Thank you for your good-humoured jest. My posts in this forum is mainly for sharing of ideas and thoughts and interactions with similar-minded active citizens. I did make an error about those ballot boxes and wish to apologize to those affected by such mistakes. Have a good day.Originally posted by SilverKris:hahahahaha....robertteh u good hor!
people counter your points about george bush and american election, and give u examples on how you got your facts wrong...like he talking about missing ballots, but u change it to missing ballot boxes....big difference hor!!! but still you never apologise or admit u read sentences wrongly.
instead keep saying people angry lah, pissed off lah......but i don't see any angry words, or any sentence remotely angry leh. change subject right! hahahaha
see lah.....no wonder those serious contributors start to say your posts no standard.![]()
best to just let this topic die out.
This is complete bullshit, Scandinavian countries are genuine democracies with real elections, real opposition, real alternance, real free press, etc.. don't even try to compare with S'poreOriginally posted by runningismylife:even in europe, most of the scandinavian countries practises Socialism Democracy.
err... that wasn't a good-humored jest from SilverKris. That was a sarcastic laughing at you.... in other words, a personal attack.Originally posted by robertteh:Thank you for your good-humoured jest. My posts in this forum is mainly for sharing of ideas and thoughts and interactions with similar-minded active citizens. I did make an error about those ballot boxes and wish to apologize to those affected by such mistakes. Have a good day.![]()
Socialism does not really need to be equal to communism.Originally posted by Viking1:This is complete bullshit, Scandinavian countries are genuine democracies with real elections, real opposition, real alternance, real free press, etc.. don't even try to compare with S'pore
SilverKris, Pikamaster is right. Thanks, Pikamaster. I will not take grudges. I think it is good to laugh it out loud sometimes and make the best of ourselves.Originally posted by pikamaster:err... that wasn't a good-humored jest from SilverKris. That was a sarcastic laughing at you.... in other words, a personal attack.
the pikamaster
correction: True Democracy cannot exist at this period of time. Period. But nonetheless we can try to be as close to ti as possible.Originally posted by TKHan:To sum all the arguements in the previous pages:
TRUE DEMOCRACY CANNOT EXIST.
Period.![]()
quote from Wikipedia: Singapore's model of politics more closely resembles authoritharianism, than democracy (parliamentary).Originally posted by yeebas:I truly believe in Swiss pracitice of direct democracy is the way to go. In every system, there are always the advantages and disadvantages. I believe that the singapore's model of democracy is successful because there are results. Look around us, Phillipines's model of democracy have failed as no results have been produced. Whatever it is, if there is something called true democracy and freedom, i believe that the government have the freedom to choose the best model for us Singaporeans. Each country is different from each other and we must make changes to suit our country. You cant put a freshwater fish in saltwater or it will die. We do not want to die. We want to enjoy a good standard of life.
As for the creator of this post, I also believe that Singapore should ultimately develop towards that stage. It is only a matter of time, on when Singapore truely ultimately achieve it. The creator of this post, one in a million might be insignificant, but your views are crucial. Your views can motivate people for the true cause of democracy with its advantages. With a firm support base, your views should speed up the transition of Singapore into a truely democratic country.
It is clearly the aspirations of many many Singaporeans who have observed how democracy have really benefited many countries to see that we are truly democratic and not authoritarian or pseudo-democratic.Originally posted by yeebas:I truly believe in Swiss pracitice of direct democracy is the way to go. In every system, there are always the advantages and disadvantages. I believe that the singapore's model of democracy is successful because there are results. Look around us, Phillipines's model of democracy have failed as no results have been produced. Whatever it is, if there is something called true democracy and freedom, i believe that the government have the freedom to choose the best model for us Singaporeans. Each country is different from each other and we must make changes to suit our country. You cant put a freshwater fish in saltwater or it will die. We do not want to die. We want to enjoy a good standard of life.
As for the creator of this post, I also believe that Singapore should ultimately develop towards that stage. It is only a matter of time, on when Singapore truely ultimately achieve it. The creator of this post, one in a million might be insignificant, but your views are crucial. Your views can motivate people for the true cause of democracy with its advantages. With a firm support base, your views should speed up the transition of Singapore into a truely democratic country.
Originally posted by john2007:Mr John,
Dear Fellow forum friends:
I just registered and I am seeking help from you guys.
I am an undergraduate student from the School of Foreign Service, Georgetown University, Washington, DC. I am currently doing a country report for my Comparative Political System class. I chose Singapore to be my topic. So during my research, I found out about this forum, which I think I can get the most reliable and trusted information and reference.
My paper is basically a analytical one about Singapore's political and electoral structure, backed by supporting data and calculations. However, since Singapore is a single-member plurality (majoritarian) democracy, and the PAP is the only major dominant party in the parliament, all my analysis and calculation regarding issues such as seat-allocation would be fairly simple. Therefore, my professor told me to find out [b]other important data to support my analysis, which is to identify a challenge or problem the country faces as a result of its political system.
However given Singapore's impressive prosperity, high rank of GDP per capita, and stability, personally I really want to argue for the benefit of such a political system. (This stance is really for the sake of my paper, because I've never lived in Singapore and i don't want to sound subjective)
But so far I am not successful at all in finding out any "hard data", such as survey, public opinion polls, or statistics, that indicate Singaporeans (voters)' satisfaction (or dissatisfaction) with the existing electoral system, or satisfaction (or dissatisfaction) with the governance of the ruling party. So I would be extremely appreciated if you would provide me any available web or non-web sources of (or links to) such survey, opinion poll or statistic information.
This will be a crucial element in my paper to prove my argument. (So far I have already checked on the Singapore Statistic Bureau's website, the SINGOV information site, and sites of various international agencies, such as World Association for Public Opinion Research, The Worldwide Association of Reserach Professionals, Transparency International, and etc.)
