We should be ourself, a sovereign and independent country, that is why we are allowed to speak in the UN;Originally posted by paperduck:2 side , china and taiwan also gan na sai lah.
after this 2 incident. i think singapore govt shd.
-no more saying 'only one china' in the media.
-bring back our taiwan deploy SAF.
-dont choose any side when war.
sometime i feel Singapore really abit difficult to involve . those are BIG country games between China, japan ,Taiwan and US . even we know war will great harm toward singapore but we must admit our voice is not a subject .
Bo Lan Par!!Originally posted by robertteh:Singapore should learn a lesson from the recent spat with Taiwan.
By pressing on the issue in UN and other forum making all kinds of statements against Taiwan for escalating tensions in the Straits, Singapore will not be serving its own and international interests.
Despite all the assertions made by Singapore, about its views of the China-Taiwan politics, Taiwan is unmoved and will be able to counteract whatever views we have and while China will not necessarily be persuaded of Singapore's sincerity and will harbour quiet cynicism based on its understanding of our past experiences with our ambivalent approaches.
In the same way, Singapore should not lead the international opinion on terrorism or religious conflicts between Islam and the rest of the world.
It may be asked : what can Singapore a small country do to safeguard its interests in this turbulent world?
Very simple: Try to be ourselves, be what we are and not be what we are not.
We are militarily equipped, able to defend ourselves - our plus points or strengths. Based on this as our strength, build up our diplomacy with various countries in S. E. Asia especially Asean with whom after Badawi, we could still retain some past credibility.
Exercise our quiet diplomacy by extending our technical aids and investment assistances. Specialists in various fields can be engaged to implement such aids and mutually beneficial assistances or investments.
When we are able to pursue such quiet diplomacy with real demonstration of people-to-people contacts and connections, our voice will be heard in whatever line we take.
High profile or front-running diplomacy is not very suitable for our small and vulnerable country to pursue as to do so, we will encounter much resistances and ill wills of many towards us. (A lesson from Sun Sze Art of War)![]()
There's no need for an over reaction on our side. Let his boss Ah Bian handle the matter. The Taiwanese side has already send their apologies. That guy is under severe criticism and condemnation from the Taiwanese media. His personal views do not reflect that of the Taiwanese people.Originally posted by sgdiehard:We should be ourself, a sovereign and independent country, that is why we are allowed to speak in the UN;
We should stick to what we said, "Only One China."
Bring back taiwan or choose side in war is our business, we decide, for our interest, not as a reaction to a stupid Taiwanese remark! He was speaking to his people, unfortunately using our name, any action on our side is deemed stupid and overeaction!
Originally posted by The Barracuda:good that they apologize, cause Hong Kong size is also about the same as SG
[b]Taiwan minister apologises to S'pore for rude words
By Lawrence Chung
TAIPEI - Taiwanese Foreign Minister Mark Chen yesterday apologised for using rude language to lash out at Singapore a day earlier.
Through his spokesman Michel Lu, Mr Chen said he had borne no ill intention.
'The Foreign Minister deeply apologises for using words which have made other people feel uncomfortable,' the spokesman said.
He said the ministry had stepped up communications with Singapore's representatives in Taipei, adding that relations between the two sides have not been affected.
'The Foreign Minister was meeting a group of Hokkien-speaking Taiwanese and naturally used their language to describe what he felt when he saw Taiwan was being treated unfairly in the UN assembly in New York,' Mr Lu told The Straits Times.
He pointed out that the group was also made up of pro-independence supporters.
'We are disappointed at, and surprised by, Singapore's remarks at the United Nations.
'It is not fair to Taiwan,' Mr Lu said, adding that Singapore had ignored the fact that China had 610 missiles pointed at the island.
On Monday, Mr Chen described Singapore as 'a tiny country the size of a piece of dried nasal mucus' when reacting to Singapore Foreign Minister George Yeo's remarks on Taiwan in a speech to the UN General Assembly last Friday.
Brigadier-General (NS) Yeo said the international community should not let tension between Taiwan and the mainland get out of control and any push by Taiwan for independence will lead to war with China and drag in other countries.
In response, the Taiwanese Foreign Minister accused Singapore of currying favour with China and even used a Hokkien expletive to make his point.
Singapore's Ministry of Foreign Affairs said in a statement yesterday that it was not 'the first time Singapore has stated our concerns about Taiwan'.
'Many other countries also believe that Taiwan is pursuing a dangerous course towards independence. Resorting to intemperate language cannot assuage these concerns,' the ministry added.
Mr Chen's remarks made headlines in most of Taiwan's newspapers.
He also drew sharp criticism from opposition lawmakers and his own government for his coarse language.
'Being a foreign minister, he must be very careful in his words and diction. Otherwise, a slip of tongue could lead to deterioration of relations,' said Mr Chen's predecessor John Chang, now a legislator of the opposition Kuomintang.
Mr Chen Chien-min, legislator of the pro-independence Taiwan Solidarity Union, said: 'It is highly inappropriate for Mr Chen to make that comment, and if necessary, the Foreign Minister should apologise to Singapore for what he said.'
Even Cabinet spokesman Chen Chi-mai said he could understand Mr Chen's frustration at Taiwan's 12th failed bid to join the UN, but the Foreign Minister 'should be more cautious with his words'.
