you dun need to be an expert in acoustics to know that those trees and bushes help to reduce the noise level.Originally posted by Chia Ti Lik:So Centurion MBT, Paperchicken, Superbus
The crux of the question is what is this good reason for having the trees and bushes beside the expressway? You say its obvious and you say it is good. All of you seem to know and claim to know, but none wish to answer.
Strange.
..... so you want to build more fancy sound barriers to bring the cost to stratosphereric levels ?Originally posted by Chia Ti Lik:So are the costs of MRT tracks and Roads.
Since you are in opposition, can you do a more detailed study on this? Like what is the noise level now? What is the recognized acceptable noise level? What are the cost of building all these? Are there any significant genuine complain from resident? Etc...Originally posted by goh meng seng:I have been living in Hong Kong for quite some time now and I am really impressed by their "human touch" in many public policies.
As land is very scarce in Hong Kong, buildings are basically pack built and sometimes just next to highways or MTR (that's what they call their subway train system) tracks. However, the transport authority will always make sure that sound barriers are built along the stretch whereby there are residential buildings around, reducing the noise level to minimum.
When I am back in Singapore, I don't see such thoughtful infrastructure built along stretches of highway or MRT tracks which may create high noise level to the nearby residential areas.
I think this is partly due to the style of governance. PAP government is simply not a human orientated government, but it governs by digits and statistics. A world class city should have world class human orientated governance.
We just need more human touch in our dealings with our people.
Goh Meng Seng
Just wondering about the figures again. Was the maintenance just the total figure or after netting the possible revenue from performances on the venue? I would be more interested in the net operating cost (after taking revenue into consideration) rather than total cost only. Also, can quote the source of those figures?Originally posted by goh meng seng:No doubt there are limited dollar and unlimited wants, but where is your priorities? $600million for two durians which needs another $50 million per year for maintenance?
go see the reply by his pal in the other thread lah.Originally posted by Qitai:Since you are in opposition, can you do a more detailed study on this? Like what is the noise level now? What is the recognized acceptable noise level? What are the cost of building all these? Are there any significant genuine complain from resident? Etc...
A simple statement of if ABC is doing it, why shouldn't we do it is a far-stretched justification I think.
my friend, quoting from http://www.ghasp.org/publications/trees/TreesAndOurAir.htmlOriginally posted by goh meng seng:Dear CenturionMBT,
Maybe you need to experience first hand the effectiveness of sound barriers as compared to trees and bushes.They are world's apart.
Goh Meng Seng
Which other thread? Why so confusing one?Originally posted by papertiger:go see the reply by his pal in the other thread lah.![]()
http://www.sgforums.com/?action=thread_display&thread_id=95143&page=2Originally posted by Qitai:Which other thread? Why so confusing one?
thats the answer lor.Originally posted by Qitai:Got answer there meh? Only Tai Ji there I think.![]()
Problem here is he start the topic one here. So, if don't want to research don't say it is wrong lah. Like that, people doing the work become very busy one. Don't sabo people like that lah.Originally posted by papertiger:thats the answer lor.
Originally posted by Chia Ti Lik:
The people's support comes from the understanding of the function of the opposition which is to check the ruling party. The function of an opposition is not to research topics and win arguments against opponents (like what the PAP wants you to believe) - that is a job for lawyers and debaters.
In politics, being able to come up with proper reseach and data does not translate into getting popular support. (though it earns you marks if you are a postgrad or undergrad research student and the targetted audience are your professors)
So from this post, opposition parties are formed just to go against the main party and not to serve the people. If that is the case, i rest my case. Until the day i see a opposition party start doing things for the people, i have nothing to say.Originally posted by papertiger:thats the answer lor.
Originally posted by Chia Ti Lik:
The people's support comes from the understanding of the function of the opposition which is to check the ruling party. The function of an opposition is not to research topics and win arguments against opponents (like what the PAP wants you to believe) - that is a job for lawyers and debaters.
In politics, being able to come up with proper reseach and data does not translate into getting popular support. (though it earns you marks if you are a postgrad or undergrad research student and the targetted audience are your professors)
So pap..er...tigerOriginally posted by papertiger:you dun need to be an expert in acoustics to know that those trees and bushes help to reduce the noise level.![]()
PAP..er..tigerOriginally posted by papertiger:..... so you want to build more fancy sound barriers to bring the cost to stratosphereric levels ?![]()
QitaiOriginally posted by Qitai:Problem here is he start the topic one here. So, if don't want to research don't say it is wrong lah. Like that, people doing the work become very busy one. Don't sabo people like that lah.
Specify where does it show that i just go against the ruling party.Originally posted by CenturionMBT:So from this post, opposition parties are formed just to go against the main party and not to serve the people. If that is the case, i rest my case. Until the day i see a opposition party start doing things for the people, i have nothing to say.
Just to highlight the inaccuracies in your statementOriginally posted by Qitai:Problem here is he start the topic one here. So, if don't want to research don't say it is wrong lah. Like that, people doing the work become very busy one. Don't sabo people like that lah.
CenturionMBTOriginally posted by CenturionMBT:my friend, quoting from http://www.ghasp.org/publications/trees/TreesAndOurAir.html
In urban areas, trees and other vegetation also reduce urban noise, which has been associated with a number of adverse health effects, including insomnia, hypertension, and depression. There is also some indication that chronic noise, such as from nearby freeways, can lead to increased violence. A well-placed stand of trees can reduce noise by up to 15 decibels, approximately that provided by a typical sound barrier.
Now this is about man made noise barriers
http://www.fhwa.dot.gov/environment/keepdown.htm
Noise barriers are solid obstructions built between the highway and the homes along a highway. They do not completely block all noise they only reduce overall noise levels. Effective noise barriers typically reduce noise levels by 5 to 10 decibels (dB), cutting the loudness of traffic noise by as much as one half. For example, a barrier which achieves a 10-dB reduction can reduce the sound level of a typical tractor trailer pass-by to that of an automobile.
So i will let figures speak for themselves. By the way, this info took me only 5 minutes to search on the world wide web. So next time you want to say something, please do a little research.
let your previous postings speak for themselves too.Originally posted by Chia Ti Lik:CenturionMBT
Cheers to you for coming out with the research.
However, your first remark was made at 1:10 am and reply was at 10:03pm
It supposedly took 5 mins. yet a span of almost 19 hours passed between posts.
You did the research, you get the credit - i wont deny that.
But i will let the figures speak for themselves too.
under the current govt we pay and pay if these jokers come into power we have to pay until we die.Originally posted by Qitai:Since you are in opposition, can you do a more detailed study on this? Like what is the noise level now? What is the recognized acceptable noise level? What are the cost of building all these? Are there any significant genuine complain from resident? Etc...
A simple statement of if ABC is doing it, why shouldn't we do it is a far-stretched justification I think.
So what even if he took a day to research ? the point is he put in the effort to do research before posting unlike some ppl who just shoot off their mouth.Originally posted by Chia Ti Lik:CenturionMBT
Cheers to you for coming out with the research.
However, your first remark was made at 1:10 am and reply was at 10:03pm
It supposedly took 5 mins. yet a span of almost 19 hours passed between posts.
You did the research, you get the credit - i wont deny that.
But i will let the figures speak for themselves too.