"Race" itself, does not exist. skin colour and pigmentation takes up less than 1% of humanity's genetic make-up. and that is more of a result of enviornmental factors than inherent "genetic" determinant.Originally posted by SibeiSuayKia:Race itself, is a beauty of nature
Originally posted by SibeiSuayKia:your understanding of it is certainly shallow.
Race itself is Racist . ROFL .
Human Race..Zzzz
Oh yeah, ive forgotten that you don't celebrate CNY , so there's no point talking to you..Neither do i think that you celebrate Hari Raya or any other stuff"neither do i think..." ? hmm... which brings us to a very good point... do YOU think?
When you lose your race, The problem with you is that , no matter where you go, no matter what time you go, you cannot change the way you look, unless you wanna bleach your skin like michael jackson.only racists like u judge a person by their skin colour.
The problem is, i rather have yellow skined making the next wavei assure u, skin colour doesn't determine viciousness... mass murderers have occurred in every culture, every society.
rather then to have a ang mo who goes around Asia and kills people
All the Wars After 1945, all got US involvement..Vietnam and India. go read up.
Instead, China , as mahathir once said before, has not even started any war
with it's neighbour . (Other then the impending taiwan-china war)
Anyway , The Rise of Nationalism, and the believe and urge by Japan to conquer "Asia" and free the people from the foreign powersfrom this senseless and incoherent remark, i can very well see that u know NOTHING about nationalism.
Look how awful has it went..
Mistake 1. Pearl Harbor
And it's all its takes..Nationalism? Nothing more then war-causing elements.
Wake up bro! I might not have that much knowledge about nationalism..
but i do know something.
1. We suffered the same fate as China people, last time Syonan-tonot just us, not just chinese... happened everywhere the japanese landed. but after the initial disruption, they were as eager as the ang mohs to get on with business and Chinese who were willing to cooperate were valuable collaborators. many got richer as a result.
our women got raped..man got tortured..
2. Not only that, if you have read humanities book, we were punishedand u read WHAT humanities book??? your secondary school textbook? you're out of your league if u think that's ALL there is to know.
BECAUSE partly we contributed to the resistance in China,
and donated the money back, Don't forget Tan Kah Kee!
3. WWII Japanese Soldiers hated Chinese , rather then malaystell that to the 1st Malay Regiment. tell that to the Malays who were too closely identified with the British.
because the huge amount of problems encountered by them
while fighting through China..
If you dont see yourself as Chinese, NEVERMIND!only if u tell them... i've been mistaken for japanese, korean, vietnamese, indonesian... the problem is not other people... it is YOU who insist that other people see YOU as chinese... because u simply feel insecure to be yourself.
But the other 6 billion people in this world, see you as Chinese..
So In Fact, you still are, no matter where you go,half my family is malaysian. HAVE YOU LIVED IN MALAYSIA??? do u have anything to share other than stories u "heard from people" ???
China,taiwan,USA or Middle East..
Too bad , you never lived in Malaysia, LOL, where yellow skined people faced some Racism.
PM me if you wanna hear the stories, most of it very unkind,outsiders who own their ass... rhetoric is not the same as reality. they can talk all they want, the reality is still the same... the ethnic chinese controls the economy... THAT's why there's issues... its not a race thing... its money thing.
Cause they perceived yellow skined people as "outsiders"
And here to take over land of bumis,thats why i tell u it doesn't pay to stick out like a sore thumb. why can't we just blend in and get on with business. THAT incidentally, is the southern chinese way. something YOU obviously know nothing about.
We are already sticking out like a sore thumb,
as you can see in the 1992 JOINT HEAVY MILITARY exercise by Malaysia and Indonesia in Johor State..ALSO in the 1998 tense stuff,
don't think you would be able to speak HERE if anything happened in 1992
Anyway who said that we're a midget?u wanna think yourself a giant? then read more and expand your mind cos right now, u're just a frog in the well.
when giants have a brawl we suffer,we loses money as a result,
Who doesn't lose money when giants have a brawl?
giants like USA and China tend to lose more money as well.
Unless your speaking in terms of military fighting rather THEN political brawlsso what? read sun tzu... once u fight, YOU LOSE! any victory won from fighting is a victory where u lose more than u gain.
Even if singapore faces a military threat from larger military powers..
other then USA.
