Great news, after restoring the 10% cut to the wages of Ministers and most Civil Servants, they are now giving themselves a 5-Day work week to enjoy the extra 10% wages.The 5-day work week is to increase family time as everyone well knows. The official number of working hours remains at 44. This means that even though most civil servants will no longer work on Saturdays, they will have to work slightly longer on weekdays to make up for not having to work on Saturdays. Hence no one is enjoying 10% more wages while working shorter hours.
Meanwhile, the unemployment rate remains at 4%, and is expected to remain at this level throughout 2005 and beyond.The global economic situation has been rather volatile in the past few years, the Asian Financial Crisis not witstanding. One can continue to blame the government, but really, some things are really beyond anyone's control esp when Singapore is highly dependent on global trade, and exposed to global economic cycles. Still, the unemployment figure has decreased over the past two years hasn't it? From a high of 5.5% in September 2003 to 4.5% now in Sept 2004. You may also wish to compare unemployment rates of other developed and trade dependent economies currently to have some basis for comparison: Germany at 10.7%, USA at 6.3%, Indonesia at 10.5%, Malaysia at 3.4%, Hong Kong at 7.9%, UK at 5.1%. (All figures from CIA World Factbook 2004) I don't think Singapore is doing too badly, especially when the rate IS showing signs of decline year-by-year.
You will be lucky if those will not be further increased, and meanwhile they must stay due to the fact that some Government Over-the-Counter Services will stay open on Saturdays - leading to heavier traffic flow when nearly everyone will adopt a 5-Day workweek.Traffic congestion has always been heavy on Saturdays, (and Sundays and public holidays too!) but not for the reasons you stated- shopping, family-related recreational activities. I am not sure if having a day off means MORE people are going to rush down to queue up at govt counters instead of using the time for social and family activities. Why can't they continue to see to them during lunch hour if there is a real need for personal attention at govt buildings? Besides, with electronic online services, many things can be done in the comfort of one's home.
Whatever charges that have been increased will stay in place, as revenue must continue to be collected to pay for the 10% restoration of previously cut wages; as well as for the expected payment of 13 month pay at the end of 2004, and wage increase in a flexi-wage system for the Civil ServiceAWS/13th month bonuses are not directly dependent on revenue collected (hahahaha!) Bonuses are dependent on economic growth annually, while AWS is guaranteed. Perhaps you dont work for the civil service- just ask your civil servant friends.
Count yourself lucky that you will have an extra day for fishing, if your time is not taken up by Reservist Recall Service.I don't know about you, but most male citizens get called up 1-2 times a year, not most weekends.
THE 5 DAY WORK WEEK IS only for civil jobs....NO BIG DEAL LAH.... u really think can help foster better family ties?? dun pay cut tao chio liao...PAP is good at wayang act saint onlyMost private sector jobs already implement a five-day work week, especially professional ones. The government is merely keeping in line with private sector practices.
den what about the taxi uncles? Do they have to take pay cuts bcos of your proposed price reductions on sat?Originally posted by Qitai:See if Saturday Traffic got go down loh. If traffic not heavy, then can drop all those you propose loh. As for taxi, not sure if Government can interfer or not. Or is it up to Taxi company?
That's why say don't know government can interfer or not mah. Or maybe should say whether they should interfer in the first place. Right now, many player good I think.Originally posted by CenturionMBT:den what about the taxi uncles? Do they have to take pay cuts bcos of your proposed price reductions on sat?
I think if let say one Taxi company decides to implement this. I think the rest will follow.Originally posted by CenturionMBT:den what about the taxi uncles? Do they have to take pay cuts bcos of your proposed price reductions on sat?
Originally posted by TidalWave333:The 5-day work week is to increase family time as everyone well knows. The official number of working hours remains at 44. This means that even though most civil servants will no longer work on Saturdays, they will have to work slightly longer on weekdays to make up for not having to work on Saturdays. Hence no one is enjoying 10% more wages while working shorter hours.
