Coming from your demanding standard, it jarred me for a while, and I thought it should look better if it was read as “….. leaving a TRAIL of glaring inconsistencies behind.”Sweet joy for you! After so many posts, you finally spotted your first spelling error! Good on you.
If I do not respond to substantive issues, you should be flattered, as I am imitating your preferred style in this ongoing exchangeJust as well you admitted it. What ‘substantive issues’ of yours am I supposed to be avoiding by the way?
Well, if you believe in “Talking Cock” that ‘Atobe is blur like sotong’ then perhaps you can accept TidalWave being “goondu” to expect one to purchase the COXFORD; and even advertising to pay S$10 when the dictionary is freely available on-line…Now what is worse, to be “blur” or plain “goondu” ?What is "Talking Cock"? Is this where you learnt to "tok kok?" I am glad you referred to the Coxford. But I don’t see you acknowledging your ignorance of the Singlish words ‘sotong’ and ‘blur’ of course. And no, I didn’t pay for a copy. My 8-year old nephew gave me a copy last Christmas. You really should catch up with 8-year olds where Singlish is concerned, or stop behaving like one altogether. An old queen behaving like an 8-year old…….hmm….
Only THREE (3) fits the said range of a FEW ?Atobe writes on 22 September 2004:
Well, what are you complaining about ?
I was more generous then yourself, and had suggested the most likely number of SIX fans to your style of writing; but still it is only six out of a current count of 2500 PLUS hits to this thread.
From these three fan of yours - two of them could not stand up to the scrutiny of their posts, and are simply borrowing your stage to make a vain effort to have a prick at my position; and perhaps another three more likely fans from the papier-mâché menagerie in this sgForum.Until you are sure of what you are talking about, I will ignore your speculations. Since you have already ascertained “these three fans” of mine but qualified your uncertainty with ‘PERHAPS another three’….there is no need to give it much attention. I can name the first group of three myself (although I don’t think they are ‘fans’), but who are the next group of three? Your enemies here? Indeed you go on to acknowledge that the most ‘LIKELY’ number is six, but you cannot be sure can you? So many qualifications, so little certainty.
“Atobe, atobe, you ignorant fool! “Repetitive. Still nursing your bruised ego. See above why you are deserving of that label.
– what happened to your call for ‘decorum’ ?
“What followers? What admirers? Tok tok wat har? More gibberish”Repetitive. Still nursing your bruised ego. See explanation above. Ever wondered why you have not garnered any support from strangers?
– Now, now, you are so riled up that you cannot even recognized those FEW who were agreeable to ‘talk dirty’ with you about me.
You see what I mean ? When you get all riled up being emotional, you will loose track of your tasks. Did you not address the issue about ‘FEW’ a few paragraphs above ? Drivel again ?Hehehehe
Aspire to be you completely ?ErrrÂ….there is no shame in wanting to idolize me. You are already adopting my vocabulary and style of writing here anyway. You can become my fan, but refrain from being a tedious groupie. As for Kumar, if you are enamored by the comedian, why donÂ’t you search for your feather boa and make a trip to see the new place for yourself? Far East Square, not Bugis JUNCTION, so donÂ’t get lost!
No thanks, I rather enjoy all your antics from a long distance, being half of Kumar in the “Boom Boom Room” - Kumar at least will make better stand-up jokes than you.
Where have you been wandering throughout these five pages in this thread, and still wondering "would the public sector ever get 5 day weeks too ?Originally posted by oldbreadstinks:er.......... i think you guys are going out of point
just wondering would the public sector ever get 5 day weeks too?
If my response was not substantive, I wonder why you even bother to carry on with this exercise through so many days, except for the sheer vanity of public adulation and recognition ?You are an exceptional dullard. ItÂ’s so hard to find a person who is so deluded and delightfully spiteful (Hehe
To describe you as being ‘queer’ will be ironic to your status reflected in your determined display of high standard of English usage, and yet your preferred usage of endearment will probably confirm the correctness of this term appliedHahaha….you really are catty aren’t you? While I am aware of your crude nature judging from your coarse and distasteful responses in this and other threads, it never occurred to me you would stoop this low. If you can’t act like a real man (even when agitated), why don’t you just tie your hair with red ribbons, wear a dress and be done with it? What a N***Y (Hehe
In your anxiety to flip me and pin me down, you seem to be unable to discern the significance of the ‘old address’ given, which clearly shows that I am an infrequent visitor to the ‘Boom Boom Room’, and do not even know of its existence since the closure of its premises at Bugis – ( back in the 1980s ?The problem with the ‘old address’ is that Boom Boom Room was ORIGINALLY located at Bugis STREET, NOT Bugis Junction. Ho ho ho……..it is unnecessary to tell me if you used to be a regular there. I have no problems with your patronage there, neither do I discriminate against people of different sexual inclinations. Of course, I don’t expect you to display a tolerant and enlightened attitude towards this, seeing how persistent you try to crack jokes about it. Tsk tsk…some people are not only uneducated where economics and languages are concerned, they also lack the qualities one desires in a grown adult.
