Why did you buy the car in the first place since you dont really drive it....why dont you just take taxi...i am sure you will save the money....Originally posted by Qitai:Dispatch rider? Company can pay for it.
Taxi Drivers? The passenger is already paying for it.
Deliver guy? Company can pay for it as well.
Current cost of owning a car? At least $1000 even if you do not use it. Where is the cost? COE and Taxes.
Should we reduce those? Yes. Price of car can be easily be a quarter of the current cost if we remove COE and tax.
Will reducing it cause problem? Yes, increase in car may reduce the speed of the traffic in places where there is traffic.
Purpose of ERP? To still allow smooth traffic even with the increase in car volume.
Net cost to car owner? For those going to CBD very frequently, it may increase. For those tho goes regularly, it may just net to zero. For those who goes irregularly or seldom goes to CBD, a much reduce cost?
(Increase in ERP, reduce in capital cost - you go calculate if it is net gain or loss)
Net effect. Some gain, some losses. But my projection is more will gain then those who loses.
Singapore is not just about you either. Why can't I own a car without paying that 131% tax + COE? Especially, why do I have to pay COE when I do not contribute to traffic jams at all?
Done, I have already scrap the COE for you....Originally posted by Qitai:Anyway, if you don't want the ERP, not my problem either. Just scrap the COE for me. You can have your traffic jams in the CBD area if that is what you like. I just don't think I should be paying the COE when I do not contribute to traffic jams at all.
CBD is not the only place in Singapore to drive a car. My flat, my sibings flat, my parent's flat, myself and my siblings workplace are all not in CBD. How did you come to the conclusion that if I don't drive to CBD, that means I do not drive?Originally posted by Gazelle:Why did you buy the car in the first place since you dont really drive it....why dont you just take taxi...i am sure you will save the money....
Dispatch rider? Company can pay for it. (who pay the company?)
Taxi Drivers? The passenger is already paying for it. (why must they pay since they dont drive)
Deliver guy? Company can pay for it as well. (who pay the company?)
CBD is not the only place in Singapore with ERP gantry....without COE, I can assure you that ERP will be coming to your door stepsOriginally posted by Qitai:CBD is not the only place in Singapore to drive a car. My flat, my sibings flat, my parent's flat, myself and my siblings workplace are all not in CBD. How did you come to the conclusion that if I don't drive to CBD, that means I do not drive?
Just like how you just virtually scrap the COE for me?Originally posted by Gazelle:CBD is not the only place in Singapore with ERP gantry....without COE, I can assure you that ERP will be coming to your door steps
I share your view. We should be allowed to drive even though the COE is conceived to reduce road congestion. We however do not have homogenous road conditions, hence road usage should fall into a solely ERP-regulated method.Originally posted by Qitai:CBD is not the only place in Singapore to drive a car. My flat, my sibings flat, my parent's flat, myself and my siblings workplace are all not in CBD. How did you come to the conclusion that if I don't drive to CBD, that means I do not drive?
Hi I would just like to find out how much control we actually have over our COE bids. Isn't it true nowadays that the COE market has been hijacked by the car dealers? How many people actually do get to bid at a price they are willing to pay? As this is a 2nd price sealed bid auction in essence, ideal strategy is to bid one's valuation. So is the car buying populace telling the government they are willing to pay $20k so that they can guarantee that they can drive their cars within the next 3 months(an argument used by car dealers. no high bid, no car)?Originally posted by sbst275:One way is to stop bidding... All $1, no money to collect![]()
If the 'booking' is below is the given out quota, it will remain $1Originally posted by Feynman:Hi I would just like to find out how much control we actually have over our COE bids. Isn't it true nowadays that the COE market has been hijacked by the car dealers? How many people actually do get to bid at a price they are willing to pay? As this is a 2nd price sealed bid auction in essence, ideal strategy is to bid one's valuation. So is the car buying populace telling the government they are willing to pay $20k so that they can guarantee that they can drive their cars within the next 3 months(an argument used by car dealers. no high bid, no car)?
Originally posted by miong:i find that statement highly irresponsible. If you want to attack something, give concrete proof and evidence. Otherwise you are just a fella here to stir up discontent. Stop shooting from your mouth.Words are cheap.
Without COE, HDB, CPF, PUB cash flowing into Government's treasury MAS and Temasek would have collapsed many times over.
Singaporeans are vital bloodline to the Government because all their other sources turned out to be expensive flops everywhere! NOL, APLL, GLOBAL CROSSING, THAI BANK, MICROPOLIS, AIR NEW ZEALAND, SEMBCORP INDUSTRIES (SOON TO LOOSE S$800 MILLION IN LAWSUIT), SUZHOU INDUSTRIAL PARK... just to name a few.
Now we know why[b] Government raised GST to 5% during a severe recession and when 100,000 Singaporeans were jobless.
.....they needed our money desperately to protect their failing investments.[/b]
I have to agree with you. Everyone is frustrated, some more than others. It would be good to hear constructive criticisms. I always think to myself....Gosh I am born on this 600+ sq km piece of snot. What can be done to make life better? I do find an increase in GST good. It goes towards a usage based form of charging for goods. No money? Dun buy anything. If basic necessities have to be made more affordable, then lower GST for that class of goods. After all cigs and booze belong to a higher quasi-GST category.Originally posted by CenturionMBT:i find that statement highly irresponsible. If you want to attack something, give concrete proof and evidence. Otherwise you are just a fella here to stir up discontent. Stop shooting from your mouth.Words are cheap.
Originally posted by Gazelle:Yo Gaz, have you bought a car?
How I wish singaporeans can be smarter and less kia su.
Many car owners are probably too use to paying and they dont realize that they are paying about $200 every month for a meaningless certificate.
I dont mind if the cert is to help limit the number of cars on the road, so that drivers can enjoy smoother traffic on the road.
but bloody hell...after paying so much, LTA is coming back and say they are issuing more COE, which will increase cars population, more traffic jam, and more ERP, less car parks..
bloody LTA are just bank robbers and[b][b] car buyers are suckers[/b]!!! [/b]
Mr Ma Ma must be joking!!!!Originally posted by robertteh:Minister Mah Boh Tan in announcing COE system many years ago has informed the public that when it and the ERP were introduced, vehicle registration, import and excise duties eventually will be scrapped.
Has the government fulfilled its promise to do so? For those who are still doubting the wisdom of democracy or alternative views, think again.![]()
Originally posted by robertteh:Our Mr mah mah must be joking!!!!
[b]Minister Mah Boh Tan in announcing COE system many years ago has informed the public that when it and the ERP were introduced, vehicle registration, import and excise duties eventually will be scrapped.
Has the government fulfilled its promise to do so? For those who are still doubting the wisdom of democracy or alternative views, think again.![]()
Originally posted by Medicated Oil:Come on,
How else do you expect them to raise $$$ to pay the lawyer for the screw-up at Nicholl Highway ??? To cover their ass, they have to get reputated lawyer at all costs wan.... The sky is all the same... sucks....
I can't believe Mp defence for drugs addictor....
Do all of you seriously expect them to care whether there are jam on the road ???
What is more important ?
Fat Bonus and a chance to boost their reserves.
When there are too many cars, then they will encourage pple to take public transport and increase the fares.
Earn - Earn - Earn for all party involved except the paying consumers.
Unfortunately, we will never get or find the concrete prove. signs..Originally posted by CenturionMBT:i find that statement highly irresponsible. If you want to attack something, give concrete proof and evidence. Otherwise you are just a fella here to stir up discontent. Stop shooting from your mouth.Words are cheap.