This is an amusing post too
Atobe writes
Great news, after restoring the 10% cut to the wages of Ministers and most Civil Servants, they are now giving themselves a 5-Day work week to enjoy the extra 10% wages.
continuing post by TidalWave333:The global economic situation has been rather volatile in the past few years, the Asian Financial Crisis not witstanding. One can continue to blame the government, but really, some things are really beyond anyone's control esp when Singapore is highly dependent on global trade, and exposed to global economic cycles. Still, the unemployment figure has decreased over the past two years hasn't it? From a high of 5.5% in September 2003 to 4.5% now in Sept 2004. You may also wish to compare unemployment rates of other developed and trade dependent economies currently to have some basis for comparison: Germany at 10.7%, USA at 6.3%, Indonesia at 10.5%, Malaysia at 3.4%, Hong Kong at 7.9%, UK at 5.1%. (All figures from CIA World Factbook 2004) I don't think Singapore is doing too badly, especially when the rate IS showing signs of decline year-by-year.
Atobe writes
Meanwhile, the unemployment rate remains at 4%, and is expected to remain at this level throughout 2005 and beyond.
continuing post by TidalWave333:Traffic congestion has always been heavy on Saturdays, (and Sundays and public holidays too!) but not for the reasons you stated- shopping, family-related recreational activities. I am not sure if having a day off means MORE people are going to rush down to queue up at govt counters instead of using the time for social and family activities. Why can't they continue to see to them during lunch hour if there is a real need for personal attention at govt buildings? Besides, with electronic online services, many things can be done in the comfort of one's home.
Atobe writes
You will be lucky if those will not be further increased, and meanwhile they must stay due to the fact that some Government Over-the-Counter Services will stay open on Saturdays - leading to heavier traffic flow when nearly everyone will adopt a 5-Day workweek.
continuing post by TidalWave333:AWS/13th month bonuses are not directly dependent on revenue collected (hahahaha!) Bonuses are dependent on economic growth annually, while AWS is guaranteed. Perhaps you dont work for the civil service- just ask your civil servant friends.
Atobe writes
Whatever charges that have been increased will stay in place, as revenue must continue to be collected to pay for the 10% restoration of previously cut wages; as well as for the expected payment of 13 month pay at the end of 2004, and wage increase in a flexi-wage system for the Civil Service
continuing post by TidalWave333:I don't know about you, but most male citizens get called up 1-2 times a year, not most weekends.
Atobe writes
Count yourself lucky that you will have an extra day for fishing, if your time is not taken up by Reservist Recall Service.
i guess u r a civil servant.Originally posted by TidalWave333:Most private sector jobs already implement a five-day work week, especially professional ones. The government is merely keeping in line with private sector practices.
I did not state that having a five-day work week will "foster better family ties" or improve familial relationships. That's your idea, not mine.
I did say that it will 'increase family time' simply because working parents do not have to be at the office on Saturdays. It is hoped that spending more time with kids and having more opportunities to interact with them will strike a balance between career and family.
For childless couples, the govt is crossing its fingers that having regular and entire weekends to themselves may produce babies.
The idea is that the govt has taken the first step- how families bond (if at all), or if more babies are produced is entirely up to the individuals. You have already made your stand clear- you do not believe it will happen. Perhaps it will not happen for you and your family, but let's leave it to other families to decide for themselves. Many acquaintances (esp. those with families) I know are in fact very happy with the change. It is something they have wished for, for a long time. I don't see how it's 'wayang' since it's a concrete step. Perhaps you have your own frustrations and anger with the govt or some govt policy, and are looking for some issue to vent your anger on?
Pay adjustments (up as Atobe claims, or down as Scorps claims- everyone has different ideas!) are simply a matter of maintaining competitiveness, and ensuring companies do not ship out. It's better to have a slight pay cut, than to lose your job isn't it? The European Union in fact is waking up to this fact although their method (increase working hours with no increase in pay) is different. They realise now that if job flexibility isn't there, companies will simply move to another country where people are willing to work longer hours for lesser pay. It has already happened in Europe, with jobs not moving to just China or India, but Hungary, the rising manufacturing star of Europe. That's the harsh reality everyone, incuding you, has to accept.
