all my relative live in Cheras..[bao dang]..Originally posted by burntan:I am Malaysian Chinese living in Kuala Lumpur, Cheras.
Check my IP addresss, it is from Streamyx, TM-net (Telekom ISP).
Hey, I am Malaysian doesn't mean that I am Singaporean's enemy, ok?
Some resistant is expected, but we need a open heart to discuss sensitive issue.
It started when I read a news from other forum saying that our former PM Dr. M comment on Singaporean Malays living a less fortunate life compare to Malaysian Malay. He also hint that Singaporen Malays are poorly treated in Singapore, which I doubt it. In order to find out if this is really the truth, I start this thread to ask Singaporean Malay.Originally posted by tspg:What the point of bring up the issue here if most of the people here are Chinese ?
You give people the impression that you are trying to start a bash minority thread here.
The policies of each country is different and formulated to suit its own needs. The circumstances of Malaysian and Singapore is very different. Whats the point of bringing up such a discussion here. I really question your motive.
I am living in Taman Midah (bao dang) as well.... I don't think if you are doing any proper business here without violate any laws and you need to pay Kopi money every month.Originally posted by paperduck:all my relative live in Cheras..[bao dang]..
i never say malaysia chn is singapore enemy. i study at KL 1/2 before,
alway stay between singapore and malaysia.
so i know malaysia malay had treat malaysia chn quite badly. my auntie open a coffee shop in cheras..the businese is getting harder and harder, just becos the malaysia only take kopi money from chinese shop. my aunty worship them RM1500 every month.. why?
Why you need to pay them? Did you violate any laws?Originally posted by paperduck:i hate only UMNO in malaysia and the kopi money from chinese.
i spend RM200 last month when i visit malaysia, Rm100 for custom , RM100 for road block when they see my singapore ic..
otherwise , i love malaysia like how i love my brother.
actually i not the person who pay..any uncle pay for me..because i cannot make myself giving money to ppl who wear police uniform.Originally posted by burntan:Why you need to pay them? Did you violate any laws?
i suspect u really living in malaysia.. if u think only ppl who voilate law will pay kopi money.. save lah.Originally posted by burntan:I am living in Taman Midah (bao dang) as well.... I don't think if you are doing any proper business here without violate any laws and you need to pay Kopi money every month.
I started a few businesses here as well and I never need to pay any Kopi money to survive.
I mean you can't stop them from accepting kopi money if you keep on offer them kopi money.....Originally posted by paperduck:actually i not the person who pay..any uncle pay for me..because i cannot make myself giving money to ppl who wear police uniform.
i also dont want to to about the money liao.
but i think you question have problem..you mean if i really voilate laws so they have reason to take kopi money ? why dont they send me jail? or ban me from enter malaysia at custom.
I understand that, I joined forums in Malaysia, US, Taiwan, Hong Kong and now Singapore.... I won't easily get offended.Originally posted by paperduck:anyway..we can stop the subject between this liao, go back to ur topic u interested.
you must come to singapore to EXP ...from forum, you must understand that forum tok mostly turn abit unfriendly.. we singaporean alway fight in this post also.
Sorry to continue this hor. But I am curious as to why you need to pay up as well.Originally posted by paperduck:i hate only UMNO in malaysia and the kopi money from chinese.
i spend RM200 last month when i visit malaysia, Rm100 for custom , RM100 for road block when they see my singapore ic..
otherwise , i love malaysia like how i love my brother.
Housing Development Board. The government body that builds all those wonderful housing for 80%(?) of the population. Ranges from about 80 sqm to 150 sqm (numbers approximate).Originally posted by burntan:BTW, an OT question: What is HDB flat? Some of you sound like very proud to own one.....
Errr??? Didn't you just answered your own question???Originally posted by Qitai:Sorry to continue this hor. But I am curious as to why you need to pay up as well.
My father is a Malaysian and I visit him at least once monthly. Annually, I go to Malaysia at least about 20 times a year to places as far as Terrenganu or even to Thailand once (I don't go JB though).
But I rarely need to pay Kopi $$. Only pay it once or twice when I was caught speeding and wanted the easy way out (And the amount is less than the actual fine if I let them give me the summon). Other than that, never had any problem.
Originally posted by Chin Eng:Thank you for your answer on the HDB flat...BTW, why is it only for the 80% of the population? Which group will benefit from it?
Housing Development Board. The government body that builds all those wonderful housing for 80%(?) of the population. Ranges from about 80 sqm to 150 sqm (numbers approximate).
