Ministers or civil servants manage funds from contibutions or taxes whereas private sector companies do not have those funds to benefit from.Originally posted by Parka:Minister's job not as difficult as CEOs?
A bit hard to compare.
A CEO can only affect only so much of an economy.
Minister/s can affect the economy and the lives of people with their decisions.
Originally posted by robertteh:Ministers or civil servants manage funds from contibutions or taxes whereas private sector companies do not have those funds to benefit from.
Although ministers' tasks could affect the whole economy, the measurements of performance is not worked out so that in the event of non-performance, they will lose their salaries or jobs. So far, ministers do not answer for major mistakes like loss of jobs, accidents and serious and frequent breakdowns.
Private sector firms must generate profits otherwise CEOs will lose their jobs or their own monies straightaway.![]()
I am with you on this point - responsibility. But responsibility is only one of the factors that determine the pays. Degree of difficulties in performing the jobs is another factor. If there is no problem with funds, or direct accountability for results or performance, are the ministers' jobs that difficult?Originally posted by Parka:Who cares about them losing their jobs?
What I care is how they come up with the different policies. For example, the recent CPF contributions from self employed issue.
well judging by the way we keep seeing screw ups nowadays, their job doesn't seem that difficult right? i bet i can screw up as well as they can, and best of all , i don't need such a high payOriginally posted by robertteh:I am with you on this point - responsibility. But responsibility is only one of the factors that determine the pays. Degree of difficulties in performing the jobs is another factor. If there is no problem with funds, or direct accountability for results or performance, are the ministers' jobs that difficult?![]()
one thing i find interesting, why is the teacher talking about such stuff in cme class?Originally posted by skyfoo:A few days ago, my CME teacher ask our class who knows how much does Lee Hsien Loong, our PM and Finance Minister, earns? Surprisely, no one knows. He doesn't know too. Then, he asked us anyone knows the reasons why LHL wanted to hold both the posts of PM and Finance Minister. Again, the class was silence. He then pointed out that it's because he does not want us(Singaporeans) to know how much we are earning.
So, does anyone knows our PM's salary. If not, Singapore Government practised transparency, right? So, why the PM's salary is not revealed?
more than US president earnsOriginally posted by skyfoo:A few days ago, my CME teacher ask our class who knows how much does Lee Hsien Loong, our PM and Finance Minister, earns? Surprisely, no one knows. He doesn't know too. Then, he asked us anyone knows the reasons why LHL wanted to hold both the posts of PM and Finance Minister. Again, the class was silence. He then pointed out that it's because he does not want us(Singaporeans) to know how much we are earning.
So, does anyone knows our PM's salary. If not, Singapore Government practised transparency, right? So, why the PM's salary is not revealed?
I rather those ministers to corrupt secretly than to take such a high pay as if they corrupt "openly"!And besides,how can u be sure that after getting such a high pay,they wont be corrupted anymore?Dont forget my friends,some men's greeds are no end!!!As for running Singapore is more difficult than running a company,than i think many leaders who are managing countries which are much more larger than this "Singapore island" should get more pay than our PM liao!!!Originally posted by Goondu74:wasn't the ministers' salaries published in the papers some time back(last year?) if i am not wrong abt 800-900k per annum, its so much higher than the rest of the world because they dun want them to be tempted into corruption. if u have enough,then won't be so easily tempted. Also they want the ministers salaries to be pegged to CEOs of MNCs as running Singapore is so much more difficult than running a company. CEOs may draw 10-12 million a year so 800-900k not alot.
Nah,those politicians dont dare to reveal their pay 1 lar,but i have heard that our president n PM salary definitely higher than the U.S president,as for the 2 DPM,and the 2 "eat finish rice" SM and MM post,i dont know liao.And if u want to find out how much is exactly their salary,i think u have to employ CIA,FBI,or KGB to find out for u liao!Or sorry....KGB now i think no more liao,then find CIA n FBI liao.Originally posted by skyfoo:with 16 replies, nobody knows? then what the use of having the policy of transparency?
I think more than 1 million a year.Originally posted by hexter:hmm.. not sure.. anyone got idea??
this might give u some ideaOriginally posted by skyfoo:with 16 replies, nobody knows? then what the use of having the policy of transparency?
Originally posted by FireIce:
They maybe running larger countries, but are they running them as well as us?Originally posted by drawer:I rather those ministers to corrupt secretly than to take such a high pay as if they corrupt "openly"!And besides,how can u be sure that after getting such a high pay,they wont be corrupted anymore?Dont forget my friends,some men's greeds are no end!!!As for running Singapore is more difficult than running a company,than i think many leaders who are managing countries which are much more larger than this "Singapore island" should get more pay than our PM liao!!!