Originally posted by paperchicken:If you are really going to run for election. You must remember one thing. The voter is always right. Never criticise your voter. Second thing always be humble.
You say ppl are plain bias. If Low or Chiam or Slyvia Lim contest in the election ppl will support them because they already have a track record ppl know who they are.
You are just a newcomer a nobody yet you go around bragging about your "bright ideas".
You complain that the media is biased. Well you have an opportunity to voice your views why arent you taking it.
Dun waste you time at sammyboy type of forums. Those ppl are anti-govt they will vote for you. If you really want to win you have to get the vote of the middle ground here.
If you want ppl to respect you, you have to earn it.
If you cant step out of your comfort zone you will never make any progress.
Just some questions here on the definition of "Singaporean cannot do".Originally posted by fymk:I suggest a few policies for whoever who wants to be a politician
1. Job protection for all Singaporeans - old and young . No foreigners are to take a job a Singaporean cannot do unless ur talking about employing an nobel prize for economics winner etc. Restrict sponsorship/scholarship of 10 top foreigners per year.
You are behaving like an elitetist. There are a lot of uncle and auntie and uneducated ppl around. Do you mean you dun need their votes. Dun bother with this ppl lah they dun understand what you say ?Originally posted by goh meng seng:Dear Paperchicken,
hahahaha... You sound as if those who are running for election must go and beg people like you for votes! As a voter myself, I will only vote people with confidence, not bootlicking expertise, with intellect, not hypocricy.
Nobody is always right, that includes myself. However, when face with people like you who talk no sense at all, there isn't a need to give face.
Whenever I find people with great depth, knowledge and wisdom, talking sense, I will be very humble and learn from them. I would even be humble and respect a worthy opponent who could convince me in a debate or argument that I am wrong. But for people like you who talk no sense at all, I am afraid being humble will only make you think that is a weakness!
If track record is what politics is all about, then pray tell, how many of the PAP MPs have "track records" to start with? It is precisely due to the lack of "track records", they have introduced GRC system.
As I have stated in my mission statement, I am not here to "show off" my ideas, but to dispel ill conceived perception about alternative politics. I have given you links and avenues which you could do a research on alternative politics to form a more balanced view; refraining from giving much ideas myself, for tactical reasons. However, it is you who requested me to show you my ideas! I obliged with my past postings and you say I "show off" my ideas?
Well, you keep saying I am "evasive" and thus, I took up your challenge to answer the first question of your "hot topic", and now you say I "show off" my "bright ideas"? What do you want"
You are just contradicting yourself! Do you condemn, don't do it, you condemn! Do you talk sense at all?
I expect middle ground voters to be reasonable, to talk sense, to be objective but obviously, you are not. Don't pretend to be a "middle ground" voter when you are not! Sorry lah, I am not from Sammyboy forum!And seniority in a forum doesn't necessary translate into respect. You are right, you got to earn your respect from me by talking sense first.
I am not here to earn respect for myself, or even winning votes for myself.I have already told you my mission in specific. And I am stepping out of my comfort zone to confront people like you. What do you expect more?
Goh Meng Seng
Originally posted by paperchicken:You are behaving like an elitetist. There are a lot of uncle and auntie and uneducated ppl around. Do you mean you dun need their votes. Dun bother with this ppl lah they dun understand what you say ?
If I were you I will not look down on them because uncle and auntie are not stupid one. They may not like PAP but they will not vote for opposition either because they dun trust the opposition.
As for the few qns I ask you they are the current topic that is discuss among the ppl. You can ask any man on the street they can give you an answer immediately.
When you take so long to answer them, it shows that you are either not up to date as to whats happening around you or you dun have the guts to voice your opinion.
Remember this. When you voice your opinions, you either get more haters or supporters. But if you choose to play safe and keep quiet, you will get neither haters or supporters.
Whether you want to talk or not its your choice. I am not forcing you. I just feel that if you are really keen to run you shd feel free to speak your mind and let ppl know you better.
Originally posted by paperchicken:To Goh Meng Seng
You say you want to run for election.
You can win votes here by voiceing your views and opinion here. Its a platform you can use. Its a level playing field here.
Dun blame me if you dun grab the opportunity.
Dun talk if you dun want to. I'm not pointing a gun at you.
Singaporean dun dare to speak up ? Are you sure. The threads on the topics I mention have active participation. Or is it you dun understand how heartlanders feel ?
Next time a reporter interview you are you going to tell him : " Is this an exam qns ? " or " I think abt it I answer you tomolo."
Opposition like you like to point finger at Singaporeans saying that we do not support you. But what do you have to offer.
But wat do you have to offer ?
I dun have to beg you to elaborate or give examples it fine with me.
You want the votes you have to take the initiative.
Ppl will not vote for an unknown.
