Did we ever propose that? Got source?Originally posted by [ Neo ]:They finally realized how silly and negative that curved bridge's construction is going impact on bilateral ties.
It's funny how we can all benefit from a significantly cheaper method of easing the daily tranffic on the Causeway when all the Malaysian Government needs to do is to agree for our MRT line to be extended from either Kranji or Marsiling straight into the JB City district.
Oh well.
KIV for how long?Originally posted by yoongf:KIV a project due to budget constraints does not mean project is no longer going to proceed.
It could also mean put on hold till this becomes a priority project. Therefore, those fiscal statements should not be construed as the bridge no longer a consideration.
Until Msia formally inform Sg through the foreign affairs ministries that the bridge is no longer being considered then, can we safely drop the issue.
Originally posted by sbst275:KIV for how long?
Are u sure? The 2nd link bridge does not allow PTP ships to use as of the pillarsOriginally posted by LittleTiger:That bridge if the ship passable or got any ship wanna cuts by spore-johor straits only profited the "god son" al-bulkary onwer of Tanjong Perlepas Ports.
But the extra cost will be burden by the poor motorist, poor malaysia worker where they wake up 4 to 5 am in the morning coming to spore to work.
Imagine the $$$ we are paying for the trip at 2nd link? And this proposed bridege cost much more than the 2nd link. So mean we gotta pay like double the amount we are paying at 2nd links. That is like slightly less than S$20 or 40++ ringgit for the trips!!!!!
Imagine those poor hardworking malaysia worker......
Govenrment shall not squeeze from the poor and florish the rich to become tycoon. So stop complaining Spore Government.
Furthermore that bridge is a 6 lane (3 lane for each direction) and sometimes still jam up, if you built a bridge so costly..... one of your aim is to ease the conjestion. And dont tell me Malaysia gonna built a 8 lane hanging bridge!!!!
And that bridge will be so high, those on walking will be like climbing the bridge(like a mountain) going to JB side.
And it also proposed an open up bridge for ships to go through. If you guys ever crossed the bridge on weekend u know every minutes there are so many cars. Imagine the bridge was stop for 5 minutes every half hours. The cars will plies from JB downtown to Taman Sentosa or Pelangi or from Woodlands to Kranji BKE.
Please spare a thought for the poor people....!!!!
Come think of it, I'm not sure myself if the proposal had been formally announced. I learnt about the plan for the extension across the bridge from someone who was directly involved in the MRT electical system's design, construction and maintenance.Originally posted by Qitai:Did we ever propose that? Got source?
Don't know leh. Last time got people tell me different story. They say Singapore government on purpose don't want the MRT to reach the custom one. They don't want people to go JB. So how? Which one should I believe?Originally posted by [ Neo ]:Come think of it, I'm not sure myself if the proposal had been formally announced. I learnt about the plan for the extension across the bridge from someone who was directly involved in the MRT electical system's design, construction and maintenance.
Apparently some hitches from the Malaysian side obstructed the process. Otherwise, the extension might have been build also during the time when the NS line got extended to Woodlands. Even now if you look out of the window towards the Causeway's direction when you are on the NS line, you can still see a plot of land where infrasture pillars and rail can be constructed over still being left vacant as part of a small neighbourhood park.
It will of course, be in Singapore's best interest and advantage if we could really gain access into the Malaysian's rail system share of pie.Originally posted by robertteh:Singapore needs hinterland which will provide greater resources, cheaper labor and water to provide for our needs of a projected 5 million population.
If Malaysia is to suspend or cancell the causeway bridge project, well we may leave it at that to avoid incurring higher costs to our economy.
On the other hand, if they are serious on building a causeway bridge, we can capitalize on it and try to propose an MRT system to link up the whole peninsula up to Thailand in a bigger rail system to integrate Singapore to the whole hinterland.
Conditions for agreeing to causeway bridge can include: Future linking of MRT of Singapore to rail or fast-speed monorail which will join to Thailand, Indo-China and China. It is then worth our while to pay for additional costs due to causeway bridge.![]()
heh heh.. if I can answer that.. I finance minister calibre liao! The msia govt also have not put a timeline.Originally posted by sbst275:KIV for how long?
You mean barges? TEU ships are between 200 - 8000Originally posted by yoongf:heh heh.. if I can answer that.. I finance minister calibre liao! The msia govt also have not put a timeline.
eh.. ppl...
The Msia proposal is for a curved bridge for cars. Only the train section will be "opened up" as and when required for ships to pass, since trains cannot possibly make the incline given the short distance of the gap. That's why ppl called it the harp design.. 1 straight track + 1 curved road.
Let's not forget that demolishing the causeway = diversion of pipeline hor.
Actually.. the issue is that the existing Causeway is not the cause of the jams. It's the CIQ on both sides that causes the backlog. In my opinion.. the causeway is fine. If water quality is an issue. then... dig small culverts underneath certain sections will resolve that.
Even if got bridge, is the water deep enuf for container ships to pass through?
If got chance take a look at the waters between Kranji dam and LCK jetty.. it's almost like a mud plain! At best I think is only passable by a small coastal feeder vessel, like those in HK, carrying less than 10 containers. So... I think.. bridge proposal not meaningful. CIQ more important.
Worst is that the pillars.... Anyway, PTP is no longer charming aft we went on the offensive..Originally posted by yoongf:Yes.. barges.
Just look at the 2nk Link.. not many ship mast can clear that height as of now.