Is this not cleverness on the part of LHL, and being typical of the style of the Ruling Party that formed this Government - giving a little, and taking back just as much, if not MORE ?The point is you are wrong in stating that getting Saturdays off is tantamount to working fewer hours for more money. But I do not see you acknowledging your error. For many, they are quite happy that rearranging their work schedules gives them a whole day off. Many are happy to work 30-60 mins more each weekday, instead of coming back on Saturdays. Or put in another way, people would be happy to work 9 hours from Mon-Fri (45 hours in all), than work say 40 hours from Mon-Fri, and 3 hours on Sat, 2 hours on Sun. Common sense isn't it?
Giving everyone the Saturday off, but making one work longer hours during the weekdays.
Is it beneficial at all ?It's certainly beneficial and welcomed by many, especally those with families, and those who would prefer to have the full weekend off. Working mothers (not housewives) may return home an hour late, but I really do not think it's a big deal (unless you insist on kicking up a fuss of course). It merely means meal schedules have to be rearranged. It's one hour we are talking about, not 5 or 6. Your exaggeration of a one hour delay resulting in "staying up later to finish the household chores - ironing and laundering, which if not done during the weekdays, will end up as a huge pile" is amusing to say the least. It appears you are trying too hard to press a point. Maybe if mothers have to work 5-6 hours longer everyday..there will be problems with household chores, but not 30 to 60 minutes more.
The working housewives will end up getting home later to prepare the meals for the family, staying up later to finish the household chores - ironing and laundering, which if not done during the weekdays, will end up as a huge pile that will have to be cleared during the weekend.
Is this the way to spend the extra day of the week 'WITH THE FAMILY' ?
The unemployment figure for Singapore is now known to be 4.5% (2004); but what is the current unemployment figure for 2004, for all the countries that you have mentioned being taken from the CIA World Factbook 2004 - with the figures still referring to 2003 ( ? ) How does Singapore's present unemployment rate of 4.5% (as of August 2004) compare to the other countries that you have mentioned - if the period is also compared to August 2004 ?Most of the countries I used have maintained the unemployment rates for a long period. The figures I used are the latest ones available on an ANNUAL basis. 2004 is not over yet obviously. In all instances, they have not fallen or gone up by 1% in the latest quarter. I will quote a few here: UK is at 4.8% (from 5.1%), HK is at 7.3%, US at 5.4%. I hope these satisfy your demand for exactness
Singapore's economy performed below 1% in 2003Wrong again. To be really picky (since you prefer precision), 2003's growth rate was 1.1% (above official forecasts of 0.8%). I do concede that growth from a low base does make the figure appear more spectacular. However, this does not in anyway diminish the importance of the fact that economic recovery has been made in the space of 12 months, SARS, Iraq war and all thrown in.
Certainly it will take time for the benefits to filter out to every Singaporean, who have lost their jobs; but will it help the Singaporeans, when the simplest middle ranking jobs are also open to foreigners who are freely admitted into Singapore and accepted into being PR too ?I really have no wish to go into this here, but briefly: that is a common misconception which has been pointed out many times. Statistically, 9 out of 10 new jobs go to Singaporeans. (I suppose you are thinking of the NTU dons and their clash with MOM.) Open borders is a reality that everyone must accept, ultimately, it is not the nationality that counts, but the skills that one has to offer. It is a bitter pill that many (including I) find hard to swallow. Would you employ a Singaporean by virtue of his nationality (or even race, gender etc), even though he does not possess the skills to perform, rather than a foreigner who is competent and trained? It's common sense isn't it? Many foreigners who take up professional jobs do so because there are simply inadequate numbers of Singaporeans trained for it (e.g R&D in biomeds and pharmaceuticals). They are NOT 'freely admitted' to become PRs, but come into three different pass categories as I am sure you already know. I do understand your concern however that many foreigners excel in our local universities, esp math science and engineering, and the number of immigrants here have caused social tension (assimilation, worries about job securities). But the alternative of not having skilled people to support and propel the economy forward is even scarier, esp when one thinks of the future. Let not your personal grouses cloud the big picture.