Your question on the kopi money is real. It is so strange to me that you've not heard of it. Haven't you heard all the horror stories of how a Malaysian traffic police chase down a Singapore car and insist that the car is speeding? The Singapore driver will either have to settle the case with the Malaysian court or give the dirty cop some money and settle it on the spot (without receipt of course).
How about the point I raised earlier that all retail businesses will have to employ a Malay in the premise?
I think the issue is already very clear, that the Singapore Malays are NOT WORST off that their Malaysian counterparts as claimed by Dr M.
What is true is Malaysian Malays are BETTER TREATED than Malaysian CHINESE!
Personally, I think is strange that you are asking such a question 'cos in my dealings with my Malaysian friends and customers, they are all aware of the difference in treatment between Chinese and Malays there.
It is strange because, according to what you've written, you are a working adult, even starting various businesses, yet your questions seem so naive.
Can you quote us some? It should be interesting. I work in a company that has a major part of the assembly line workers coming in from JB each day. It seems that they are enjoying their job immensely. I also have one colleague who is a high level engineer that commutes from JB each morning. He's always being made fun of because he makes Sing dollars and live in the JB economy.Originally posted by burntan:BTW, FYI we do not usually get the news about how singaporean being ill treat by Malaysian traffic police, just like Singaporean seldom hear any news about how Malaysian workers suffer in Singaporen Company.
Nope. In my case, I did speed. I did intentionally bribe the cop so I actually paid less than what I would have to pay if I accept the fine.Originally posted by Chin Eng:Errr??? Didn't you just answered your own question???
Point is, why do you need to pay a cop to let you off for an offence that may be difficult to prove (maybe not in your case, if you admitted to speeding). In many cases, the charges seem too trumped up.
Why is it only for the 80%..., very funny question leh. The government build many HDB flats for those who want them. It so happens that 80% of the population want to live there. The rest live in house, condos, apartments... Mind you, HDB is not like those Malaysian subsidised flats. Many HDB flats are better renovated than condos!! What is important to note is that a very high majority, may be like 75% own the flats we live in.Originally posted by burntan:Thank you for your answer on the HDB flat...BTW, why is it only for the 80% of the population? Which group will benefit from it?
I think you have some misunderstand about Malaysia, it is not true that every retail businesses must employ a Malay in the premise. A lot of Chinese fully owned retail business here in Malaysia without any Malay worker.
BTW, FYI we do not usually get the news about how singaporean being ill treat by Malaysian traffic police, just like Singaporean seldom hear any news about how Malaysian workers suffer in Singaporen Company.
Got meh? Not in Batu Pahat where my father stays.Originally posted by Chin Eng:How about the point I raised earlier that all retail businesses will have to employ a Malay in the premise?
eh abang...never trust what Dr M said....he said Anwar sucked c.o.c.k......do u believe that? if u do, then i have nothing to tell u.........Originally posted by burntan:Do you think it is better to be a Malaysian Malay or Singapore Malay?
Recently our former PM (Dr. M) said that Singapore Malay are poor treated, they have no status and no chance to be govt minister, is it true?
I am Malaysian.
Originally posted by Qitai:Got meh? Not in Batu Pahat where my father stays.
Yo Lance.... relak lah....Originally posted by 2004Lancer:especially Rafidah..if i see her outside i surely will hatam her until her face becomes pig head......and if i see Hamid outside, i surely will punch him on his left eye......
Like I said, you don't usually hear anything bad about your country when you are "in" it. Just like most China citizen doesn't know there are people kill in 64 incident.Originally posted by sgdiehard:Where did you get the news on "how Malaysian workers suffer in Singaporean Company." is that your preassumption or this was published in malaysian papers?? Lets clear this if you think we have misunderstanding about Malaysia!! or we do not get the news!!
I am a singaporean chinese, with many relatives and friends in malaysia.
Originally posted by burntan:It is probably true that there are Singaporeans are unfriendly and some Singaporeans may sound proud and boastful when it comes to the issue of wealth and patriotism. For that, may I apologise to you.
Like I said, you don't usually hear anything bad about your country when you are "[b]in" it. Just like most China citizen doesn't know there are people kill in 64 incident.
BTW, I am not a representative of Malaysian and I don't plan to act like one. I just trying to answer questions here based on my knowledge and experience. The stories I heard about Malaysian workers in Singapore is thru my relative who work in Singapore and some friend's friend who work in Singapore. They comment that Singaporean are not friendly, they think that they are higher class people compare to Malaysian.
You know what? I experienced something similiar here when some of you start posting how rich Singaporean are compare to Malaysian, where by most of you can buy expensive bangalow here in JB.