This thread has more than 2000 views. You can do yourself a favour by letting ppl know more abt you.
Originally posted by paperchicken:How about meet the ppl sessions ?
You want ppl to submit questions to you 1 mth in advance so you can prepare your answer ?
These 2000 ppl have family and frens and frens's frens. If you are good they will spread the word if you are lousy they will do so as well. You dun use the opportunity here to speak then where ?
You want to sit at home wait for reporter to interview you ?
Qns regarding race or religion are sensitive.
I dun think the issue I ask are. We are have discussing them actively here.
Cant you speak for yourself ?
If you are elected you will have to speak in parliament.
Your party and advisors will not be there with you.
You keep hiding your shortcomings.
You dun dare to speak up.
Dun expect ppl to support you.
Its up to you loh. You can always set up a forum here. I think a forum is a good channel for politicians to reach out to ppl especially the opposition which has limited resources. Its also a good platform for you to voice your views.Originally posted by goh meng seng:Dear Paperchicken,
Most people goto MPS to settle personal problems, very exceptional to have people going there to put up current affairs questions.
Sometimes, even personal problems or questions cannot be solved immediately and checks will have to made with various sources and authorities. That's reality.
As I have told you, I will still engage in forum discussions here but very selectively. I think that's fair; nobody participates in each and every discussions in any forums.
Election is just round the corner. There is much to be done. But rest assure, I won't run away from your queries, if they merit answers.
Goh Meng Seng
What I mean is if a Singaporean can do the job - mostly white collar side. We know most Singaporeans won't do low level jobs unless in pure desperation - 1200 dollars /month is reasonable for survival in Singapore - don't u think?. Of course no foreign worker would work for 400 bucks without accomodation- the rent in Singapore will bankrupt them but I am refering more to foreign top level expats who get accomodation, cars and a nice LARGE salary . In Australia , if an employer wants to employ a foreigner , they have to write to the immigration department explaining why this foreigner has the skills that no australian can match.Originally posted by Qitai:Just some questions here on the definition of "Singaporean cannot do".
(1) Surely, a Singaporean can be a construction worker, a maid, a cleaner. Or most job for that matter. But they may be asking for $1200 while a foriegn worker asking for $400. So, should the work goes to a local or a foriegner?
(2) How to define if no Singaporean wants to take up the job offer before giving it to foriegn worker? Advertist for 6 months without takers? Or some other qualification?
(3) Does one needs to consider quality of work here?
Just some practical questions for considerations here.
Originally posted by Chia Ti Lik:Meng Seng
Hate to be a spoilsport and interrupt your fun here
It seems like the General Elections will be around the corner. We have to get on with the real ground preparations.
Forum answers do not carry priority. Leave the forumites to their discussions. Such discussions are rhetoric and alone will never change Singapore.
To the entire politics forum
For those who are serious about changing the political landscape and future of this nation, it is time to take a stand and join a political party be it PAP or WP or whatever if you truly believe in your postings . Its about time to stop the No Action Talk Only attitude.
The Workers' Party welcomes volunteers for manpower contributions.
Would you not as a true blooded and patriotic citizen, take a stand and contribute and see for yourself what it takes to fight the PAP or the Opposition on the real battlefield instead of criticising behind from the armchair, and behind a computer and behind a false identity.![]()
Thank you for your reply.Originally posted by goh meng seng:I will do a quick one the last three questions posted by Paperchicken.
3 Nail on walls at void decks.
This is the most stupid thing to do to stop people from having little fun! Using Cost Benefits analysis, it would show up as the most ineffective, inefficient and dangerous way of dealing with kids having fun.
The nails and barbed wires make the whole place look like HELL! Only those with sick minds could come up with such ugly ideas! How many places could you possibly fill with nails and barbed wires?
I do not see people having fun as a big problem. While we were young, we have fun all over the place. In fact, I would ENCOURAGE young people to mix around with people all around in the neighbourhood to have fun. That will enhance social cohesion to start with! Young people are lacking good, healthy simple social fun nowadays, most are engrossed in computer games which to the parents, are "safe" to keep their kids within the four walls!
Instead of spending money on some "anti-social" nails and barbed wires, the Town Councils should spend some money in building more facilities for young people to play around, mix around. Build simple stree soccer facilities in the neighbourhood lah!
4 Accountability of charity orgs such as NKF.
Singaporeans should be encouraged to take up the responsibility of helping charities to raise funds, as well as the task of putting checks on these organizations.
Laws should be made to make charity organizations to meet disclosures standard, similar to listed companies. Every donors have the right to question the charity organizations that they sponsors. That's how "social ownership" should come about.
5 Media Merger.
That's the biggest "U Turn" we have in years! I take it as a political move, rather than a commercial ones. One of the possible reasons is that election is just around the corner and there is a need to tighten up the screws on the mass media.
