is that your soul writing here, I thought seven month over oredi. where is your body?Originally posted by kiri:Our soul has no race, language or country. Everyone is the same.
X2. I tried that for a long time. The only time they remember singapore is when they have girlfriends here. America is the world, the rest is "rest of the world."Originally posted by Lingos:I just let them live in ignorance.
Why bother?
You believed in afterlife? OMG!Originally posted by kiri:Our soul has no race, language or country. Everyone is the same.
chinese singaporean is termed as people of chinese race or people from china who is of singapore race and from singaporeOriginally posted by skyfoo:i would call myself chinese singaporean. chinese is being termed as people of chinese race or people from china. so chinese singaporean is a better term.
Our country is fairly good, although our government leaves a lot to desire.But I have no wish to call China my homeland.I am Singaporean with Chinese blood, born in the Malay Archipelago, able to eat chili, drink red wine, watch plays from Czech Republic, order Char Kway Teow in Hokkien, aim to live in New York once, feel at home in Ang Mo Kio or Abu Dhabi.I watch EPL, but loved to see carpark rallies in Kallang.My breakfast is ham and egg sandwiches, my lunch is mee soto and my dinner, prawn mee soup.I go to church on Sundays but I love to see the colour of a getai.I celebrate CNY and Christmas with the same passion.I want to be a citizen of the world, but I think I was born too early.Am I a oxymoron?But I think this is who I am,and no one can deny me, me.Originally posted by SilverKris:no errr.....sing national anthem oso propaganda meh? all countries teach their people national anthem and have pride, patriotic in their country rite? see olympics..oso can confirm. i go aus oso see their people sing national song.
i think u kenna foreign propaganda lah. they indoctinate u 'sg bad, sg govt bad, sg ppl all brainwash, dont sing majula singapura'...aiyo...must u must know right and wronglah. like that u better move abroad and become citizen of some other country.![]()
wah u eat the same old stuff everyday?Originally posted by LazerLordz:Our country is fairly good, although our government leaves a lot to desire.But I have no wish to call China my homeland.I am Singaporean with Chinese blood, born in the Malay Archipelago, able to eat chili, drink red wine, watch plays from Czech Republic, order Char Kway Teow in Hokkien, aim to live in New York once, feel at home in Ang Mo Kio or Abu Dhabi.I watch EPL, but loved to see carpark rallies in Kallang.My breakfast is ham and egg sandwiches, my lunch is mee soto and my dinner, prawn mee soup.I go to church on Sundays but I love to see the colour of a getai.I celebrate CNY and Christmas with the same passion.I want to be a citizen of the world, but I think I was born too early.Am I a oxymoron?But I think this is who I am,and no one can deny me, me.
Finally the sequence is put right, you recognising your identity first then define how you are different from the other chinese in the world. Great!!Originally posted by LazerLordz:Our country is fairly good, although our government leaves a lot to desire.But I have no wish to call China my homeland.I am Singaporean with Chinese blood, born in the Malay Archipelago, able to eat chili, drink red wine, watch plays from Czech Republic, order Char Kway Teow in Hokkien, aim to live in New York once, feel at home in Ang Mo Kio or Abu Dhabi.I watch EPL, but loved to see carpark rallies in Kallang.My breakfast is ham and egg sandwiches, my lunch is mee soto and my dinner, prawn mee soup.I go to church on Sundays but I love to see the colour of a getai.I celebrate CNY and Christmas with the same passion.I want to be a citizen of the world, but I think I was born too early.Am I a oxymoron?But I think this is who I am,and no one can deny me, me.
hahah.. Yeah true..Originally posted by sgdiehard:X2. I tried that for a long time. The only time they remember singapore is when they have girlfriends here. America is the world, the rest is "rest of the world."
That's the way.We should never let language be the sole gauge of how you identify yourself as.It's sad that many want to deny their own identity but identity is dynamic, but you need to acknowledge whatever parts you have , or else you would not become whole.Originally posted by sgdiehard:Finally the sequence is put right, you recognising your identity first then define how you are different from the other chinese in the world. Great!!
Me too, born in Malaysia, not malaysian, but singaporean. Born with Chinese blood, but not a mainland chinese, but a singaporean chinese. Live singapore lifestyle, i.e. eat prata for breakfast....I know more about other races than other chinese in china, HK and Taiwan. I know more about other religions, especially islam and hinduism because their followers live in my neighbourhood, just like christians, taoists and buddists. Different from other chinese, can't speak good mandarin, but I am still a chinese, a singaporean chinese.
Ha Ha Ha.Originally posted by Lingos:hahah.. Yeah true..
When they go.. Ooohhhh.. i know where. Then start speaking some half arse Mandarin or malay. *Blank stare* followed by.. "ok what did you just say?"
Then they go? What you don't speak Malay?
Yeah i know..Originally posted by Qitai:Ha Ha Ha.
Got a feeling of Deja Vu here.
Nope. Never get the second one. Just the Malay thing. A lady just say "Apa Khabar?" to me. And I was caught off guard and just huh? What did she just say. Then... I realize she is speaking Malay. Ha Ha Ha.Originally posted by Lingos:Yeah i know..
Cos i'm a girl.. it's much worse. Drunk guys trying to impress you all the time.
Usually i'm like? Yeah.. aloof and rolls eyes.. Well.. if he's not good looking lah. ahhah.
Oh .. do you get the "do you speak singaporean." as well. This happened at a job interview.. i would have though Kraft accountants are well travelled.. obviously not. Made me laugh and must have embarrassed her a little. NO doubt i didn't get the job. ahahh.
They used to think we are the same, culturally and every aspect. Now they know we are different. In China, singaporean chinese is a force being reckoned with, along with Taiwanese and Hong Kongers. If you are malaysian chinese, macau chinese or american chinese, you are not chinese. They have this to say about this three groups of non-china chinese, : Taiwanese have no shame (wu chi), HongKonger have no sentiment (wu qing) and Singaporean are naive (wu zhi). Generally they like to deal with singaporean chinese. They never perceived singaporean chinese as chap cheng.Originally posted by Dr Who:Do Chinese people in China see the Singaporean as a fellow Chinese and an equal?
Or are we perceived as lesser mix-blood beings (Chap cheng) from south east asia?
huh? why's that?Originally posted by sgdiehard:If you are malaysian chinese, macau chinese or american chinese, you are not chinese.
the entertainment scene is very thriving lol...........Originally posted by vito_corleone:taiwan IMO is just a cheap backyard factory island that produces low cost computer parts and some of the most horrible music,fashion and culture the world has ever seen. remember those sq planes that crashed? those scumbag scally-wags actually demanded that we pay them for "losses" when all that was lost were hundreds of S'porean lives and a plane. I say fuck taiwan.
I once introduced a malaysian to a mainland chinese in Xian, his response:"how come malaysian got chinese name?"Originally posted by oldbreadstinks:huh? why's that?