You need not have taken the trouble to look up for its present address unless you are particularly inclined towards Kumar, and to share your terms of endearment with him and his pals ?Dear meÂ…Â…I see you canÂ’t get over it. You have something against Kumar donÂ’t you? Or are you just prejudiced against people who perform in cabaret shows? Grow up a bit wonÂ’t you dearest Atobe?
Unfortunately, I am not too inclined towards terms of superfluous endearment of the highest degree – dear perhaps may slip through, but ‘DEAREST’ ???Don’t you like that affectionate salutation? Beats being a spiteful nitwit doesn’t it?
Whether you are a female, or someone belonging from the in-between-world of the Twilight Zone, it does not matter to me. Those that are of any interest to me will probably be more palatable and sensuous in intellect and feminity than you can ever hope to beHere we go againÂ…Â….you really are obsessed with transvestites arenÂ’t you? Get over it old boy (Hahahaha
If you are so desperate to grab as being correct - that the quantity of 3 persons will fit into the ‘FEW’ to satisfy your craving for correctness and restore injured pride – perhaps it is not too foolish if we call you with an additional term “BLIND” foolI think the point is the appropriate number the word ‘few’ accommodates. Anything that is more than ONE but remains an infinitely small number IS acceptable according to the dictionary meaning I provided for your reference. Are you TRYING VERY HARD to dismiss dictionary meanings, or TRYING VERY HARD to save some ‘face’ after I pointed out your ignorance of the word ‘few’. Come on, people already know you are weak in economics and languages. No shame in being uninformed. Just learn from here LOR.
3 persons out of a readership-hits of 2700 plus (up to this stage) remains just merely a FEW that is in support of your position. Your desperation for public adulation is again on display ?
Good work, boy. Glad to know your time in school remain of some use ?You seem to bear a grudge towards those who get their facts right, and who are more educated. “Upgrade” yourself LOR. By the way, have you learnt the difference between grammar and spelling after your retort? (Hehehe
Why do you avoid giving a reply to questions about your honesty in only extracting parts of sentences, and adding new words into the parts that have been extracted ?See how long this post is becoming already, since I dignified your insults by penning responses. You must understand I only do this when (1) I can see you are genuinely agitated; and (2) I am genuinely tickled. You keep accusing me of not answering your questions. What questions? Substantive ones A NOT HAR? List a few here then. If not, donÂ’t hold your breath for too long.
Hey, sonny, you got to polish up on your efforts to be more honest with your attempts, as good English alone is not enough for the high standards of decorum that you expected from others
“Holy Cow” or “Sweet Jesus” - would have at least confirmed the intensity of your character now that the “TRAIL” has been spottedHAR!!! Still harping on one typo? Must be like striking TOTO for you here. Poor you…..but I can understand your situation…..it’s a rare chance for you to make a fuss where language is concerned. All that accumulated frustrations after I corrected your numerous language errors must have been close to exploding eh? O.K. LOR…I will make a few errors here iMtensionaRlly for you. Happy? (Hahahaha
As the adage goes “If you live in a glass house, do not throw stones”.I can think of a better line to describe you…. “He that doth not know those things which are of use for him to know, is but an ignorant man, whatever he may know besides.”
Quite normal to expect all the bluster that simply fizzle out, as can only be expected of little puddle of water that try to be a “Tidal Wave”.AIYAH! Still behaving like an 8-year old dolt HAR! What’s the difference between a wave and a pool of water? What’s the difference between your urethra waste and a swimming pool. Go figure……
You sound more convincing with your terms of endearment in portraying some sense of feminine sincerity then with your attempts to put up an honest public face.So am I sincere or insincere? What makes you so sure I am NOT male? And which factual statement of mine is insincere? Making accusations out of thin air is easyÂ…..producing a concrete example is not. (Hehehe
You can find the issues by scrolling back across the last few pages, and figure out which parts of my posts you have preferred to dismiss to suit your narrow vision agendaDone! I spent an hour scrolling back despite knowing the apparent foolishness of such a task. (Being kind to you is foolish, but I did it- just once for you) CanÂ’t find anyÂ…..why donÂ’t you show me your 5 best examples.
