Get the Town Council to poke their tyres with nails.Originally posted by Otingocni:Any solutions against dumb bikers who refuse to park in carpark?
Town council often send people down to the neighbourhood issuing summons to those who park illegally.... my place they summon S$100 first time... maybe your town council never do their work... heheheOriginally posted by Otingocni:Any solutions against dumb bikers who refuse to park in carpark?
remember my day..even got soccer court i also dont want....the sun kill me leh.Originally posted by tspg:Town councils resort to embedding nails on walls in common areas and void decks to deter children from playing ball games there. - New Paper.
I think thats really a stupid idea. They shd look at the root of the problem instead. That children have no proper places to play. Build more street soccer courts or educating them not to be inconsiderate by playing at void decks.
Originally posted by the Bear:i still wanna know... where do children go play football then?
Originally posted by Chin Eng:aaarrr??? football field???
Point is, there are places for kids to let off steam. Maybe got to walk a bit. My HDB flat has a basketball court 50m away, a badminton court 30m away, two exercise park/play area within 15m from the void deck. Another larger "colosseum" style play area about 80m away...
It is not that there are no play areas, but some kids choose the void deck 'cos it is convenient. Realistically how to play proper soccer? with pillars all over the place?
There is a place for everything, void deck's not for ball games. Radio control cars maybe, taichi maybe, beyblade maybe; ball games? go to a proper location.
School fields are out of bounds one. In basket ball courts soccer players must complete with basketball players. If there are enough street soccer courts around you think the kids want to play downstairs where there are so many pillars and the space is so small ? I think Town Councils shd construct more street soccer courts.Originally posted by the Bear:i was thinking about other areas...
maybe clementi?
fields are school fields.. fenced... others are so near the roads...
basketball court football is also frowned upon...
oh well... i'm past that age... where we could catch fish in drains, places to run around in, trees to climb... stuff like that?
wtf?? as in if the kid run into the wall, he will be totally impaled into a bloody pulp? I would really like to see thatOriginally posted by tspg:Town councils resort to embedding nails on walls in common areas and void decks to deter children from playing ball games there. - New Paper.
I think thats really a stupid idea. They shd look at the root of the problem instead. That children have no proper places to play. Build more street soccer courts or educating them not to be inconsiderate by playing at void decks.
sign! remember those days, even can catch spiders. Many times balls smashed school's windows, and kena chased by the guards. We were young, we made mistakes, kena reprimanded if suey suey kena caught. But we have good memories.Originally posted by the Bear:i was thinking about other areas...
maybe clementi?
fields are school fields.. fenced... others are so near the roads...
basketball court football is also frowned upon...
oh well... i'm past that age... where we could catch fish in drains, places to run around in, trees to climb... stuff like that?
football fields? well that sure is easy for you to sayOriginally posted by Chin Eng:aaarrr??? football field???
Point is, there are places for kids to let off steam. Maybe got to walk a bit. My HDB flat has a basketball court 50m away, a badminton court 30m away, two exercise park/play area within 15m from the void deck. Another larger "colosseum" style play area about 80m away...
It is not that there are no play areas, but some kids choose the void deck 'cos it is convenient. Realistically how to play proper soccer? with pillars all over the place?
There is a place for everything, void deck's not for ball games. Radio control cars maybe, taichi maybe, beyblade maybe; ball games? go to a proper location.
If they had opened the fields many years before or built more facilities, do you think the kids will play at a void deck?Originally posted by The Barracuda:Maybe the children that are caught should be made to do CWO or clean up the area. That may make them learn from their mistakes. At the same time schools should allow their students to use their facilities and town councils may also consider building more street soccer courts.
How would you like to be a kid, with not much money, wanting to engage in sports, find out that there is no where to play. Not enough facilities and some people just call the cops on you or start measures like these?Originally posted by ShutterBug:Let me ask you people; how, do you like to be walking home after a day's work, or after marketing nearby your home, and being smack on the side of your face or head by a football while passing through the void deck *WHACK!!* And your glasses go flying, the kids just run off.
I had it once, and I have seen old housewives getting hit too.
What if, it was a baby in a pram who gets hit? What do you think the consequences will be?
Children needs a place to play, yes. But this requirement should encroach on the safety of others. Besides, since people don't listen, or cannot control their children, then it's down to hard and fast rules.
It appears to me that the SOFT approach DOES NOT work with Singaporeans.
We must take a carrot and stick approach.Originally posted by kopiosatu:If they had opened the fields many years before or built more facilities, do you think the kids will play at a void deck?
Yes, OPEN the fields first, build facilities. If they fail to obey, PUNISH themOriginally posted by The Barracuda:We must take a carrot and stick approach.
Give them alternative places to play and punish them for playing in the wrong places and destroying public property.
On the other hand....Originally posted by kopiosatu:football fields? well that sure is easy for you to say
Look, schools DO NOT open their fields and when you want to use a field, you have to PAY, almost $90 just for one game.
You play on a school field, someone chases you out. And these kids are KIDS, what do you want them to do? take drugs?
Once again its easy to say, there's basketball court here and there. How many kids can that hold?
The problem in this case is NOT the people or the parents, its the government. For years they have cut down on playing areas. When i was in secondary school, we use to play on a field, we could play up to 20 a side. that's 40 kids?
But then they decided to plant a basketball court and some old folks game area in there. We wrote a petition, many signed. It was ignored. They built it and tell me who the hell plays on that patch of grass anymore. The only thing used is the basketball court which at most can hold 20 people.
Understand the situation, don't brush it off thinking it can be solved just by "going somewhere else"