You may get upset by this. But have you considered that if you are really in the lower rung as you said, then you may not even be able to get PR status in Singapore.Originally posted by Xenthar:I do not want to be a Singaporean but I would rather be a PR. Being a PR is better, not so much liability. Anyway what has Singapore ever done for people on the lower rung like us. Nothing. Maybe got something. NS liability.
Only know how to tell us to "upgrade" and "accept" our lives. Even PM Abdullah from Malaysian know how to tell the farmers it is disgraceful to be contended with what you have and stay as a "HAPPY POOR" man.
If I get rich I will also leave this country for good. It has never done anything for me nor given me any chances at all. I'm sure that a lot of other young people on the lower rung has also realise we deserve a better fighting chance than this.
To put state before people is rubbish from my point of view. It only means the lower "value" people are expendable. When people are HAPPY and GET WHAT THEY WANT most of them will find a way to give or contribute back to the society. Not the other way round.
Singapore is a good country but it is not a good home! And a home is the place where my heart will be!
Originally posted by Qitai:You may get upset by this. But have you considered that if you are really in the lower rung as you said, then you may not even be able to get PR status in Singapore.
Anyway, if you compare lower rung of Singapore Versus lower rung of other countries, you are still better off, at least in comparison to USA, Taiwan, PRC, India, Malaysia etc etc.
Originally posted by _Aaron_:
Perhaps the main point that the reader is trying to point out to us, and the question that should be asked is:
Why be a Singaporean [b]Citizen if the liability outweighs the good?
Looking at the posts by our fellow forumites, i feel a bit ashamed not to have felt only half of what's going on, but more towards sadness. Sadness that as a citizen, we do not have any comparable benefits to PRs.
But looking at other countries like China, i'm sure they also welcome foreign talent, and generally PRC citizens are held in lower regard to their foreign counterparts.
But if NS is all i have to give, to be able to live in a state of stability and peace, i would not mind.
We complain about the rising and already very high COE prices, HDB prices, and i compare them to the other countries.
There's no point. Of course with 1 million i can get a much better house in China, but in America things would be much different.
So while i agree with the author that Singaporean Citizens do not have more rights to anything compared to PRs, i guess what everyone should know and do, especially people like JusticeLegal, is to give us Singaporean men some time. We lose 2 years in NS, give us that much time at least, to catch up.
Or of course, we could abolish the entire system, but that's out of the point.[/b]
But this is where you contradict yourself. You said you are in the lower rung. And now you are saying have money can liao. How can you be at the lower rung and yet have 20 Million dollars at the same time?Originally posted by Xenthar:Hello! I said I do not even want to be a citizen. As for PR. Ha. Got money can buy liao!! Go read the papers!
Originally posted by Qitai:But this is where you contradict yourself. You said you are in the lower rung. And now you are saying have money can liao. How can you be at the lower rung and yet have 20 Million dollars at the same time?
totally agreed. not for some people that are milking our money but for the brothers/sisters fighting with me although i do not serve NSOriginally posted by Evangelion84:I agree that the government has a sucker for Foreign Talents.
Top management positions filled by FTs....wooed by the Government themselves. They shld look around them to see that Singaporeans do have what it takes to take up these jobs.
they had made a blunder when they hired jack west to teach? who is the other guy in neurology that the PAP sacked coz of some medical impreachment? all blunders!
Even our national sportsmen.........mostly are foreign imports......rejects from other countries....
Not implyin that i can play table tennis better than jing jun hong....but the government shld pump MORE money into the local sports scene.
The sports school is a gd start but the fees are too high.
these r not talents leh. they r rejects from their own countries, 2nd or even 3th team in their countries and what results have they achieved? no medals?!?! y no medal?! coz their families still in their native countries, if they win against their ex-country men/women, their families will b "arrowed" by the government there. Now u know they always cannot win?!![]()
We do have talent there in Singapore...Local Talents....if the goverment wishes to look in its own back yard...instead of lookin abroad.
we have alot of local talents but they r either hidding in australia due to court cases started by PAP or the BIG GUY watching us![]()
On the point on NS, while im not exactly pleased abt enterin the job market 2.5 yrs later than my female counterparts or PRs...
But i do not tink NS is a liability.
What Ns has given me....the good memories, the maurity, the positive mentality....tis is what the PRs dun get.