Is it true that your nephew gave you the ‘COXFORD’ dictionary for Christmas, and you did not buy it yourself to know that it cost $10 a copy ? Oh, yes, little nephew forgot to remove the price tag before wrapping up the giftIt’s true my nephew did that. It’s true I didn’t buy it. As for the price….I checked online prior to writing that post (!!!!) because I was serious you should educate yourself. The url is http://www.selectbooks.com.sg/titles/32658.htm (Select Bookstore) So are you going to acknowledge you didn’t know the Singlish words ‘blur’ and ‘sotong’ A NOT HAR?
Then again, why did your nephew buy the ‘COXFORD’ ? Could living with you become such a boring experience – (with your insistence on English perfection ) - that he believe a dose of Singlish will help you to go a longer way ?Actually he doesn’t live with me. Actually we don’t live on the same continent either (hint hint wink wink
Even an 8-year old has more wisdom towards reality then the ‘ivory set’ who believe themselves "be-longing" to the ‘ivy league’ while living in Singapore.Atobe wrote on 16 September 2004
Ho ho ho - so finally the 'ivory league' personna appear from the 'ivory tower'.AIYAH! Quit being jealous alright. You have to make up your mind if I belong to the ‘ivy league’or not (NOT ‘ivory league” by the way Hahaha!) One day I am from the ivy- league, another day, it’s just make-believe. See how INconsistent you are, and how readily you change your perspectives to suit your own argument? Of course I am also reminded by your AFC example:
Is the crux of the issue here about pure numbers according to your narrow digitized mind, or does your dishonesty prevent you from cutting at the issue concerning such a few - small number of – supporters from a recorded hit list of 2700 plus readers ?I never claimed I had supporters. That was your insistent delusion all along. I don’t have fans either- so reboot your crazy mind.
Do you crave so much for public adulation that you find it to be unbelievable that “you have not garnered any support from stangers” ?No errrr….if I really wanted public adulation, I would find it very easy to believe I have support. Another example of your contradictory statements? AIYAH! See above.
The difference between you and I is that I respond to you only - in all my response and to the issues raised; while you attempt to write for a wider public audience to gain public adulation with your hidden agenda of destroying my position, if not my character in this sgForum.AIYAH! Quit your fantasy that I enjoy ‘support’ here, or that I have a ‘fan base’ here. All lies you made up in your hallucinations LAH! Happy now?
Unfortunately, those few that have come to your support, were previously scalded by me for their hollow and unattainable positions that they hold in their vain attempt to justify the actions of the Ruling Party or the policies of the Government.
You will not believe it but actually in my kindness (which you have acknowledged), I had allowed you another opportunity to have a dig at my English, so as to allow you to fulfill your insatiable appetite for public adulation and recognitionHahahahaha
It has been too long ago when the Boom Boom Room closed at Bugis Junction – it was then a popular anti-establishment place for rude jokes and heavy digs at the government.Oh, I have already pointed out that (1) you got the address wrong to begin with, (2) your attempt to crack jokes about different sexual inclinations is distasteful and perhaps even genuinely hurtful to other readers in a public forum here. Some self-control for once Atobe dear.
If the place had changed into a “Category: ‘Gay and Lesbian’, Venues – well I think you should be more familiar than me, as I did not even know that they existed on the www until this posting of yours.
Or perhaps you will claim to be from an exclusive "twilight zone" - where time and tide will wait for the slower effeminated kind ?
Western Government and societies and companies worked far less hours than the 44 hour week practised by the Singapore Government.TidalWave333 writes
Even in the Private Sector in Singapore, some Companies that follow a 5-day week do not insist on a 44 hour week, and even go a step further by allowing their Employees flexi-working hours. (13 Sept 2004)
What is the big deal of this ..... "time to turn this stone over also" .... that merely allow him to exercise his "new" muscle as a new PM ?
All the fanfare and hullabaloo for merely changing the working arrangement of a Government that remained stubbornly to a 6-day week since independence ?
