yup, such is the double-edged nature of our free economy. just like some years back, american car companies who actually manufactured and packaged cars in Detroit USA were complaining Honda was stealing their business. well, at least we can take comfort we are sharing the same problems as the strongest economy in the world. our local engineers can never match china/india talent for salary. we'll starve if we did. like you suggested above, our only assets to survive are communications skills, familiarity with region and business culture, net-working etc. don't expect our government to lend any help in this matter. they're more interested in foreign investments. we are on our own.Originally posted by foxwalk:Ever felt like "eh, wait a minute. Did i take a plane and am i in china now?"
Looking around me, there are so many China compatriots. Is it really necessary? Look at our jobs that they've taken. I went for a sales engineer job interview and had a long chat with me, and shared this wisdom: these foreigners (mostly China-chinese and India-indians) are almost always getting the jobs from the locals, especially in technical jobs because they have lower salary expectations, they (may be) more skilled technically, and they can't communicate so effectively with the rest of the populations (singaporeans).
Tell me your view, is it necessary to import talents by the masses? Are we going to lose our Singaporean identity soon?
I did some research on the internet. Turns out that Singapore has a very high net migration rate. Even higher than (so called) dream destinations such as Australia, US, Canada. Now is it really necessary?
more like SHITAPOREOriginally posted by men_@_arms:No larrrrr American-Pore mor elike.
KNN INSULT MY COUNTRY. U BETTER CHANGE!Originally posted by mayham321:more like SHITAPORE![]()
Those in Woodbridge laugh at everybody everyday. When one of them laugh the others agree.Originally posted by idwar:Former Indonesian president says Singapore is "a little red dot".
( Even Kartoon ex-president of a bankrupt country laughs at Singapore...........)
I like your kind of patriotismOriginally posted by SibeiSuayKia:KNN INSULT MY COUNTRY. U BETTER CHANGE!
IM SERIOUS!![]()
GOT 1 KOREAN INSULTED SG AND I GAVE HIM HELL IN TEAM FORTRESS CLASSIC, i went to tk all his team members and park at his spawn and wiped them all out.
U CAN SAY ANYTHING BUT DUN INSULT OK! LINES GOT TO BE DRAWN!
Another m'sian insulted my country!
i gave him 1 hell of a shlt in gunbound, basically i erased him out before he got a chance to even reach his turn!
Even when i encountered pple who say SG is small or what.
HEHE SORRY singapore was heading towards american culture in 1990's to 2004..
2004 onwards is towards China culture pai seh..![]()
always in sg govt priority is money what..so..always stick up for the NEXT BIG THING!
dun forget our SAP schools not there for nothing
Chinese high and Singapore Chinese Girls School not called Chinese for nothing
its an undeniable fact that we're a little red dotOriginally posted by idwar:Former Indonesian president says Singapore is "a little red dot".
( Even Kartoon ex-president of a bankrupt country laughs at Singapore...........)
He was sacked few months later after saying this comment!Originally posted by idwar:Former Indonesian president says Singapore is "a little red dot".
Indonesia has a higher GDP then us, not exactly bankrupt, but corrupt.Originally posted by idwar:Former Indonesian president says Singapore is "a little red dot".