Just wanna tell you that SAF is almost equivalent to Israel/Taiwan in some aspects of our defense.....
Anyway..and u think any other superpower would be kinder on the planet? don't dream... Moscow had just announced it will consider pre-emptive strikes beyond its borders against terrorists. and Russia is not even the superpower that it once was...
USA
1. Global PoliceMan
2. Involved in Active Combat
3. Able to reach anywhere in months
You want USA to occupy more countries?
More civilians die in the newspaper?
Who lose out? its not me LOL..
Racist ?? don't shoot when you think you see a shadow.Originally posted by greengoblin:Friend your topic getting a little too racist for comfort...last warning better tone down.
I do not give a damn whether there is a yellow oasis here or 6 hours away. I am proud that I am Singaporean and that I can live in peace with my non chinese brothers and sisters.
Last warning.![]()
Race is defined a "anyone of the major divisions of mankind, each having distinctive physical characteristics and a common ancestry. Recognising the difference in races is not "racists"!!! There is one common human being, but there are many races, the result of thousands of years of human history.Originally posted by CX:"Race" itself, does not exist. skin colour and pigmentation takes up less than 1% of humanity's genetic make-up. and that is more of a result of enviornmental factors than inherent "genetic" determinant.
"Race" in the manner that u are using it, is an invention of 19th century pseudo-science. in terms of validity, it ranks down there with urine distillation, flat-earth and phrenology.
to suggest that there is more than one "race" of humanity, is quite plainly, racist. we are one human race, differentiated by language, religion and culture.
the chinese conception of "race" throughout history also does not follow your assumptions. in imperial china, to be chinese was to be "han" ... incidentally, that also meant that they came from the north. did your ancestors come from northern china? if u speak teochew, hokkien or cantonese, then kiss your dreams of pure blooded "han" goodbye.
over the years, through migration and inter-marrying, this is no longer as distinct. however, a new dichotomy appeared between "han" and "barbarians"... mongols, manchus, etc etc... and this isn't a split based on blood... it is more a distinction between cultures. barbarians can acquire han culture and become "civilised" as well...
today, we have to be sensitive that there is a difference between "ethnic chinese" and "chinese citizen" . for instance, just because some americans are white, anglo-saxon and protestant doesn't mean that they are british or germans.
moreover, CHINA itself does not acknowledge that all yellow men of chinese heritage are chinese citizens... they believe that all who resides within the boundaries of the People's Republic of China are chinese citizens... whether they are mongols, manchus or tibetans... it is a purely civic conception of a nation. it suits the political realities.
this is a clear difference from a country like say... Japan, where there is a more ethnic conception of what is a nation.
to be sure, both China AND Taiwan disowned all overseas Chinese in the 1950s when they stopped granting Chinese citizenship to overseas-born chinese and encouraged ethnic Chinese to take on the citizenship of the countries they are residing in.
so what's your point? that we all kow tow to china now because they are the next superpower? what makes u think they appreciate our supplication?
to them, u are not a chinese. u are a yellow skinned "lao wai" ...
and what makes u think that a rising china will be beneficial to a small country like Sg? u think they'll be sorry for taking all the manufacturing jobs that used to be based here? or that they'll be sorry to displace us in high level, value added industries as well?
don't be childish. when giants brawl, midgets who gets in the way just get squashed. no matter who dominates the pacific in the next 100 years, we're not going to have it easy and we're gonna hate the results.
it makes much more sense to emphasise the the fact that we exist in southeast asia than to keep sticking out like a sore thumb by stating that we are predominantly chinese and part of "greater china" ...
read more kid... Ernest Gellner, Benedict Anderson and Anthony Smith are good places to start. u know NOTHING about nationalism.
You not happy izzit ?Originally posted by sgdiehard:Racist ?? don't shoot when you think you see a shadow.
You must say :"li bei song si bo?" lai lah! This will sound like you.Originally posted by greengoblin:You not happy izzit ?
i thought national language is SINGLISHOriginally posted by SibeiSuayKia:Sorry pple i dunno my national language is malay..
umm.....................
Funny wor..i all the way thought it's english/chinese..
Originally posted by sgdiehard:acknowledging "differences" in humanity is in itself a very questionable concept. as i mentioned before, physical characteristics like pigment are more likely the results of environment than any inherent genetic determinant.
