Originally posted by Qitai:Or participate in the election yourself. But be prepared to lose $10K(?) if not enough vote. But then if you are confident people are so upset with PAP, then maybe they will also give their vote to you even they don't know you.
Wanna try?![]()
Goh Meng Seng that your real name ?Originally posted by goh meng seng:Dear Qitai,
You wanna try? I am trying.
Goh Meng Seng
I generally happy with things leh. And see so many senseless kao bei kao bu. Tough job. No appreciation. So, not for me loh. I the type who's main motivation is appreciation lah.Originally posted by goh meng seng:Dear Qitai,
Goh Meng Seng
I fly back and throw in my vote for u !.Originally posted by goh meng seng:Dear Qitai,
Goh Meng Seng
Originally posted by paperchicken:Goh Meng Seng that your real name ?![]()
Originally posted by Qitai:I generally happy with things leh. And see so many senseless kao bei kao bu. Tough job. No appreciation. So, not for me loh. I the type who's main motivation is appreciation lah.
So, rather do things which is appreciated like help mum fix toilet flush, help GF paint room or chit chat with papa loh.
Originally posted by fymk:I fly back and throw in my vote for u !.
where u vying? if boon lay..as a forum mate..i pull 50 votes for you.Originally posted by goh meng seng:Thank you very much! Provided that I got the chance to stand in your constituency.
But the thought of having you flying back just to vote for me is already great enough.
Goh Meng Seng
You oppose for the seek of opposing har?Originally posted by goh meng seng:Dear Qitai,
If you get elected as an opposition MP, you will surely get alot of appreciation from all over Singapore.Don't need to worry about that.
Goh Meng Seng
Originally posted by Qitai:You oppose for the seek of opposing har?
If get elected, I think will surely get a lot of demands and expectation from all over Singapore, rather than appreciation.
So, no thanks.
From my perspective, PAP is doing a good job anyway, although there are things I disagree with. At least, they are much better than the governments of the other countries if you ever tried to see how other countries are ran.
i will only support the opposing party if their aim is to speak up for singaporean ..not ppl who barking at our PM like CHEE.Originally posted by goh meng seng:Hahaha... Qitai, how do you conclude that I am opposing for the seek of opposing?
So, by your logic, you don't want to run and get elected; then why should you ask people to run? There is one Chinese saying, you should not impose on others the things that are undesirable to you!
This is nothing to do with whether PAP is doing a good job now or what; this is about instituitional building. Could you guarantee that the autocratic PAP could always be that good? The newer generation of leaders are not as good as the pioneers, so say many. Thus, what will happen in the future generation of leadership?
There isn't a "fair" comparison, Qitai. The only fair comparison is to put these PAP leaders into other country and ask them to run it; see what will turn out of it. IN fact, we do not need to do that, simply by observing the fiasco on Suzhou Industrial Park, we will know how good is good.
To rule a small country with million dollar ministers is a joke to start with.People complain about leaders in the world are corrupt; eg. China. But have you ever thought of it this way, would they be as corrupt if they are given million dollar annual pay?
There isn't a fair comparison, Qitai. Singapore is just a very small country, not even the size of Shanghai! We took about 40 years to reach this far, but Shanghai only took 20 years to become a fully modernized city! How to compare? And it is going to surpass HK and Singapore probably in five to ten years' time! So, by your logic, their leaders are good or even better than PAP? Then why not outsource our political leadership to them?Just joking.
Don't need to compare to places like Indonesia or some ulu ulu backward countries. We want to be Swiss Standard and world class, we must compare with the highest standard possible.
Thus, how good is good, is not the primarily question. How to be better, is the primarily question. Do you think the present system will allow PAP to evolve into something better or worse?
Goh Meng Seng
Originally posted by paperduck:When all you can do is "QUACK" - can you really differentiate between a "barking" sound from all the "quacking" cacaphony ?
i will only support the opposing party if their aim is to speak up for singaporean ..not ppl who barking at our PM like CHEE.
Originally posted by tspg:A word of friendly advise:
Sorry I dun have so much time like atobe. Maybe he was sack and could not find a new job because of his attitude thats why he has so much time to come here and kpkb.![]()
You tell me to go in as opposition what. So, the comment loh. Not a conclusion about you, but just a question to you to tell you that I do not oppose for the seek of opposing. I thought the message is quite clear. Sorry, if you think I was making a conclusion about you.Originally posted by goh meng seng:Hahaha... Qitai, how do you conclude that I am opposing for the seek of opposing?
So, by your logic, you don't want to run and get elected; then why should you ask people to run? There is one Chinese saying, you should not impose on others the things that are undesirable to you!
This is nothing to do with whether PAP is doing a good job now or what; this is about instituitional building. Could you guarantee that the autocratic PAP could always be that good? The newer generation of leaders are not as good as the pioneers, so say many. Thus, what will happen in the future generation of leadership?