If you believe that "Traffic congestion has always been heavy on Saturdays, (and Sundays and public holidays too!) but not for the reasons you stated- shopping, family-related recreational activities" - then what can be the cause for the traffic congestion on these Sundays and Public Holidays ?The reason you stated for traffic congestion is "Government Over-the-Counter Services will stay open on Saturdays - leading to heavier traffic flow when nearly everyone will adopt a 5-Day workweek. " The reasons I stated for perennial congestion is just that: shopping, recreational activities on weekends. These are my reasons, not yours. Perhaps I did not articulate clearly (I really hope you are not engaging in semantic games
Without making clear the reason for your statement, how can you attempt to give any speculation that there will not be more people queuing up "at govt counters instead of using the time for social and family activities" - (what social and family activities, if there are household chores as elaborated in my preceding paragraph ? )The reasons I gave are clear, perhaps you (unintentionally?) distorted it. Honestly, you don't think that an extra full Saturday off is spent doing household chores? Working mothers will reschedule their time to complete chores since they are working just up to one hour longer daily on weekdays, not five. Those with maids have no worries. Housewives have no worries. I am sure even you realise your paranoia that people coming home an hour later will result in havoc at home is a sheer exaggeration to say the least. Perhaps havoc will occur if mothers need to work past midnight everyday, but not 30-60 mins more a day. Using lunch hour to run errands is not a big deal...people do it all the time, they do it now, and they will continue to do it in the future even with Saturdays off.
e-Gov websites are such a dream that anyone can cope with ?I do not know what you mean by "e-Gov websites are such a dream". I do not expect everyone to be computer literate, esp the elderly. That's why counters are still open for them, weekdays and Saturdays. For the rest of us who have the benefit of education, it is simply a process of learning and adapting. Of course, there will always be a need for personal attention, but this is not a common weekly occurrence and people still have the benefit of counters open on Sat. Your passport agony is amusing to say the least. That is just your experience and does says nothing more than that. I can just as easily speak of my experience when I renewed my passport: I went to the Immigration building, filled up the renewal form, paid $10 by Nets, stapled the receipt to the form, glued my pre-prepared pic on the form, and dropped it into the box. (15 mins at most) Three days letter, I collected the passport with the letter sent to me (30 mins). I do not think that is an unreasonable time.
I do not consider myself to be computer illiterate, nor to the level of being a genius, but attempting to renew my passport took me a total of 6 hours over two separate days, and required two visits to a KODAK shop for the photos saved into a CD-Rom (costing me $11.90).
The carpark was a nightmare, with too little carpark space, and traffic at the Kallang-Lavender junction has always been challenging.I am not sure of the relevance of describing your parking woes here. Take the MRT which is literally next to the Immigration building? No comment.
This is not the only e-Gov service that has been poorly designed, and I have complained to several governent agencies concerning their e-service.I can't help but be amused your sweeping rejection of the government and all things government (as I read in other posts, but refrained from contributing). From my personal experience living abroad, it is on par, if not better than many other countries in terms of govt e-readiness. Your assertion is also NOT validated by international surveys. In the EIC/IBM government e-rankings in 2004, Singapore ranks 7th out of 64 countries surpassing many equally advanced OECD countries, including Australia (*winks*). Perhaps you experienced Denmark's online govt services (ranked 1st in the world) and compared it to Singapore. (hahaha!
Good riddance to the e-Gov services on the WWW.
AWS/13th month bonuses - not directly dependent on revenue collected but are dependent on economic growth annually" ?Read ‘NOT DIRECTLY dependent’. You really do not think collecting revenue from citizens is a significant component , esp. when Singapore has the world’s highest per capita international trade dependency do you? (or more than 2.5 times the country’s GDP) I leave you to correct your other misconceptions. Enough said.
Is this not contradictory, and typical of the 'fork tongue' manner of talking by this Government, which you seem to follow with eagerness, and the style also picked up by you ?
Like that can also complain. Very hard to please man.Originally posted by Atobe:Giving everyone the Saturday off, but making one work longer hours during the weekdays.
Is it beneficial at all ?
Not free lah.Originally posted by Atobe:Certainly it will take time for the benefits to filter out to every Singaporean, who have lost their jobs; but will it help the Singaporeans, when the simplest middle ranking jobs are also open to foreigners who are freely admitted into Singapore and accepted into being PR too ? (This has been a topic for a separate thread).