I wld not die for Singapore, but i wld have no regrets dieing for my fellow soldiers fighting along side me.
Originally posted by the Bear:put your money where your mouth is and stand for elections... should be coming up soon...
make your points heard... to the nation!
well...if u r willing to part with the deposit for the election, i m willing to stand for election. too expensive.
but from your post, it would seem that you do not offer anything more from the stuff JBJ has offered... which is basically hatred of the system and nothing much more...
he offered too much and was made bankrupt. understand?![]()
high cost of living? sheesh... do tell.. meself, i'm kinda thankful that i do not have to part with $50 everyday for a standard lunch... but there are other things... that can be done.. but at what cost?
i'm thankful for what i have.. see the bottom of this post... and where i come from...
it does not mean that we do not keep trying to improve.. but it tells us not to become bitter when we do not have.. rather, to try to obtain it through hard work...
and most of all, be happy
I agree with Evangelion84, I would die for the man beside me, fighting with me in the street for I know he will do the same for me and I would fight to save him and his family.We will fight to save the things we hold dear to our hearts, but sadly, it is an uphill task to convince us that the establishment is worth saving, unless a saving grace can be whittled up in a jiffy.Originally posted by Grace74:actualli i quite agree with miong. The English has a good system of making sure that their citizens are taken care not some PRs. US also takes care of their citizens. S'pore? We must be happy that PAP don't milk us dry of our money.
You don't serve NS, you don't want to lose your election deposit (obviously you have no confidence of any support), you are not prepared to offer what JBJ offered (assuming you have something to offer), you sure your brothers/sisters want to fight with you??Originally posted by Grace74:totally agreed. not for some people that are milking our money but for the brothers/sisters fighting with me although i do not serve NS![]()
i have confidence of garnering supports but as an individual candidate, do you know how many percent i must get to get my deposit back? beside watever words tat i used in the rally will be RECORDED n used against me even though the words ARE the REAL voices of the people. so who dares to run for election?Originally posted by sgdiehard:You don't serve NS, you don't want to lose your election deposit (obviously you have no confidence of any support), you are not prepared to offer what JBJ offered (assuming you have something to offer), you sure your brothers/sisters want to fight with you??![]()
I totally agree with you,but the irony is,almost every1 in singapore was an immigrant.Originally posted by pearlie27:I think it's not fair for the govt to use taxpayers' money to subsidize the education of the PR and FT.
I also don't blame our NS guys to feel pissed off for despite having served NS they don't have any edge over the PR and FT in getting jobs.
Not if you're born here.Originally posted by ahpeh:I totally agree with you,but the irony is,almost every1 in singapore was an immigrant.
Right on target, the govt sure knows this --- that's why NSF pay increased and they need to serve only 2 years now. But seriously, i think that sooner or later the NS will have to be reduced in importance.Originally posted by macjoe:Wait till you guys become an entrepreneur and when your business needs you more urgently during reservist, try to defer or ask for day deferment (to be made up later) during your incamp. Believe me, your officers will f**k you upside down.
That's the reality of the military system and servants serving the government than local businesses.
So why be a Singaporean? You're better off being a non-Singaporean and you won't get f**ked by NS.![]()
Same here.... but i think the problem is tat i did not c the govt beside me leh...Originally posted by LazerLordz:I agree with Evangelion84, I would die for the man beside me, fighting with me in the street for I know he will do the same for me and I would fight to save him and his family.We will fight to save the things we hold dear to our hearts, but sadly, it is an uphill task to convince us that the establishment is worth saving, unless a saving grace can be whittled up in a jiffy.
So,, you do not agree to high cost living???? Wait till you run a family with two or three kids then you will know if your take home pay.. at say......s$1700 to 2000.Originally posted by the Bear:put your money where your mouth is and stand for elections... should be coming up soon...
make your points heard... to the nation!
but from your post, it would seem that you do not offer anything more from the stuff JBJ has offered... which is basically hatred of the system and nothing much more...
high cost of living? sheesh... do tell.. meself, i'm kinda thankful that i do not have to part with $50 everyday for a standard lunch... but there are other things... that can be done.. but at what cost?
i'm thankful for what i have.. see the bottom of this post... and where i come from...
it does not mean that we do not keep trying to improve.. but it tells us not to become bitter when we do not have.. rather, to try to obtain it through hard work...
and most of all, be happy