Nope... " Taiwan FM says no plan to apologize to Singapore for 'booger' comment"Originally posted by Qitai:They did send an apology to Singapore. There was never a need to apologise to Taiwanese since Taiwanese are not insulted.
i'm not sure if PPP govt. had corrupted ROCAF but from what i've witnessed in ROC during KMT time. their soldiers are pretty well trained, if not better. i understand fully why u have these impression.... ever since PPP take over, ROCAF had been used as 'marketing tools'.Originally posted by reyes:qitai,
whether you taiwanese friends are friendly to you dispite this incident is another issue.
too bad these taiwanese choose this president and party.
it only take one bad bird flu virus to spoilt the whole egg market.
i can understand taiwanese feeling towards UN not able to accept them. but please dont use singapore as a decoy. we are pisai small, true indeed, but economically and militaryly we are no pisai. taiwan has a strongly weapons arsenal true indeed but their quality of soldier and ability to fight a war is truely questionable. i really hope they declare independence and see what china gona do to them from now onwards.
taiwan also pi- sai in the eyes of china!!!
er who is representing ROC? it's FM or and any taiwanese? can i insult someone on the street and ask my child to apologize?Originally posted by Qitai:Read my earlier comment. Mr. Chen did not apologize, but Taiwan did.
I wouldn't forgive you, but I will not blame your child or your family for that matter.Originally posted by 5.56:er who is representing ROC? it's FM or and any taiwanese? can i insult someone on the street and ask my child to apologize?
exactly. there's no point flaming the innocents. since no apologies r given to singapore n singaporeans shouldn't there be acts to show PPP adminstration we r angry n no pushovers.Originally posted by Qitai:I wouldn't forgive you, but I will not blame your child or your family for that matter.
I would be angry with Mr. Chen but not Taiwan. Taiwan did apologise, Mr. Chen did not.Originally posted by 5.56:exactly. there's no point flaming the innocents. since no apologies r given to singapore n singaporeans shouldn't there be acts to show PPP adminstration we r angry n no pushovers.
He is the foreign minister of ROC. Since his statements represent ROC, we cannot ignore such insults. When PRC was pissed with PM Lee's trip to taiwan, many mainland chinese had also throw insults at us. But they weren't from the authority most importantly not from someone who represents PRC in the international arena, there's not much we can do beside flamming each other.Originally posted by Qitai:I would be angry with Mr. Chen but not Taiwan. Taiwan did apologise, Mr. Chen did not.
The statement was made behind closed doors. Its more of a private statement than a public one. We just let the Taiwanese deal with him there's no need for an overeaction from Sg's side.Originally posted by contact_thatslife:5.56 wrote
He is the foreign minister of ROC. Since his statements represent ROC, we cannot ignore such insults.
Agree, if u r holding a position, ur comments r being seen nt as an individual but as e country/ company that u represent. U r nt an ordinary person on e road just giving ur personal views.
So better think twice b4 u open ur big mouth. If nt plp will nt only quote u but oso quote e company n position u r holding. Eg..The President of thatslife company said that ...Bra bra bra
I would beg to defer on this. The nature of the comment was not made in an official capacity. It was made more of a private nature. I do see differences when it was made as a press release officially where it is an official statement versus a person making a personally statement. From Singapore newspaper it may look like an official statement, but the nature of this speech is that he made the comment in a meeting with Tai Nan people which is then widely cover by the media. This can in no way represent the Taiwan government in anyway.Originally posted by 5.56:He is the foreign minister of ROC. Since his statements represent ROC, we cannot ignore such insults. When PRC was pissed with PM Lee's trip to taiwan, many mainland chinese had also throw insults at us. But they weren't from the authority most importantly not from someone who represents PRC in the international arena, there's not much we can do beside flamming each other.
Instead of addressing terrorism problems in S.E.A, BG Yeo might have made a mistake. Could it be the pressure from PRC that singapore couldn't withstand and was forced to 'carry balls' or the consequences of a cross strait war that will affect our economy n national security even bigger then a 500 kg car bomb setting off in orchard road/shenton way? One thing for sure, current ROC administration is in fact pushing both side towards war. Cross strait war is inevitable if ROC's pro-independence stance keeps hammering PRC's nerve.
As long as ROC remain 'China', PRC has no reason to invade. period.
r u 1 of e spy working 4 taiwan? u must b a v dangerous person.Originally posted by paperchicken:The statement was made behind closed doors. Its more of a private statement than a public one. We just let the Taiwanese deal with him there's no need for an overeaction from Sg's side.![]()
that was report in the papers lah. onli china spys and pro china ppl want to see SG and Taiwanese ties worsen because of this incident.Originally posted by contact_thatslife:r u 1 of e spy working 4 taiwan? u must b a v dangerous person.I must quickly contact China...