Man alway not happy with alot of thing....Originally posted by Qitai:Like that can also complain. Very hard to please man.
The point is you are wrong in stating that getting Saturdays off is tantamount to working fewer hours for more money. But I do not see you acknowledging your error. For many, they are quite happy that rearranging their work schedules gives them a whole day off. Many are happy to work 30-60 mins more each weekday, instead of coming back on Saturdays. Or put in another way, people would be happy to work 9 hours from Mon-Fri (45 hours in all), than work say 40 hours from Mon-Fri, and 3 hours on Sat, 2 hours on Sun. Common sense isn't it?
PART ONE
atobe writes,
Is this not cleverness on the part of LHL, and being typical of the style of the Ruling Party that formed this Government - giving a little, and taking back just as much, if not MORE ?
Giving everyone the Saturday off, but making one work longer hours during the weekdays.
It's certainly beneficial and welcomed by many, especally those with families, and those who would prefer to have the full weekend off. Working mothers (not housewives) may return home an hour late, but I really do not think it's a big deal (unless you insist on kicking up a fuss of course). It merely means meal schedules have to be rearranged. It's one hour we are talking about, not 5 or 6. Your exaggeration of a one hour delay resulting in "staying up later to finish the household chores - ironing and laundering, which if not done during the weekdays, will end up as a huge pile" is amusing to say the least. It appears you are trying too hard to press a point. Maybe if mothers have to work 5-6 hours longer everyday..there will be problems with household chores, but not 30 to 60 minutes more.
atobe writes
Is it beneficial at all ?
The working housewives will end up getting home later to prepare the meals for the family, staying up later to finish the household chores - ironing and laundering, which if not done during the weekdays, will end up as a huge pile that will have to be cleared during the weekend.
Is this the way to spend the extra day of the week 'WITH THE FAMILY' ?
Most of the countries I used have maintained the unemployment rates for a long period. The figures I used are the latest ones available on an ANNUAL basis. 2004 is not over yet obviously. In all instances, they have not fallen or gone up by 1% in the latest quarter. I will quote a few here: UK is at 4.8% (from 5.1%), HK is at 7.3%, US at 5.4%. I hope these satisfy your demand for exactness
atobe writes,
[quote]The unemployment figure for Singapore is now known to be 4.5% (2004); but what is the current unemployment figure for 2004, for all the countries that you have mentioned being taken from the CIA World Factbook 2004 - with the figures still referring to 2003 ( ? ) How does Singapore's present unemployment rate of 4.5% (as of August 2004) compare to the other countries that you have mentioned - if the period is also compared to August 2004 ?
Wrong again. To be really picky (since you prefer precision), 2003's growth rate was 1.1% (above official forecasts of 0.8%). I do concede that growth from a low base does make the figure appear more spectacular. However, this does not in anyway diminish the importance of the fact that economic recovery has been made in the space of 12 months, SARS, Iraq war and all thrown in.
atobe writes
Singapore's economy performed below 1% in 2003
I really have no wish to go into this here, but briefly: that is a common misconception which has been pointed out many times. Statistically, 9 out of 10 new jobs go to Singaporeans. (I suppose you are thinking of the NTU dons and their clash with MOM.) Open borders is a reality that everyone must accept, ultimately, it is not the nationality that counts, but the skills that one has to offer. It is a bitter pill that many (including I) find hard to swallow. Would you employ a Singaporean by virtue of his nationality (or even race, gender etc), even though he does not possess the skills to perform, rather than a foreigner who is competent and trained? It's common sense isn't it? Many foreigners who take up professional jobs do so because there are simply inadequate numbers of Singaporeans trained for it (e.g R&D in biomeds and pharmaceuticals). They are NOT 'freely admitted' to become PRs, but come into three different pass categories as I am sure you already know. I do understand your concern however that many foreigners excel in our local universities, esp math science and engineering, and the number of immigrants here have caused social tension (assimilation, worries about job securities). But the alternative of not having skilled people to support and propel the economy forward is even scarier, esp when one thinks of the future. Let not your personal grouses cloud the big picture.
atobe writes
Certainly it will take time for the benefits to filter out to every Singaporean, who have lost their jobs; but will it help the Singaporeans, when the simplest middle ranking jobs are also open to foreigners who are freely admitted into Singapore and accepted into being PR too ?