Race is defined a "anyone of the major divisions of mankind, each having distinctive physical characteristics and a common ancestry. Recognising the difference in races is not "racists"!!! There is one common human being, but there are many races, the result of thousands of years of human history.
Racists are those who believe their own race is more superior than the other races, or those who are preudiced or discriminate against another race. Recognising that I am a Chinese and you are .....does not make me a racist.indeed, it does not. but is chinese a "race" , an ethno-linguistic group, or a cultural identification? it is what individual chinese themselves make of it...
There is a difference between race and nationality. Singaporean is a nationality, not a race!! If you give up singapore citizenship, you cease to be a singaporean. If you are an indian, wherever you go, you are still an indian.that much is obvious, i have no arguments with that. i recognise the differences between ethnicity and nationality. i just object to the label of "race" .
There are FOUR major different races in Singapore, Chinese, Malay, Indian and Eurasians. But ALL are Singaporean.
"lao wai" in China refers specifically to the angmoh, not the overseas Chinese. There are terms such as "hua qiao", "hua ren". They also differentiate between the Hong Kong Chinese, and the Taiwanese Chinese. This does not mean they are discriminating against them.ho ho ho... that is no longer as true as it used to be... the term "hua qiao" was coined with a very specific political agenda... to milk overseas chinese for remissions back to china and donations for taiwan...
Race is a beauty, if we recognise and understand the difference, we will live happily together.humanity itself is a beauty. categorisation of humanity by race is an abomination.
Isn't that what Singapore is all about, racial understanding and tolerance, "don't tell the malay because we are singaporean so why you cannot eat pork like I do."thats why i object to using "race" as a category... because it is inaccurate and sloppy. MUSLIMS do not eat pork. it is a religious distinction. there are indian muslims, arab muslims, malay muslims AND chinese muslims.
Not sure what you mean by questionable. "Difference" is beautiful when the differences are recognised and respected. Race is not defined by colour pigment alone.Originally posted by CX:acknowledging "differences" in humanity is in itself a very questionable concept. as i mentioned before, physical characteristics like pigment are more likely the results of environment than any inherent genetic determinant.
Many Chinese in Singapore have lost their Chinese culture. They have not stayed in Singapore long enough to have their own language, their own cuture or any distinctiveness to be identified as a race. I agree these chinese have problem calling themselves. It is not what they call themselves, it is when you step outside singapore, what do others call you? Singapore is nationality, not a race. Do you recognise you as Chinese, Indian, Malay.... The problem is not with the word race or its concept, it is the singaporean chinese who got problem!indeed, it does not. but is chinese a "race" , an ethno-linguistic group, or a cultural identification? it is what individual chinese themselves make of it...[/quote]
"race" is an english word, well defined in all english dictionaries. It is not what and how the chinese made of it. The front of our IC, right in the middle there is a word "race", what does it signify? it is not for Chinese only.we live in a complex world where one could be ethnically chinese, linguistically speak only english and is a christian by birth... so what would u have them call themselves? is "chinese" a meaningful category in this case? maybe... because they celebrate CNY... because they have a chinese name that follows their christian name... but u see what i'm getting at here?
"race" is an overly ambiguous word that has been carelessly thrown around for too long... especially here.
Won't argue on this, go find out when you visit China. "qiao" does not mean "bridge" here, it means "countrymen residing abroad". Your understanding of Chinese, overseas chinese and China, Taiwan appear to be very superficial and one sided, to say the least. But not going to argue with you on that.
ho ho ho... that is no longer as true as it used to be... the term "hua qiao" was coined with a very specific political agenda... to milk overseas chinese for remissions back to china and donations for taiwan...
and when china opened up, it was used to milk overseas chinese investment capital. the term "hua qiao" was taken very literally, as the "bridge" back to the chinese mainland... if u ask me, it was the bridge which the money flows and not much else.
now, the term has lost much of its original connotations. an overseas chinese investor who decides to plunge his money into china is no longer the bridge... he is merely another investor. and if u do not speak the language, as many ABCs do not, u are merely a "lao wai" to them.
"lao wai" no longer refers specifically to ang mohs. .
humanity itself is a beauty. categorisation of humanity by race is an abomination. .
Originally posted by sgdiehard:Before you object to race as a category, understand what "race" means, or what it is supposed to mean. If you don't understand how race, religion, language or cultures differ, it does not mean race, religion...have no meanings. As you said humanity is complex, we may not be able to differentiate the differences in one or two sentence, but surely and clearly, there is not ony one race.