Goh Meng Seng
Originally posted by Chia Ti Lik:Dun underestimate the power of the net uncle. It will provide a level playing field. Dun think so highly of yourself and look down on the forumites here.
Meng Seng
Hate to be a spoilsport and interrupt your fun here
It seems like the General Elections will be around the corner. We have to get on with the real ground preparations.
[b]Forum answers do not carry priority. Leave the forumites to their discussions. Such discussions are rhetoric and alone will never change Singapore.
To the entire politics forum
For those who are serious about changing the political landscape and future of this nation, it is time to take a stand and join a political party be it PAP or WP or whatever if you truly believe in your postings . Its about time to stop the No Action Talk Only attitude.
The Workers' Party welcomes volunteers for manpower contributions.
Would you not as a true blooded and patriotic citizen, take a stand and contribute and see for yourself what it takes to fight the PAP or the Opposition on the real battlefield instead of criticising behind from the armchair, and behind a computer and behind a false identity.[/b]
To Goh Meng Seng, while mass media is either barricaded or one sided if not biased, language of communication appear to be an obsticle for many opposition in reaching the people. We may think that most singaporean speak english but i believe the reality is that many chinese stop using proper english when they leave schools and with very little use, their english becomes singlish and is good only for market conversation, not enough for political discussion and understanding. I see big difference in the contents in Lianhe Zhaobao and the ST. Many who speak mandarin or dialects only think very differently from the english speaking. At the moment I dont see any opposition party leaders capable in reaching out to these people.Originally posted by goh meng seng:Dear Ti Lik,
I understand where you are coming from. I have slightly a different view point and I do agree with Paperchicken to a certain extend that forums in Singapore could mould perceptions and fight against the barricades of mass media imposed on alternative politics.
I do not underestimate the power of influence via such medium, after understanding how the general forumites have been subtlely manipulated to form an encaged view of alternative politics. Before I start to write in this and other forums like YPAP forums, I read through many of the postings, supposedly from "middle ground" voters. They formed their opinion and stereotyped opposition in certain set of views; just read the forum page of ST today; all are saying or assuming that opposition parties are not doing their job on the ground....how much do they understand what we are doing on the ground to give such comments? It is indeed sad and yet laughable. What they need to do is only to visit our website www.wp.org.sg, to take a look at photo essays!
Politics is about perception, that's always my view. The fact that most supposedly "educated" people have such shallow views are not due to their fault but due to the very effective blockade of mass media access and social mindset engineering effected by those people up there. We must seek to break through such systematic blockade and I think, at this moment, internet forums are the only efficient and effective means we have. I hold a more strategical view on these engagements.
Don't worry, I will try to make time and balance for everything. I will be back very soon, since the election is nearing.
Goh Meng Seng
Originally posted by sgdiehard:To Goh Meng Seng, while mass media is either barricaded or one sided if not biased, language of communication appear to be an obsticle for many opposition in reaching the people. We may think that most singaporean speak english but i believe the reality is that many chinese stop using proper english when they leave schools and with very little use, their english becomes singlish and is good only for market conversation, not enough for political discussion and understanding. I see big difference in the contents in Lianhe Zhaobao and the ST. Many who speak mandarin or dialects only think very differently from the english speaking. At the moment I dont see any opposition party leaders capable in reaching out to these people.
Understand this is an english forum but pls take note you need to move out of these english forums to reach a portion of the population where the ruling party is very active.
Good luck!
Unfortunately not for discussions on the singapore politics. I go to the Lianhe Zhaobao site but can't say much cause my chinese is terrible. Will ask around and revert when I find out more.Originally posted by goh meng seng:Dear Sgdiehard,
I think you have made a very sharp observations that has been neglected by many people, PAP and opposition members alike.
I am strongly bilingual anyway and I write articles for Hammer both in English and Chinese.
When I do my rounds in door to door visits, my first "contact language" is Mandarin, even though some families may have tuned in to English TV programmes. I find it pretty effective in the HDB heartland but for people who live in executive or mansionette HDB flats, most of them preferred English as a communication language. That's my experience in walkabout.
Most of the time, those who I communicate to in Chinese, will think that I am not a Singaporean but a Mainland Chinese or Taiwanese. I have to explain to them that I am true blue Singaporean, considered as "half Chinese educated".
BTW, do you know of any Chinese forums where there are active political discussion?
Goh Meng Seng
The active forums are those run by Chinese nationals in Singapore. Most of the Chinese educated Singaporeans belong to the older generation and are less internet savy I dun think there is an active chinese political forum around.Originally posted by sgdiehard:Unfortunately not for discussions on the singapore politics. I go to the Lianhe Zhaobao site but can't say much cause my chinese is terrible. Will ask around and revert when I find out more.