The reason you stated for traffic congestion is "Government Over-the-Counter Services will stay open on Saturdays - leading to heavier traffic flow when nearly everyone will adopt a 5-Day workweek. " The reasons I stated for perennial congestion is just that: shopping, recreational activities on weekends. These are my reasons, not yours. Perhaps I did not articulate clearly (I really hope you are not engaging in semantic games
atobe writes
If you believe that "Traffic congestion has always been heavy on Saturdays, (and Sundays and public holidays too!) but not for the reasons you stated- shopping, family-related recreational activities" - then what can be the cause for the traffic congestion on these Sundays and Public Holidays ?
The reasons I gave are clear, perhaps you (unintentionally?) distorted it. Honestly, you don't think that an extra full Saturday off is spent doing household chores? Working mothers will reschedule their time to complete chores since they are working just up to one hour longer daily on weekdays, not five. Those with maids have no worries. Housewives have no worries. I am sure even you realise your paranoia that people coming home an hour later will result in havoc at home is a sheer exaggeration to say the least. Perhaps havoc will occur if mothers need to work past midnight everyday, but not 30-60 mins more a day. Using lunch hour to run errands is not a big deal...people do it all the time, they do it now, and they will continue to do it in the future even with Saturdays off.
PART TWO
atobe writes
Without making clear the reason for your statement, how can you attempt to give any speculation that there will not be more people queuing up "at govt counters instead of using the time for social and family activities" - (what social and family activities, if there are household chores as elaborated in my preceding paragraph ? )
I do not know what you mean by "e-Gov websites are such a dream". I do not expect everyone to be computer literate, esp the elderly. That's why counters are still open for them, weekdays and Saturdays. For the rest of us who have the benefit of education, it is simply a process of learning and adapting. Of course, there will always be a need for personal attention, but this is not a common weekly occurrence and people still have the benefit of counters open on Sat. Your passport agony is amusing to say the least. That is just your experience and does says nothing more than that. I can just as easily speak of my experience when I renewed my passport: I went to the Immigration building, filled up the renewal form, paid $10 by Nets, stapled the receipt to the form, glued my pre-prepared pic on the form, and dropped it into the box. (15 mins at most) Three days letter, I collected the passport with the letter sent to me (30 mins). I do not think that is an unreasonable time.
atobe writes
e-Gov websites are such a dream that anyone can cope with ?
I do not consider myself to be computer illiterate, nor to the level of being a genius, but attempting to renew my passport took me a total of 6 hours over two separate days, and required two visits to a KODAK shop for the photos saved into a CD-Rom (costing me $11.90).
I am not sure of the relevance of describing your parking woes here. Take the MRT which is literally next to the Immigration building? No comment.
atobe writes
The carpark was a nightmare, with too little carpark space, and traffic at the Kallang-Lavender junction has always been challenging.
I can't help but be amused your sweeping rejection of the government and all things government (as I read in other posts, but refrained from contributing). From my personal experience living abroad, it is on par, if not better than many other countries in terms of govt e-readiness. Your assertion is also NOT validated by international surveys. In the EIC/IBM government e-rankings in 2004, Singapore ranks 7th out of 64 countries surpassing many equally advanced OECD countries, including Australia (*winks*). Perhaps you experienced Denmark's online govt services (ranked 1st in the world) and compared it to Singapore. (hahaha!
atobe writes
This is not the only e-Gov service that has been poorly designed, and I have complained to several governent agencies concerning their e-service.
Good riddance to the e-Gov services on the WWW.
Read ‘NOT DIRECTLY dependent’. You really do not think collecting revenue from citizens is a significant component , esp. when Singapore has the world’s highest per capita international trade dependency do you? (or more than 2.5 times the country’s GDP) I leave you to correct your other misconceptions. Enough said.
atobe writes
AWS/13th month bonuses - not directly dependent on revenue collected but are dependent on economic growth annually" ?
Is this not contradictory, and typical of the 'fork tongue' manner of talking by this Government, which you seem to follow with eagerness, and the style also picked up by you ?