There isn't a "fair" comparison, Qitai. The only fair comparison is to put these PAP leaders into other country and ask them to run it; see what will turn out of it. IN fact, we do not need to do that, simply by observing the fiasco on Suzhou Industrial Park, we will know how good is good.
To rule a small country with million dollar ministers is a joke to start with.People complain about leaders in the world are corrupt; eg. China. But have you ever thought of it this way, would they be as corrupt if they are given million dollar annual pay?
There isn't a fair comparison, Qitai. Singapore is just a very small country, not even the size of Shanghai! We took about 40 years to reach this far, but Shanghai only took 20 years to become a fully modernized city! How to compare? And it is going to surpass HK and Singapore probably in five to ten years' time! So, by your logic, their leaders are good or even better than PAP? Then why not outsource our political leadership to them?Just joking.
Don't need to compare to places like Indonesia or some ulu ulu backward countries. We want to be Swiss Standard and world class, we must compare with the highest standard possible.
Thus, how good is good, is not the primarily question. How to be better, is the primarily question. Do you think the present system will allow PAP to evolve into something better or worse?
Goh Meng Seng
dun waste time toking to a2bOriginally posted by Atobe:A word of friendly advise:
No need to get sack to find time.
Just juggle your time between work, sleep, and other daily natural reequirements, and you will be surprised how much time you really have and do not realise that it has been lost.
More importantly, do not waste time with emotional good-byes, when you have no intention of permanently leaving - just leave for a few days to settle your work, the articles will remain here for your follow-up - UNLESS you merely want to "duck the issues" to save face.
Concentrate on issues with some solid replies - instead of making mere hollow statements, which only reflect the hollowness of yourself.
In that case why do you hide your profile ? If you really want to run for opposition then you shd let more people know about you. Sign up P-member and use your photo as avatar. Start a new forum here and post your views and suggestions on how to improve the country. If you are serious people will support you. If you just want to tok cock sing song and use somebody's else's name go back to sammyboy.Originally posted by goh meng seng:Of course this is my real name lah! How can anyone suka suka change the name their parents give?
You know me in person or what?
Goh Meng Seng
hear hearOriginally posted by reyes:i believe most singaporean like to be lead by the nose. we can see it the daily life and how govt treated us in their policy implementation. some like it some dont. those who like it are those who simply dont care anything that doesnt concern them or they cant do anything about it.
what wrong with complaining and making criticisim in singapore?
do we need to provide a better suggestion before we can criticise? eg. do we need to run faster than poh seng song to criticise his timing in olympic games? or do we need to beat joycelyn yeo to criticise her below par standard in olypmics game. criticism can be treated as a form of motivation for the govt or everyone of us to improve better if it is a reasonable demand. and they are paid to provide a better living in singapore.
do we need PAP? yes we do, until we can find a better party.
do we need opposition party? yes we do too, so that we can really have a balance democracy society and to keep a check on govt policy. the reason why so many of us having anti sentiment is because we have yet to find a balance of power in the politcial scene that some of us feel the govt is having too much power and opposition is too weak to offer some form of resistance and questioning.
sometimes i just tell myself, the only time i can make a difference is during election time. i cast the vote whom i believe will make a difference in balancing the power dispite only 1 vote.
Originally posted by paperchicken:In that case why do you hide your profile ? If you really want to run for opposition then you shd let more people know about you. Sign up P-member and use your photo as avatar. Start a new forum here and post your views and suggestions on how to improve the country. If you are serious people will support you. If you just want to tok cock sing song and use somebody's else's name go back to sammyboy.![]()
Originally posted by Qitai:You tell me to go in as opposition what. So, the comment loh. Not a conclusion about you, but just a question to you to tell you that I do not oppose for the seek of opposing. I thought the message is quite clear. Sorry, if you think I was making a conclusion about you.
And walao!! Just suggest that if you are so unhappy, you can stand in election. And you say I impose what I do not desire on you??!! Oei.... suggestion also become like I force you to do something? Can don't be so critical or not.
I don't want to fight with you on the comparison thing. I have visited and talk to enough people from different countries to know that on a relative term, Singapore is doing quite well already. I have also tried to compare the property price, tax structure, etc. etc. around the world. It is actually one of my favorite topic each time I talked to my foriegn clients, colleagues and relatives. That is too much to go into here. So, will skip that.
Anyway, I was only just light-heartedly telling people that they can run for election. Never expect you to come back so strongly. So... let's keep things light, shall we?
If you want to discuss about specific problems of this country, start another thread. I would gladly discuss as long as the discussion are backed by good relevant facts and without personal attacks. Also, let's try to discuss, not try to win. No prize in winning hor.