Does this change reflect a super-human effort on LHL's part to lift such a heavy stone and have it turned over ? (16 Sept 2004)
I have already addressed why shortening work hours is NOT the way to go in previous posts. I have also quoted examples from the West, esp. the EU where extending working hours is crucial to maintaining competitiveness. They are learning too late that the economy is losing out- badly. These are not offhand remarks on my part, but reality. Under European Union rules, 48 working hours is the maximum legal limit, and controversy over a new act to change this is NOT because workers want to work shorter hours, but because they are PREVENTED FROM WORKING LONGER if they wish to. (See http://www.euobserver.com/?sid=19&aid=17276). Your attempt to portray the government as being out-of-sync with labour reforms elsewhere is ignorant to say the least.Perhaps you will also find this recent International Herald Tribune article on 23 September 2004 useful:
More importantly, the move is not even about shortening work hours, it is about giving families more weekend time without sacrificing national competitiveness. This is NOT simply government propaganda (you wouldnÂ’t want hundred of thousands of jobs to be lost from Singapore to others, would you?), but striking a balance between family and career? Unless you are obtuse, which person wouldnÂ’t welcome having an entire Saturday off, by working 30-60 mins more per weekday? 9 hours Mon-Fri (45 hours) OR 8 hours Mon-Fri (40 hours) and 5 hours on Sat? No doubt workaholics may despair, but the majority will not. (16 September)
If the population size of India or China is ten times bigger then Singapore, will not the percentage of unemployment become even more significantly larger, without necessarily to be in the same proportion. Yes, restructuring is affecting the entire world economies, but countries with a larger industrial base that has access to a larger natural and captive market of consumers formed by their larger population numbers – will eventually offer themselves a better than even chance of success, when compared to the acknowledged natural limitations that are quite unique to smaller countries like Singapore. (16 Sept 2004)TidalWave333 writes
Yes, yes, yes to all that digressive drivel. But what are the unemployment rates in those countries? What is the point of rehashing economic clichés about India and China when no one is disagreeing about the size of their foreign reserves. The pertinent subject here is unemployment rates.(Answer: latest annual 2003 figures China 10% urban unemployment where ironically most jobs are; India:9.1%) Is Singapore not, and indeed the rest of the world, restructuring and taking note of the challenges posed by the two countries? For example the American government highlighting the outsourcing problem, the Japanese government fretting over its domestic industries moving to China etc.Let’s hear your response.
It doesn’t mean the larger the population, the percentage will become ‘significantly larger’. (Think USA or UK). What percentages tell us is the ratio of the unemployed compared to the employed in a country.
YOU are the one who said territorial and population size are advantages in ‘flexibility of policy’.
YOU are the one who brought up the examples of China and India. Unfortunately, we have neither seen examples of how territorial and population sizes have demonstrated this ‘flexibility’ from concrete evidence, nor have your economic cliches of China and India said anything more about them curbing high unemployment rates. (16 Sept 2004)
Â…Â…..when compared to the acknowledged natural limited characteristics that is quite unique to small countries like Singapore.TidalWave333 writes
While Switzerland is similar in size to Singapore, it is able to hold its head above water, as it has access to the European CommunityÂ…Â…Â…(16 Sept 2004)
Did you read the article from the Economist I provided for you. What has the past 39 years proven about Singapore? LetÂ’s see historical evidence, and current economic realities, instead of your endless speculations.Respond Atobe.
I am glad you did not state in words that Switzerland is part of the EU, otherwise that would be providing me with another entry in your list of ignorant statements. You canÂ’t be referring to the territorial size of Switzerland of course, and the population size of Switzerland is almost twice that of SingaporeÂ’s at 7.4 million. But your ignorance still shows in many ways.
(a)Switzerland has few natural resources like Singapore (unless one counts timber). It is also landlocked with no natural harbour or a strategic geographical position unlike Singapore. Referring to Singapore’s ‘natural limited characteristics’ and then using Switzerland as a basis of contrast is telling. Like Singapore, Switzerland did not allow itself to be ‘limited’ by its lack of ‘natural characteristics’ (Your choice of words is amusing!) – instead it sought to leverage on its financial and manufacturing capabilities. Similarly, Singapore has not allowed itself to be limited by its lack of natural resources, or land size, but has developed its capacities in other areas. Its success over three decades is evident.
