Your solution for your predicament is to complain to your MP??? ... and *POOOOOF*! You expect him to .... do what, exactly?Originally posted by miong:As if I did not, I and many others have made ourselves heard in a thousand way.
I could try to be pretensiously patriotic, that would be working against the interests of every citizen.
One typical way to improve our lot is -
the high cost of living . Many Singaporeans have brought this subject up to MPs.
Has anything been done besides the usual rhetoric of excuses?
No.
Want to hear some more on how we can improve the lives of Singaporeans?
Ar? me foreign talent liao.....if I stay back in sg ...me = mati financially. Yes, talk is cheap . That is why I went overseas to get what I want in life , instead of whining about no jobs back home. Thank you for pointing out why I should not be in SingaporeOriginally posted by sgdiehard:Looking at many of those postings which concluded that there is no true democracy in singapore, you should not be in Singapore!!
Making judgement on what is good and bad is easy. Many theories exist only in ideal situation which does not exist. Talk is cheap!
Nothing is perfect, play your part in improving it so that those around you can be proud of you.
long history of disciplinary problems? To me disciplinary problems = police case problems ....unless you talk about homework not done or act pai kia and teacher caught you for vulgar utterings...that's nothing. If you have a police case - no way you can get scholarship from govt. If you are talking about special gifted stream, no wonder you are with pap...you guys get the best stuff.Originally posted by Qitai:I am a FT of USA. Working for a USA firm from Singapore. Why worry about FT. Be one yourself.[/quote]
YEAH! Agreed![]()
. Why moan about foreign talents taking away jobs when you can be one urself.
[quote]Originally posted by runningismylife:
likewise you're equally ignorant. even in switzerland, economical landscapes are bound to change. so what is there to confirm that what i want to be would be there in 10 years time?
btw, even God can't guarantee your starting pay in 10 years time.
btw just to fulfil your survey: i'm in Special stream. my future would be great. i would go to a foreign university under a scholarship. and i think i should have a minimum wage of $1500amonth, and i believe with hard work comes a great future. so wad do u think?
btw if i'm ur typical singaporean nerd. nah i guess you'd wrong. i have a long history of disciplinary problems regardless of the school i am in. i am a compulsive gambler who happens to love betting with singapore pools with the help of my parents.
and yes, regardless of this, i'm still with the PAP. you could say that to me, the opposition stink.
Migrate to Africa. The cost of living there will be lower.Originally posted by Bamboozler:Your solution for your predicament is to complain to your MP??? ... and *POOOOOF*! You expect him to .... do what, exactly?
I have a solution. Save money. Leave the country.
But I have a funny feeling that no matter where you go ... you'll find a way to make yourself unhappy!
Perhaps you might want to consider that it is not the policy that is wrong, but the general mindset of some of the bosses.Originally posted by fymk:I frankly would vote against the people who made the foreign talent policy because I refuse to believe that no singaporean can actually allow singapore to compete against the global economy. My vote is against government policy that makes singaporeans think we need foreign talents while I see singaporeans are doing well over where I am. Better than the locals I might add.
I love singapore that is why I am for Singaporeans in top jobs. Only Singaporeans...no foreigner from usa or europe etc should be even sitting above our own people. That is my personal opinion. Feel free to disagree with me.
Thanks for the advice, well i am considering this path getting a oversea Job. Had gotten PR status from Aus. The only problem is my parent over here. It will take time.Originally posted by Qitai:I am a FT of USA. Working for a USA firm from Singapore. Why worry about FT. Be one yourself.
The way to compete is not to ask your competitor not to compete with you, but to improve yourself so that you win the race.
Malaysia has proven protection policy (bumiputra policy) only makes the people weaker rather than strenghtening them. In the longer run, the whole country will collapse due to not being competitive.
Competition makes one stronger. Protectionism makes people weak. I do not like being a weakling. I fight when challenged. I do not asked to penalized my opponent just so that I can win. I improve my skill until I can win my opponent. Have you become too weak and dependent?
"Dong jia bu da da xi jia."Originally posted by sgdiehard:The world has changed, MYPR. Social fabric has been torn apart because of differences in religion, politics and foreign influence. Family values have changed because of the different education your parents received and what you were taught, or not taught. Foreign influences coming into you living rooms and bed rooms directly via two boxes, yr TV and yr computer monitor. There is nothing we can do about it but to recognise it, face it, and think how can we handle it. Running away, don't be singaporean will not solve your problem.
What affect our job is globalization, including fund management which racked havoc to the financial systems in Asia in 1997. Few years ago, Nike moved all the shoes manufacturing to Indonesia, created jobs for thousands of indonesia who left their farms to work for a better living. After one year, or slightly more, Nike found Vietnam cheaper so the orders went to Vietnam, leaving 7000 indonesians out of job! could go back to farming because their farms had been left unattended for too long. They went on to the streets to demonstrate but what could the government do?
It is known that many IT jobs moved to India and the Philippines. Many MNC regional HQ moved from LA to HK then to singapore and now to Shanghai. What can we do?
European don't have it good because of the great influx of cheap labour from eastern europe and north africa. Ever heard of any angmoh expatriates who came here return home happily? Ever heard of angmoh who went for their summer vacation and return to office only to find out that they have been replaced? I tell you, there are plenty of cases like this. That is why today nobody talks about loyalty to your companies anymore.