Mr Goh,Originally posted by goh meng seng:Dear paperchicken,
The profile here is very limited. My detailed profile can be found in yahoo, search for the profile of [email protected] try this link:
http://profiles.yahoo.com/madcow8888
I am just new here and I am involved in quite a number of forums. Workers Party has an internal forum, discuss-singapore, YPAP and I used to be active in soc.culture.singapore. My purpose of participating in forums like this one is not to show off my views but to engage people like you, to make you understand the need and the development of the alternative political parties like Workers Party. As for views on how to improve the country, I will leave that to our party's release of manifesto in the near future. It is tactically and strategically not sound for me to throw all my views here as there are already ample cases that PAP has copied ideas and take credits as theirs. We will not want to let the million dollar ministers or billion dollars civil service to turn into a machinery of ideas copier.
If you want examples of what ideas of mine have been used by PAP, let me know. I will give you the latest idea used to make PAP looks good.
Someone use my name in Sammyboy forum? I have been trying to access Sammyboy's forum from Hong Kong, where I am stationed for the moment, but I couldn't get through.
Goh Meng Seng
Okay, my patience has run out. Another chicken and duck talk here (direct Chinese Translation). Analogy all wrong too. I am not even on your side and you talking about me being a commander asking you to charge. *Peng.*Originally posted by goh meng seng:Dear Qitai,
I am not offended at all, least angry.This is because I am used to such talks and mentality almost everywhere in Singapore. This is not your fault, it got to do with the way that the mass media portray "opposition" as a lump together entity.
Running as opposition is not something that you should take lightly. If you are not ready to do so, then don't try "challenge" people to do the same. It will make you look stupid.It is just like a platoon commander shouting "Charge" but he stays put and expect his men to charge the front. And as a matter of fact, running as opposition candidate doesn't mean opposing for the sake of opposing. I would prefer the term, alternative candidate as this would not give people the wrong impression.
I have also visited enough places to tell you that there are something that we could possibly learn from them. It depends very much on your attitude and angle of seeing things. If your first perception is that Singapore is better, then you will only choose to see how Singapore is better than other countries, neglecting other aspects of what we lack and how we could have done better. This is a matter of "self-realization" and in fact, it is such attitude that makes Singaporeans "suck" in other countries, especially in China. They feel that Singaporeans are "arrogant", basically because most of us like to make comparisons of our strengths against their weaknesses; but ignoring the fact that there are many other areas that we are lacking.
This also explain why, suddenly we realize that our jobs and businesses have been losing to the Chinese. We are just being too complacent. What I have shown you are facts, cruel facts in China. Shanghai developed within a span of 20 years, within 10 years, will surpass us in every aspects. There is no need to argue about this one.
No doubt, this country is very fortunate to have a good pioneer batch of thrifty builders like Dr. Goh Keng Swee. But look at it this way, we have a batch of big spenders right now! Spending $600million on two durians which need another $50million per year to maintain? You call that good management? Do you know how much they spend on social welfare per year? And it is not only I say they are big spenders; it is PAP MP who listed out the seven wonders of Singapore!
And for a matter of fact, it is not the tax structure that could attract foreign investment anymore; we are supposed to move away from the over reliance on foreign investment altogether! China has high taxes, but foreign investment still pour in, why? It is a matter of profitability and opportunities that matters, not a matter of tax structure anymore! It is totally naive to make believe that with great tax structure, we could excel!
As for property prices, there is a catch in it. It is precisely due to the lack of supporting demand that our property prices are not advancing, despite the fact that we have limited land! Why there is a lack of demand?
Hong Kong property market is on the fast recovery path, but Singapore's property market is still stagnant, why? Both has suffered great depreciation during the 1997 financial crisis together.
I think we must look at things deeper down the root, rather than superficially at the surface.
Goh Meng Seng
Originally posted by Qitai:Okay, my patience has run out. Another chicken and duck talk here (direct Chinese Translation). Analogy all wrong too. I am not even on your side and you talking about me being a commander asking you to charge. *Peng.*
And also, let me tell you this - "I WANT THE PROPERTY PRICE TO GO DOWN, NOT UP!!!". Get it??!!!
And let me tell you this too - I look at the quality of life, and not build a mega city. You can go to NYC or Tokyo if you like Mega cities. You get your extremely high property price there too since you like it so much. Ohh.. just to throw you some more goodies, you get to travel 1-2 hours each way to work and have to work till 10pm daily there too. I am sure you will like it there.
I measure the (economic aspect of the) quality of the people's life base on their earning power compared to the cost of living. The closest thing of what I have in mind is what they call the PPPGNIPC value. Even that is not good enough since it does not factor tax, social benfits and such. My ideal country increase our pay but reduce our expenses, not just make mega city.
There are many other things when it comes to quality of life but I will not write a big essay here, a trend that seems to be getting popular here. I do not know if the durians are worth it, it cannot be measure in economic terms. But didn't people want more support for culture or non-economic pursue? You sure you know what the people want? Not just what you want? I don't support the building of the durians but I don't oppose it either. If enough people likes it and wants it, then we build it.
Sigh... don't know why I write so much. Talk too much liao. So, I shall stop. This is leading nowhere again![]()