(b)Switerland’s ‘access’ to the European community is underpinned by the FTA of 1972, and another seven agreements in 1980. Following your logic that success is guaranteed by market access and FTAs, we must then conclude that Singapore with its many FTAs with US, Japan , Australia, NZ, Chile etc etc, EFTA (wtih Switzerland Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein) and its membership in the ASEAN Free Trade Area with 500 million people will perform the same miracle for us. How does that make Singapore and Switzerland different from your simplistic logic then? (16 Sept 2004)
While the values of currencies maybe measured against Trade Weighted Index, it nevertheless showed up the weakness of Singapore's position in our own Singapore Dollar weakening so rapidly, when the Australia's Dollar managed to climb in value during the same period from 2002-2003.TidalWave333 writes
Leaving aside those countries who do not wish to have their currencies exposed to the volatality of market forces, and prefer to pegged it at a fixed rate to other stronger currencies, it already is available and serves as a good indicator of economic performance. (16 Sept 2004)
No explicit admission of error that you were wrong in stating that the AUD currency rose 30% against the SGD. Just ‘acknowledgement’ again? (hahaha! )FIVE-ORIGINS OF SINGAPORE’S ECONOMIC SLUMP FROM 2001-2002
The SGD is traded between a narrow undisclosed band and managed against a basket of other currencies. It will not appreciate to its true market value (since internationally it is considered undervalued like the Chinese yuan or Malaysian ringgit- see EIC reports for e.g) because that will make our exports too expensive. So the SGD did not “weaken so rapidly” (unlike the Thai baht or Indonesian ruppiah) in the past, neither will it strengthen rapidly in the future. Currency values are of course affected by forex speculations, which is why central banks of various countries spend millions (in the case of Japan’s Central Bank) to keep it within their desired range. Many countries, especially in Asia prefer their currencies remain ‘competitive’ compared to the USD in fact. It is NOT a real or true indicator of economic performance. Get it? (16 Sept 2004)
I can only say that while the Asian financial crisis did affect Singapore, Hong Kong, Taiwan, and indeed other parts of the word, they did NOT suffer a meltdown, unlike the four most directly involved- Thailand, Malaysia, South Korea, Indonesia. Indeed Singapore clocked in 5.4% in 1999, and 9.9% in 2000. It was the global (from the US, Japan and EU) economic downturn that hit the economy, not the Asian crisis per se that put economic growth at minus 2.1% in 2001. (13 Sept 2004)Atobe writes
The recommendations from the 1987 ERC was never fully implemented, and the economy had recovered by its own natural cyclic evolutions, with a moderate push from the Singapore Government by tweaking the CPF and Wage Rates - that were soon restored to its full 40% rate for CPF, and NWC of 8% increases.TidalWave333 writes
Having ignored the careful studied proposals by the 1987 ERC, the status quo in conducting affairs continued until the Financial Crisis of 1997 crashed onto us, even when the signs were already warning us that the continued methods cannnot "sustain or protect us through another storm. (13 September 2004)
Woah!!!! You had the great foresight to predict the Asian financial crisis TEN TEARS BEFORE it actually happened…all without any statistics too! Just making links from one proposal to another and finally drawing “logical” conclusions. Do us a favour, join the MAS or become a temple medium. (hehe ) You really have no shame portraying yourself as an economic czar (despite your evident limitations), better than the economists, analysts and government officials from around the world put together, don't you?SIX- "LIBERAL" GLOBALIZATION
So, on 13 September, the "Financial Crisis of 1997 crashed onto us" but hold on(!) today (16 September) you say “Singapore had withstood the pressures of the currency crisis in this Asian Financial debacle”???
Another example of your well-documented mode of inconsistency?? Shifting subtle but important perspectives from post-to-post?
Make up your mind as to whether the crisis affected Singapore directly or not!! Otherwise, itÂ’s very difficult to conduct a rational and logical discussion. (16 Sept 2004)
Are my views too jarring for your senses that seems only able to hear the directions of your mentors only ? Surely, you are not serious in wanting to know more of my views about this subject about "liberal globalization” Surely, the next few volumes of exchanges will not be tiresome for you, as you have already stated your preference in avoiding such matters in recent preceding replies ?TidalWave333 writes
Perhaps, you should ask your "mentors" the same questions, as they seem to be ardent supporters of a more liberal trade environment based on a global grid. (16 Sept 2004)
There is no such label as ‘liberal globalization’. Anyone who is versed in the discipline of globalization, Third Wave politics or S. Huntington will tell you that. Ignorant as usual (16 Sept 2004)Waiting for your responses Atobe Dearest.