Foreign fund managers came in to singapore and brought up the share prices and many singaporean followed. When they pulled out, the STI dropped like crazy and there goes our hard earned money. What can we do? don't invest in stock?
There is nothing we can do to all these! This damn situation was created by the american, the very one who claimed to be democratic and value human rights. To them those who have money to invest have the first right to the money the companies make; the workers who work for a living comes later. So if return of investment is not there, workers are retrenched. Unfortunately singaporean companies, even SIA and SATS follow. They announced making so much money, then announced retrenching so many workers to save so much money. There is a lot of hypocrisy in the American system!! True democracy or not I don't know but human rights is double standard![]()
But what can we do?
The bosses first priority is to make profit, evil or not. Employing FT who are cheap but useless, or locals who are expansive but productive, is entirely up to them. That is why they are called Boss!! But what if the FT are cheap and productive or the locals are expansive and useless? Beware, there are billions of Chinese and Indians, not to mention Philippinos (who also speak good english), Taiwanese, Indonesian, Malaysian who are catching up fast!! The chinese says, "Bu Shi Men Long Bu Guo Jiang", which means you have to be a fierce dragon to swim across the river. These FT did not wait for their government to give them job in singapore, they swam across!!
If you are young, you can learn, you can go places. "Dong jia bu da da xi jia." i.e. if you don't work here you can work elsewhere. There may be short term setback but have faith in yourself, be hopeful, stay healthy, keep you debt low and manageable. The future is still bright for you. Don't wait for the government, for goodness sake!!
Sorrie for being long winded.
All the best to your future, Mr 16 years old in the special stream.Originally posted by runningismylife:likewise you're equally ignorant. even in switzerland, economical landscapes are bound to change. so what is there to confirm that what i want to be would be there in 10 years time?
btw, even God can't guarantee your starting pay in 10 years time.
btw just to fulfil your survey: i'm in Special stream. my future would be great. i would go to a foreign university under a scholarship. and i think i should have a minimum wage of $1500amonth, and i believe with hard work comes a great future. so wad do u think?
btw if i'm ur typical singaporean nerd. nah i guess you'd wrong. i have a long history of disciplinary problems regardless of the school i am in. i am a compulsive gambler who happens to love betting with singapore pools with the help of my parents.
and yes, regardless of this, i'm still with the PAP. you could say that to me, the opposition stink.
Hm...this I might like to disagree. To the bosses, profit is the most important and hence first priority as mentioned by sgdiehard or why came here to do business. When the cost of operation in singapore is expensive due to rent, tax, ultilities etc, they can only cut down on the wage of the employee. And since the singaporean cannot accept the low salary due to the high cost of living in singapore, they resort to employing the cheaper FT. So are they wrong?Originally posted by Qitai:Perhaps you might want to consider that it is not the policy that is wrong, but the general mindset of some of the bosses.
Perhaps this discussion is mixing two types of foreign worker here (1) Cheap labours; (2) FTs. My comment was made on (2), not (1) in reply to the earlier comment.Originally posted by MYPR:Hm...this I might like to disagree. To the bosses, profit is the most important and hence first priority as mentioned by sgdiehard or why came here to do business. When the cost of operation in singapore is expensive due to rent, tax, ultilities etc, they can only cut down on the wage of the employee. And since the singaporean cannot accept the low salary due to the high cost of living in singapore, they resort to employing the cheaper FT. So are they wrong?
You're very right.We are a farce, a puppet show designed to please our masters.You know, I once thought that this island could give me what I wanted in life.I may be in my 20s but I've lived here long enough to see the gradual change from a idyllic place with a hallmark for reliability and a good quality of life become a place where the only things that matter are the interests of the establishment.We have produced good schools, institutes which teach us in a holistic manner, telling us that there is more to life than the power that you possess or the car you drive.Sadly, even they have been co-opted by the tentacles of an insidious command and control entity.We are exhorted to speak up, yeah , to mouth the official lines and act out the scripts smacked in our faces,like actors who are forced to perform for one single mega-company.Originally posted by Viking1:I've been PR in Singapore for a couple of years. I eventually left the island few months ago and I have to say I do not miss the place except the food. There was nothing wrong with the Singaporean though, fine people for the most.
It is very telling that many Singaporean citizen would like PRs to pay more for all kinds of goods and services. It only shows that even Singaporeans cannot even see the benefit of being a citizen in their own country. From where I come, nobody would advocate that foreigners who are legal migrants should be financially penalized for all kinds of things...because we know the difference between a citizen and a non-citizen, and that's the ability to vote, demonstrate, etc... but all these things are worth something only in a place where democracy has a meaning, not like in Spore where democracy is a farce.
Brute force?What does that mean?Anyway,at least the Americans get to vote according to their will in their election,we?As far as i know,most of our election is "Walkover",we didnt even have the chance to vote,sooner or later,i think i can throw away my pink IC already,this f**k up government!Originally posted by the Bear:we're not perfect... but then who is?
even the US got idiots like Bush who can get win an election through brute force...
Originally posted by miong:i'm forced by the PAP to be S'porean: if i ever become rich heehee i bcome Australia: goo bye small dot
" Why be a Singaporean
[b]
I dont think so!