Such a misogynist.No wonder all your posts in the other forums only speak of racial superiority and the belittlement of the peoples in this archipelago.We may be on the ascendancy at the moment, our nation might be the richest here and possess an influence worthy of a country four or five times our base population.But we must never think ourselves as eternally the best and reach beyond for something or some country that has shown it's true colours in her treatment of nations far smaller than her.I'm proud that our state language is Malay.It ties us to the roots of the Straits, whom we survived for our subsistence for a long time and will always be for times to come.Originally posted by SibeiSuayKia:HaH.
Even the koreans are proud of themselves as KOREANS and proud of their national language etc..
Just mean..Why is it a language that hardly anyone speaks?
ALSO,We can't hide the fact that we are a pre-dominantly majority race country.
We got a high percentage of 75% and even m'sia with 60% of thier predominantly majority race , also calls themselve of a certain race and etc
what's wrong with being a little yellow oasis?
im proud that im a little yellow oasis and yes.
a yellow part of oasis with ethnic relationships to my friends in
Hong Kong,Taiwan, ShangHai,Beijing,Macau , top cities of asia to come.
China is going to be the next america.
Population almost 3 times larger then USA , World's strongest country
Just don't get it, singapore ironically has one of the smallest populations in the world, yet as our race, we got over 1.4 billion people LOL...
We may be singaporean, but we still have chinese new year,
unless your talking about you don't celebrate CNY , den i got nothing to say about you.
Im now talking about u know..last time..we could have like
made it into English or whatever..or no national language at all..
Just like there's no official religion in singapore..
just only have major religions and major races..
no official races..pure meritocracy..
Nope , i mean what's wrong with being a yellow little oasis,
when you got a A huge yellow oasis about 6 hours away?
Against China?Originally posted by LazerLordz:Such a misogynist.No wonder all your posts in the other forums only speak of racial superiority and the belittlement of the peoples in this archipelago.We may be on the ascendancy at the moment, our nation might be the richest here and possess an influence worthy of a country four or five times our base population.But we must never think ourselves as eternally the best and reach beyond for something or some country that has shown it's true colours in her treatment of nations far smaller than her.I'm proud that our state language is Malay.It ties us to the roots of the Straits, whom we survived for our subsistence for a long time and will always be for times to come.
Our culture may become quite American in outlook and our racial mix might be Chinese majority, but I have to say that there is pride in your own corner of the world.We may be on our guard against our neighbours most of the time, we may look down on their equipment and poke fun at their operational status, but when the button is pressed, I would rather we fight alongside each other in arms against China , whose belligerant nationalism is quite clearly expounded these days and is quite keen on her expansion into the South China Sea, and has stated on more than once occasion by her academics that our Straits of Malacca is a potential bottleneck to China in times of a conflict.We will stand with nations whose interests mirror ours and we as a people , I can feel, will not stand with China.We are only doing business with her and as they always say, never sleep with your business partners.Overseas Chinese have a culture that is non-reconciliable with the mainland.The differences in mentality is very much clear.I hope you realise what I am saying.
SBSK, stay in the forum under military nuts to continue your "paper talk on war." But pls note that even our grandfathers have given up their links with china, ROC or PRC. While we have our roots traced to China, we should always remember what the old folks say:"Neighbours are better than distant relatives."Originally posted by SibeiSuayKia:Against China?
Lol....guess what will happen if our grandfathers read it..
Aniwae, i have my roots traced before , and i will not do anything harm to members of my same clan.
China indeed has belligerent attitude, but hey , have they caused any conflicts or any confrontations here
Yeap Overseas chinese and the mainland chinese indeed do have some differences in outlook perhaps some cultures more westernised and probably they love democracy? , that is 1 thing i agree with you.
How sure are you that OUR neighbours will not "friendly fire" us or "collaborate" with the perceived enemies in this scenario??
HaHaHa..
If SAF is built for a future war with China , like Taiwan , we would have over 150 F-16s and alot of aegis and kidd class destroyers..
It only shows your theory won't work
Furthermore if any kind of clashes occur, 1/3 of our forces, namely the
bionix and AMX-10 will be fighting in urban scenario or maybe none at all
And how do u match a tiny Fearless-Class PV or Delta class frigate against their nuclear armed Soveremnys?