I dun see the comments as private statements. He was addressing pro independence representatives of tainan. It made it as 'official' as can be. i wouldn't give a damn if all these words came from the mouth of any legistrator of ROC, but it was from the Foreign Minister Chen's CB mouth in which represent his govt and ROC officially.Originally posted by Qitai:I would beg to defer on this. The nature of the comment was not made in an official capacity. It was made more of a private nature. I do see differences when it was made as a press release officially where it is an official statement versus a person making a personally statement. From Singapore newspaper it may look like an official statement, but the nature of this speech is that he made the comment in a meeting with Tai Nan people which is then widely cover by the media. This can in no way represent the Taiwan government in anyway.
The only thing I can agree on this is that he is really the worst choice for a foreign affair minister. Also, I do agree Taiwan government sucks. Ah Bian sucks - one of the biggest asshole to hold an important position. The other one who sucks worst is Geogre Bush.
Originally posted by paperchicken:expected.... on the other hand, this could be the only way to prompt singapore govt to wake up and do something.
What the hell.
[b]Taiwanese protesters burn Singapore flag
TAIPEI - Demonstrators burned Singapore's flag on Friday in southern Taiwan, protesting a recent speech by the south-east Asian nation's foreign minister who warned that Taiwanese independence supporters were risking a war with China.
The small group of protesters lit a fire in a metal barrel and dipped Singapore's red and white flag into the flames while chanting, 'Singapore is an informer' in Kaohsiung, the island's second-biggest city.
Singapore and Taiwan have traditionally had friendly ties. But relations turned chilly after Foreign Affairs Minister George Yeo gave a speech at the United Nations last week that some Taiwanese thought unfairly criticised Taiwan.
Brigadier-General Yeo warned that some Taiwanese groups were pushing for independence and that this would spark a war with China that would drag in other countries.
Beijing's Communist leaders insist that self-ruled Taiwan is part of China. They have threatened to attack if the Taiwanese don't eventually accept Chinese rule.
BG Yeo's speech angered Taiwanese Foreign Minister Mark Chen, who complained that the Singaporean official did not mention how China was threatening Taiwan with hundreds of missiles. The rivals split amid civil war in 1949.
One protester at Friday's flag-burning event accused Singapore of pretending to be sympathetic to Taiwan as it covertly sides with China. 'The government shouldn't let Singapore continue to go back and forth between the two sides and inform on us', the protester, who wasn't identified, told TVBS cable news. -- AP
Originally posted by paperchicken:I thought u ask plp to ignore them, y u still post this burning flag issue?
What the hell.
[b]Taiwanese protesters burn Singapore flag
TAIPEI - Demonstrators burned Singapore's flag on Friday in southern Taiwan, protesting a recent speech by the south-east Asian nation's foreign minister who warned that Taiwanese independence supporters were risking a war with China.
The small group of protesters lit a fire in a metal barrel and dipped Singapore's red and white flag into the flames while chanting, 'Singapore is an informer' in Kaohsiung, the island's second-biggest city.
Singapore and Taiwan have traditionally had friendly ties. But relations turned chilly after Foreign Affairs Minister George Yeo gave a speech at the United Nations last week that some Taiwanese thought unfairly criticised Taiwan.
Brigadier-General Yeo warned that some Taiwanese groups were pushing for independence and that this would spark a war with China that would drag in other countries.
Beijing's Communist leaders insist that self-ruled Taiwan is part of China. They have threatened to attack if the Taiwanese don't eventually accept Chinese rule.
BG Yeo's speech angered Taiwanese Foreign Minister Mark Chen, who complained that the Singaporean official did not mention how China was threatening Taiwan with hundreds of missiles. The rivals split amid civil war in 1949.
One protester at Friday's flag-burning event accused Singapore of pretending to be sympathetic to Taiwan as it covertly sides with China. 'The government shouldn't let Singapore continue to go back and forth between the two sides and inform on us', the protester, who wasn't identified, told TVBS cable news. -- AP
I tot they stop liao. Now they burn our flag.Originally posted by contact_thatslife:I thought u ask plp to ignore them, y u still post this burning flag issue?
You don't read any exact war strategy in Sun Sze Art of War as that will be blind following of its tenets or precepts.Originally posted by Qitai:You sure you have read the Sun Sze Art of War? I sure did not read what you wrote.
forget it lah... though our national flag is a symbol of our nation, it is, after all, only a piece of cloth.Originally posted by paperchicken:I tot they stop liao. Now they burn our flag.![]()