In those cases, you are eitherOriginally posted by Medicated Oil:I am not saying that diploma holders cannot find a job.
But, I have observed that for some companies, the reason for not promoting a diploma holders that have years of experience is that they dun have paper qualification.
I dun dispute that some companies does recognise experience in a staff.
But, they will prefer getting pple with more paper qualification for the job.
probably.....for civil service...Originally posted by Medicated Oil:I am not saying that diploma holders cannot find a job.
But, I have observed that for some companies, the reason for not promoting a diploma holders that have years of experience is that they dun have paper qualification.
if u insist on such pessimistic view, it's no wonder u wun go farOriginally posted by Xenthar:BUT PLEASE REMEMBER THAT WITHOUT A DEGREE, THERE WON'T EVEN BE A DOOR TO GO THROUGH IN THE FIRST PLACE FOR MANY OF US.
Originally posted by FireIce:probably.....for civil service...
but it's a different picture and story for pte co.
i can't agree more with you! Singapore is ultimately a paper chase society where everyone's worth is measured by a piece of paper. Not having a degree means lesser chances of a promotion and companies are more disposed towards employing people with higher educational qualifications. People tend to look at degree holders in a different light. Whether you like it or not... that's how superficial society is... having a degree does open many doors... let's face it!
I have been to a lot of interviews and I can agree with you. The fact is that since there are so many degree holders out there, most companies will hire degree holders for perm jobs regardless of whether they need the degree or not. I also agree that eventually depends on your performance. BUT PLEASE REMEMBER THAT WITHOUT A DEGREE, THERE WON'T EVEN BE A DOOR TO GO THROUGH IN THE FIRST PLACE FOR MANY OF US.
Engineering is a very specialised job. What polys cover and wat uni cover is very different.Originally posted by pqr:Being a degree holder nowaday may not be a good thing cos have u heard of boss not hiring degree cos they can hir 2 to 3 diploma or ITE graduates?
It really depend on what field you are in. Some must be degree or master, like research but engineering field often diploma or ITE is quite ok.
Like what others said, is your performance, PR skill that counts more after you step into the company with that paper.
U forgot one thing...u don't need a degree to start a business.......Originally posted by Medicated Oil:From talking to my friends, I realised that there are no future for diploma holders.
If they dun upsize to degree, they will have to hata kake at their position.
What does the rest of you feel ???
Its based on facts lor. The evidence out there speaks for themselvesOriginally posted by FireIce:if u insist on such pessimistic view, it's no wonder u wun go far
Imagine you got a high paying job and you're with a diploma.Originally posted by Medicated Oil:I am not saying that diploma holders cannot find a job.
i agree too, i know it is to find a job too. and then i suspect its that the employers may have chosen a diploma grad over me. anyway what do you mean by finding job? is it a) finding any job that pays at least fairly decent (maybe 2k for fresh grad) or b) finding a job that one is genuinely and wholly interested in?Originally posted by pqr:Being a degree holder nowaday may not be a good thing cos have u heard of boss not hiring degree cos they can hir 2 to 3 diploma or ITE graduates?
It really depend on what field you are in. Some must be degree or master, like research but engineering field often diploma or ITE is quite ok.
Like what others said, is your performance, PR skill that counts more after you step into the company with that paper.
Well I certainly didn't sterotype degree holders. I just say they have a better chance. It just that not all people come from rich family with lots of money to support their studies. Besides many Singaporeans have many ugly mindsets! Take my case for eg. I am holding a temp and always like to work OT to save some more money for my education in the future. You know what the first thing they say to you. Take money from your parents or lend from bank! When you tell them you don't want to end up in debt and want to earn enough to pay it off. HA HA. You should see those people face man. The fact is that Singaporeans do not want to understand other people's way of thinking. Most of us like to follow the majority mindset. And they are always frighten if you want to learn more. I have only one thing to say a slave is still a slave. Chief slave or not. They think their position so desirable mei. Dream on. If they all so smart how come still working for people!Originally posted by Qitai:Well, you can keep blaming and complaining and it will not help you. Or you can try to learn to market yourself better.
The reality is this - People gain advantages with these - good looks, age, sex, race, language you speak, education, contact, health, presentation skill, cultural background, family background, experience, knowledge etc etc....
You can cry foul and say you are discriminated becuase of your race, education, ugly, sex etc etc.... and drown yourself in sorrow
OR you can realize that none of the above one point overrides everything else. People look at a combination of things. And if your other attribute is good enough, there will be a place for you somewhere. And if your other attributes are also not good or just normal, then what do you expect? Either go and improve yourself in areas that can be improved or if you are really lazy, learn to lower your expectation.
And improving here is not restricted to getting a degree. You can learn soft skills like people handling ability, presenation skill, new languages or refine your language skills. You can also learn specialised skills that help you get employed or maybe even become your own boss like learning to make a great dish, learning how to repair TV, air-cons, write a book, IT knowledge (programming, building a PC, learning to use new software) etc. etc....
Education is at least one area that all of us gets an equal chance. At least, none of us is born with a degree in hand.
not really, u can always strike 4D or even better Big Sweep....if u strike once ever month, i think really bo beh zhaoOriginally posted by BestAgt:A change in topic
You NEED a DEGREE to earn more $$$ in SINGAPORE?
SAY!![]()
Just ignore those people. Why let those people affect you. Like you said, it is not as if they are doing well themselves. If you need advise, get it from those who have done it, not those who failed to achieve. Those who did not achieve gives good advise on what to avoid, but not necessarily what to do best.Originally posted by Xenthar:Well I certainly didn't sterotype degree holders. I just say they have a better chance. It just that not all people come from rich family with lots of money to support their studies. Besides many Singaporeans have many ugly mindsets! Take my case for eg. I am holding a temp and always like to work OT to save some more money for my education in the future. You know what the first thing they say to you. Take money from your parents or lend from bank! When you tell them you don't want to end up in debt and want to earn enough to pay it off. HA HA. You should see those people face man. The fact is that Singaporeans do not want to understand other people's way of thinking. Most of us like to follow the majority mindset. And they are always frighten if you want to learn more. I have only one thing to say a slave is still a slave. Chief slave or not. They think their position so desirable mei. Dream on. If they all so smart how come still working for people!
sigh... grow up lah... slave is slave?Originally posted by Xenthar:The fact is that Singaporeans do not want to understand other people's way of thinking. Most of us like to follow the majority mindset. And they are always frighten if you want to learn more. I have only one thing to say a slave is still a slave. Chief slave or not. They think their position so desirable mei. Dream on. If they all so smart how come still working for people!
so does that means it's just plain stupid to go get a degree? since it seems that being good in ur study is absolutely useless to ur work next time...Originally posted by tspg:I dun have a degree. I dun think thats a problem. Its the ability of the person that counts. Having a degree shows that a person is good at studying. It doesnt mean that the person will do as well at work or solving problems. I've seen degree holders who become so brain-dead after so much studying that they cannot solve simple problems.
aiya again, its how u look at it lor... definitely, the old model of "study hard, get a degree and get a good job" is not true anymore...Originally posted by UandMe:so does that means it's just plain stupid to go get a degree? since it seems that being good in ur study is absolutely useless to ur work next time...