Just imagine, 1 Aegis Destroyer is sold to Tw for $1 BILLION USD .
for $1 BILLION USD, we bought 6 Delta frigates.
Haha , if that kind of mentioned scenario takes "place"
i think the only possible stuff thats remain is simple, we can only join forces with TW , maybe could be strong enough..LOL..
Aniwae..why do u get so fed up? Even US also faces some flak from China sometimes..don't insist that people pick on you because u are small ..etc ..etc
Originally posted by sgdiehard:....China towns, symbol of chinese cultures, remain in almost every corner of the world, but mainland China, no matter how strong they are or will be, have influence whatsoever on them.
You made my stand just that bit clearer to that ten-cent paper general.Salut!Originally posted by sgdiehard:SBSK, stay in the forum under military nuts to continue your "paper talk on war." But pls note that even our grandfathers have given up their links with china, ROC or PRC. While we have our roots traced to China, we should always remember what the old folks say:"Neighbours are better than distant relatives."
Chinese cultures over the last century have been modified, even in China itself, under the rule of the communists. ROC which used to be the most 'Chinese', is now turning "green" and is becoming only a small hokkian island. While Chinese throughout the world are looking for identifications to their Chineseness, those who live in independent countries, are clear and quick to identify themselves and their loyalty with the countries to which they belong. It is important that Chinese Singaporean, or Singaporean Chinese do not get carried away with the ugly nationalism which appears to be rising among some of the mainland Chinese youths.
China towns, symbol of chinese cultures, remain in almost every corner of the world, but mainland China, no matter how strong they are or will be, have influence whatsoever on them.
Nice 1..i pressed escape button and my posts gone..Originally posted by sgdiehard:SBSK, stay in the forum under military nuts to continue your "paper talk on war." But pls note that even our grandfathers have given up their links with china, ROC or PRC. While we have our roots traced to China, we should always remember what the old folks say:"Neighbours are better than distant relatives."
Chinese cultures over the last century have been modified, even in China itself, under the rule of the communists. ROC which used to be the most 'Chinese', is now turning "green" and is becoming only a small hokkian island. While Chinese throughout the world are looking for identifications to their Chineseness, those who live in independent countries, are clear and quick to identify themselves and their loyalty with the countries to which they belong. It is important that Chinese Singaporean, or Singaporean Chinese do not get carried away with the ugly nationalism which appears to be rising among some of the mainland Chinese youths.
China towns, symbol of chinese cultures, remain in almost every corner of the world, but mainland China, no matter how strong they are or will be, have influence whatsoever on them.
This is what I support.Come down to it,I'd rather make a last stand with the 1st Royal Malay Regiment fighting against any invaders than side with belligerent Chinese nationalists.While I respect the Chinese,they are getting too nationalistic for their own good.There is a fine line between nationalism and patriotism.Being nationalistic means loving your country and hating all others,in my definition.Being patriotic means loving your country with its inherent faults and accepting them,trying to improve them and respecting other countries for their abilities and skill.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Such a misogynist.No wonder all your posts in the other forums only speak of racial superiority and the belittlement of the peoples in this archipelago.We may be on the ascendancy at the moment, our nation might be the richest here and possess an influence worthy of a country four or five times our base population.But we must never think ourselves as eternally the best and reach beyond for something or some country that has shown it's true colours in her treatment of nations far smaller than her.I'm proud that our state language is Malay.It ties us to the roots of the Straits, whom we survived for our subsistence for a long time and will always be for times to come.
Our culture may become quite American in outlook and our racial mix might be Chinese majority, but I have to say that there is pride in your own corner of the world.We may be on our guard against our neighbours most of the time, we may look down on their equipment and poke fun at their operational status, but when the button is pressed, I would rather we fight alongside each other in arms against China , whose belligerant nationalism is quite clearly expounded these days and is quite keen on her expansion into the South China Sea, and has stated on more than once occasion by her academics that our Straits of Malacca is a potential bottleneck to China in times of a conflict.We will stand with nations whose interests mirror ours and we as a people , I can feel, will not stand with China.We are only doing business with her and as they always say, never sleep with your business partners.Overseas Chinese have a culture that is non-reconciliable with the mainland.The differences in mentality is very much clear.I hope you realise what I am saying.