Mr Su Tseng-chang, secretary-general to the President, said officials should control their emotions and watch what they say even when they are upset.
What tua lan par. Wait till the balls get shredded into meatballs. What with snubs from Suzhou, Harbibie or Mahathir, Singaporeans will be wondering what is next?Originally posted by sgdiehard:Bo Lan Par!!![]()
yes, the apologies ain't for singapore. if singapore is pi sai then what's taiwan in the eyes of PRC? And in fact the current taiwanese government is the biggest balls carrier for yankees... they dun even dare breath hard when bush warn the current adminstration not to go over board wif their childish acts to provoke PRC. and when these yankees extort them in buying over priced hardware and weapons, PPP adminstrators asked taiwanese to give up bubble tea...Originally posted by chikopek:I thought that f*cker only apologised to the Taiwan people and not Singapore government and Singapore people?
Anyway, the best way for S'pore is to 'bo chup' on cross straits relations -- Neither supporting Taiwan's independance nor 'one China' policies......
BTW, I don't think that S'pore giving up its camp in Taiwan is a good idea as Taiwan is a the most favourite place for SAF personnels to have their overseas training.....
They did send an apology to Singapore. There was never a need to apologise to Taiwanese since Taiwanese are not insulted.Originally posted by 5.56:yes, the apologies ain't for singapore. if singapore is pi sai then what's taiwan in the eyes of PRC? And in fact the current taiwanese government is the biggest balls carrier for yankees... they dun even dare breath hard when bush warn the current adminstration not to go over board wif their childish acts to provoke PRC. and when these yankees extort them in buying over priced hardware and weapons, PPP adminstrators asked taiwanese to give up bubble tea...
ROC overseas training enviroment ain't that good compared to australia. i suggest suspending all ROC training till KMT comes to power again. beside it's former taiwan's president KMT's Chiang Jing Kuo whom we should thank, not this bunch of inhuman lying PPP idiots.
if we're a nose dropping, we must be one heck of a nose dropping to have so many people pissed off with usOriginally posted by idwar:Taiwanese minister is right to say that Singapore is so small-like nose dropping!!!!
Why can't you admit that Spore is indeed so small????
Small boy, talk big, ..........so now got scolding...............
+1Originally posted by oldbreadstinks:if we're a nose dropping, we must be one heck of a nose dropping to have so many people pissed off with us
agree all above .Originally posted by 5.56:yes, the apologies ain't for singapore. if singapore is pi sai then what's taiwan in the eyes of PRC? And in fact the current taiwanese government is the biggest balls carrier for yankees... they dun even dare breath hard when bush warn the current adminstration not to go over board wif their childish acts to provoke PRC. and when these yankees extort them in buying over priced hardware and weapons, PPP adminstrators asked taiwanese to give up bubble tea...
ROC overseas training enviroment ain't that good compared to australia. i suggest suspending all ROC training till KMT comes to power again. beside it's former taiwan's president KMT's Chiang Jing Kuo whom we should thank, not this bunch of inhuman lying PPP idiots.
Originally posted by Qitai:They did send an apology to Singapore. There was never a need to apologise to Taiwanese since Taiwanese are not insulted.
Originally posted by goh meng seng:Dear Qitai,
Please lah. Singapore mass media is all messed up!
Read the following link:
http://news.chinatimes.com/Chinatimes/Moment/newfocus-index/0,3687,930930012+0+0+113536,00.html
Goh Meng Seng
I am in Taiwan right now lah! So, I am reading Taiwan news right here in Taiwan, okay.Originally posted by goh meng seng:Dear Qitai,
Please lah. Singapore mass media is all messed up!
Read the following link:
http://news.chinatimes.com/Chinatimes/Moment/newfocus-index/0,3687,930930012+0+0+113536,00.html
Goh Meng Seng
about mr.chan bee-sai tok..the whole taiwan govt already come out to 'cover fire'.Originally posted by Qitai:I am in Taiwan right now lah! So, I am reading Taiwan news right here in Taiwan, okay.
Fact as reported here in Taiwan -
(1) Taiwan did send two apology to Singapore.
(2) However, Mr. Chen did not. He insisted he is not wrong and repeated his statement in an official press release this time. The first time he said it in a meeting with officals in Tai Nan and was widely cover here in Taiwan. He goes on to blasted the media for hyping it all up to the point that Singapore know about it.
(3) The Media in Taiwan condemns the inappropriateness of the statement made by Mr. Chen.
(4) My client and friends here remain very friendly to me throughout this period. Some even ridiculate Mr. Chen in front of me.
These are the facts lah. Tell you guys so many times liao. I happen to be in Taiwan now, reading all this news first hand. So, I know what is reported here lah.
pls dont lost our emotion against the low-class FM pee-sai tok lah.Originally posted by reyes:qitai,
whether you taiwanese friends are friendly to you dispite this incident is another issue.
too bad these taiwanese choose this president and party.
it only take one bad bird flu virus to spoilt the whole egg market.
i can understand taiwanese feeling towards UN not able to accept them. but please dont use singapore as a decoy. we are pisai small, true indeed, but economically and militaryly we are no pisai. taiwan has a strongly weapons arsenal true indeed but their quality of soldier and ability to fight a war is truely questionable. i really hope they declare independence and see what china gona do to them from now onwards.
taiwan also pi- sai in the eyes of china!!!