Originally posted by ooh_lala:i don't feel like i'm a singaporean or a chinese... how?
what the Fuck are you babbling about insane fool?Originally posted by Dr Who:Sometimes I think I am Chinese....
Then at other times, I think I am singaporean......so damn the Chinese, Damn the Chinese language.....damn the China people..........damn Chinese traditions....damn everything chinese.......
Then I go back and I think I am Chinese again.......
Fully agree. need to make the diff between citizenship and race. Also, it is what others see us, not what we claim ourselves to be. Give up Singapore citizenship and migrate to US, you are then not singaporean anymore. I don't know what the yankee will call you but yr children will be known as ABC.Originally posted by elindra:Err I think of myself this way:
Race: Chinese
Citizen: Singaporean
However, in terms of traditions and values, I'm really not very chinese (mandarin suks, can hardly speak dialect, don't listen to chinese songs or watch chinese shows/movies. Chinese traditions?? Besides CNY, my family does not celebrate any other kind. BFs??? Either non-chinese or they're like me; they grew up on potatoes) Kinda like a banana if you wanna think of it in those terms. Yellow on the outside, white in the inside.
So what does that make me? Cosmopolitan? I don't know
I know, I know, you are elindra.Originally posted by elindra:Err I think of myself this way:
Race: Chinese
Citizen: Singaporean
However, in terms of traditions and values, I'm really not very chinese (mandarin suks, can hardly speak dialect, don't listen to chinese songs or watch chinese shows/movies. Chinese traditions?? Besides CNY, my family does not celebrate any other kind. BFs??? Either non-chinese or they're like me; they grew up on potatoes) Kinda like a banana if you wanna think of it in those terms. Yellow on the outside, white in the inside.
So what does that make me? Cosmopolitan? I don't know
I think you misunderstood what I'm trying to say.Originally posted by idwar:But no matter how much potatos you eat, you will never be White.
No matter how many Ang Mo boy friends you have, you will never be accepted as Ang Mor Char Bor.
I agree with you. Other than our packaging (skin color) the blood that runs through our veins are red, for everyone.Originally posted by burntan:I know, I know, you are elindra.
Sooner or later, the world will understand there is no race or citizenship, we are only human.
Identity crisis.Originally posted by ooh_lala:i don't feel like i'm a singaporean or a chinese... how?
Haha. I get that alot too when I'm playing on the USA servers. Then I have to go into a lengthy explaination on the geography and ethnic make-up of SingaporeOriginally posted by Lingos:Identity crisis.
I always say i'm Singaporean. Cos if you say that you're a Chinese when they ask if you're Japanese/Korean. They say.. Ohhh you speak good english for someone from China. I'm like.. Yeah.. no no Singapore.
Then they say.. Do you speak Singaporean..??!?
I'm like.. NO i don't speak Singaporean.
hahahhahahahah
I just let them live in ignorance.Originally posted by elindra:Haha. I get that alot too when I'm playing on the USA servers. Then I have to go into a lengthy explaination on the geography and ethnic make-up of Singapore
Yeah i see that propaganda at a young age has worked on most of us.Originally posted by SilverKris:all of us should think of ourselves as SINGAPOREAN first lor..tat's e most impt. black white yellow purple green....all sing national anthem rite?![]()
Yeah i see that propaganda at a young age has worked on most of us.no errr.....sing national anthem oso propaganda meh? all countries teach their people national anthem and have pride, patriotic in their country rite? see olympics..oso can confirm. i go aus oso see their people sing national song.