated. People at the top or leaders are always preoccupied with big projects and concepts hardly any concerns with solving real problems.Originally posted by sans-culotte:This problem has been already started long long ago in ancient Civilisation till now..Which emperor or its prime minister LIVE with the commoners then report to the emperor how hard the life of the commoners are??
Unless you talking about Buddha who was once a prince...
Its kinda weird and unrealistic for a PM to be as benevolent like a Buddha.
Drafting speech is simple job lah, just write what the people want to hear lor......it is the execution that is difficult. Lets wait for the action. Got sound not action is like firing blanksOriginally posted by robertteh:It is a good and imaginative speech full of promises. Let's us hoped they will be carried out promptly to address problems posted in this forum. However, there was no mention of intention to lower costs or change the pro-foreign and pro-talent policies which caused some difficulties to the economy.
It is a good and imaginative speech full of promises. Let's us hoped they will be carried out promptly to address problems posted in this forum. However, there was no mention of intention to lower costs or change the pro-foreign and pro-talent policies which caused some difficulties to the economy.I dun tin he will want to lower cost.... He wans his government to learn more money from Singaporeans.... Maybe he will further increase the tax???
Cos he's old and he wanna go down in style. If Singapore get into trouble in future, it will be hard for him to step down.Originally posted by kaobeikaobu:wonder why Ah Goh stepped down?
LKY?Originally posted by SilverPal:Hey, I dunno if you guys notice, but ever since rumours went around that LHL is "harsh, rigid and dun understand the people", there was a huge campaign to "show his softer side"...
Like the CNY day news to wish the people well, joking with the people... etc...
Seems rather forced and staged.
Personally, I think LHL is a highly intelligent man, good leader and he learnt from the best... but I still prefer Mr Goh.
haven't you noticed that Lao Lee is already full of white hair and almost 80.... it may not be very long before he's gone... so this is about the time for his son to come into power and with him still around the regulate any obstructing "traffic" and exterminating any anti-LHL forces...Originally posted by kaobeikaobu:wonder why Ah Goh stepped down?
I guess?Originally posted by oldbreadstinks:LKY?
Yah, what is a promise if it falls short of addressing pressing issues and problems faced by most citizens like high costs, unemployment or the past "Ta T'ong Siau Kan" - self sacrifice for the country - policy.Originally posted by SnowFlag:btw, what did LHL promise?
So did he promise anything?Originally posted by robertteh:Yah, what is a promise if it falls short of addressing pressing issues and problems faced by most citizens like high costs, unemployment or the past "Ta T'ong Siau Kan" - self sacrifice for the country - policy.
At least acknowledge those problems constantly the subject of feedbacks given by people of all walks of life - not just forumnites but housewives, heartlanders and radio listeners.![]()