Last, I am also interested in finding out how "the Chinese value toward governance" is having an impact on the PAP governance. Perhaps any information on that would help too.
Thank you very much and I really appreciated if any of you wouldn't mind to help
Originally posted by john2007:http://www.singapore-window.org This would give you a more objective view of Singapore news and current affairs.Do drop a line through the PM function anytime
Dear Fellow forum friends:
I just registered and I am seeking help from you guys.
I am an undergraduate student from the School of Foreign Service, Georgetown University, Washington, DC. I am currently doing a country report for my Comparative Political System class. I chose Singapore to be my topic. So during my research, I found out about this forum, which I think I can get the most reliable and trusted information and reference.
My paper is basically a analytical one about Singapore's political and electoral structure, backed by supporting data and calculations. However, since Singapore is a single-member plurality (majoritarian) democracy, and the PAP is the only major dominant party in the parliament, all my analysis and calculation regarding issues such as seat-allocation would be fairly simple. Therefore, my professor told me to find out [b]other important data to support my analysis, which is to identify a challenge or problem the country faces as a result of its political system.
However given Singapore's impressive prosperity, high rank of GDP per capita, and stability, personally I really want to argue for the benefit of such a political system. (This stance is really for the sake of my paper, because I've never lived in Singapore and i don't want to sound subjective)
But so far I am not successful at all in finding out any "hard data", such as survey, public opinion polls, or statistics, that indicate Singaporeans (voters)' satisfaction (or dissatisfaction) with the existing electoral system, or satisfaction (or dissatisfaction) with the governance of the ruling party. So I would be extremely appreciated if you would provide me any available web or non-web sources of (or links to) such survey, opinion poll or statistic information.
This will be a crucial element in my paper to prove my argument. (So far I have already checked on the Singapore Statistic Bureau's website, the SINGOV information site, and sites of various international agencies, such as World Association for Public Opinion Research, The Worldwide Association of Reserach Professionals, Transparency International, and etc.)
Last, I am also interested in finding out how "the Chinese value toward governance" is having an impact on the PAP governance. Perhaps any information on that would help too.
Thank you very much and I really appreciated if any of you wouldn't mind to help
Originally posted by LazerLordz:Can we have a proper democracy without all the vested interests getting in the way?Yes.But for that to happen, our legal and democratic institutions must be stronger and independant from cults of personalities which have a unhelpful influence for too much of the time.One might argue that the incumbent will always do their best to secure a political advantage so that they will not be easily defeated in the polls, but the situation here goes beyond simple voting and legislation.We are looking at the near-total dominance of Singapore commerce and politics by one family who happens to have her members in key posts of GLCs and statutory boards.The establishment may claim that they are there due to performance and ability, but the facade tells a story which is not palatable to society at large.
This point aside, what is unnerving is the creeping of the GLCs hands into every segment of the economy.Trade unions are co-opted into the so-called TriPartite compact.More often than not, reasons like efficiency and peaceful conflict resolution are given for the close cooperation between traditionally independant institutions like trade unions and the Press.Granted, this might have been the best solution in the 1970s-1980s where a strong foundation was needed to be built rapidly and effectively without the need of being bogged down by adversarial politics.However, times have changed and this latter is what we need to spur competition and ensure that the state does not rest on her laurels.When key people in charge are faced with grilling and sharp questioning, it keeps them on their feet, as opposed to a company whose shareholders are bullied into silence, thus lulling the management into thinking that all is hunky-dory.I am ashamed of how our govenrment has muzzled our local press to the extent that stellar journalism and strong, confident and intellectual writings have disappeared and replaced by bland, plain reportage of government events and other things pleasing to the establishment.The Printing Presses Act has emasculated our society into having a check and balance on the establishment, with the Whip constantly on the MPs' heads in Parliament, where else do we go for an independant system of checks and balances?
Man is falliable.Remember that.No one in power is absolutely right , nor charitable.They all have their own interests, and the only thing worth noting for us common folk is that the men and women we place in trust to run our country better have similar interests as us.
It looks like MM Lee as he has surprisingly admitted could be wrong about certain emphatic policies of his like promoting 100 % English and 100 % Mandarin or the EM1-3 educational system.Originally posted by iveco:Like that, we might as well not have any government at all.
Never thought that old man would admit his faults. He and his son are the most egocentric people I've ever seen. For them to admit their faults is very out of character. Don't tell me our dear MM is dying?Originally posted by robertteh:It looks like MM Lee as he has surprisingly admitted could be wrong about certain emphatic policies of his like promoting 100 % English and 100 % Mandarin or the EM1-3 educational system.
Equally, his intinctive feel about top-down or autocratic system of governance based on the ideas or wills of a few brilliant leaders may be erroneous too.
How to create more entrepreneurship to help re-positioning the whole new economy to the next level of competitiveness.
There has been much helplessness during the Asian Financial Crisis and last two prolonged recessions with scholars being inept or unable to turn around the economy.
For a newly emergent or first-world economy or for the first 20 to 30 years of independent nationhood, top-down autocracy exercised on trust or sheer will power of a few may be just passable as long as it brings about progress.
In today's highly competitive environment, how to produce more competitive goods and services, retain talents, do away with discrimination against local talents or businesses and how to avoid running up high costs in the form of hyper salaries for all civil servants is the biggest challenge.
So current electoral and governance system should be open up for mass participation through being evolved further to be truly accountable and transparent as posted in the 7 points of true Democracy.
If there has been a mistake or error, it will be beneficial to let it be admitted early to change and retain mass practical talents to contribute to the next phase of nation building.![]()