If the govt is run by ppl like you there's no hope for the country.Originally posted by Chia Ti Lik:my answer to you is YES WE CAN. Why
voting out the PAP means only 84 PAP MPs are shown the boot.
You have the SAF intact, you have the Police Intact, LTA is intact, MRT is intact NEL is intact SCDF is intact, LTA is intact, Town councils are intact, HDB is intact, Hospitals intact, NTUC intact, Temasek intact, you have the Courts and all other miinistries and statutory boards and whatever departments intact.
So why can't we run the show? (actually not me only lah but many other capable people in line)
Please understand the separation of the Executive (Government), the Legislature (Parliament) and the Judiciary (Courts)
True. people say why we wanna look for trouble?Originally posted by The Void Deck:Politics is ugly lor. Opposition must not use these realistic oppressive MIW obstacles to give up and lose hope. These sort of political tactics happen everywhere.
Your post shows your lack of understanding in the basic fundamentals of parliamentary democracy. You sound very young so i dont blame you.Originally posted by paperchicken:If the govt is run by ppl like you there's no hope for the country.![]()
you sound like an idiot. i dun blame you either.Originally posted by Chia Ti Lik:Your post shows your lack of understanding in the basic fundamentals of parliamentary democracy. You sound very young so i dont blame you.
ha ha another PAP fella.Originally posted by paperchicken:you are really pathatic.![]()
PaperchickenOriginally posted by paperchicken:you sound like an idiot. i dun blame you either.![]()
you are really childish. how old are you ?Originally posted by Chia Ti Lik:ha ha another PAP fella.
PAP-er-chicken
Now you sure you wanna join in the fray?![]()
So far, I see more destruction energy than creation energy. I do not like an opposition who breeds on hatred. Rather see more creation energy.Originally posted by Chia Ti Lik:Qitai
Its not that you are not important. Its that we cannot please everyone. As it can be shown by the exchange. It is beyond our abilities and that of the PAP too!
Rest assured. i can see you. you are important.
It is hilarious but also saddening in a way. Even our opponents the PAP in our exchanges treat us with more respect than some of the forumites here.
Sigh! what to do, when we first stood out we were told that it will never be easy. People will jump at all opportunities to criticise you because they dare not do so against the ruling party and they want to justify the sorry state of affairs in Singapore.
People must understand that the PAP is like this today simply because the Singapore People allowed them to do so. And for so long. The opposition too did not get its act together. If a check is required, the people can only do so hand in hand with the opposition and also the other way round.
But now the misconception of the duty of the opposition and the impression has been spoiled by the PAP and ingrained in an entire generation of Singaporeans. It will take time to change.
Engaging in a firefight is not Meng Seng and i wanted but we had to engage in order to show the prejudice and stupidity that runs through some of the opposition haters.
These people claim that they want an opposition but if they are so demanding of the opposition, the opposition will never be good enough for them.
Sigh! We have taken the step and we shall run the gauntlet with no regrets.
this is our path. it cannot be avoided.
We only wish that more Singaporeans will be awakened.
Warmest Regards.
Uncle Goh still ok lah. His buddy really pathetic.Originally posted by Qitai:So far, I see more destruction energy than creation energy. I do not like an opposition who breeds on hatred. Rather see more creation energy.
Actually, most of what Robert said is true. Go read articles on TVD, or even on YPAPbbs, and check out Singapore Elections as well (hhtp://www.singapore-elections.org). Check out thinkcentre.org's Links Page and newsintercom.org's links as well, adn you'll find that Robert's claimas are rather true. If you want more evidence, go check Reporters Without Borders (RSF) and Freedom House, or even Amnesty International. These are not western-biased organizations; They criticize EU and the USA as much as Asia. And just to show that their criticism is not for the sake of criticism, Amnesty International's reports on New Zealand and NZ and RSF does not make reports on countries with Good Press Freedom like Finland.Originally posted by papertiger:You are the one who has been brain wash.![]()
The Philipines have a free press and US style democracy so are they better off than us today ?Originally posted by pikamaster:Actually, most of what Robert said is true. Go read articles on TVD, or even on YPAPbbs, and check out Singapore Elections as well (hhtp://www.singapore-elections.org). Check out thinkcentre.org's Links Page and newsintercom.org's links as well, adn you'll find that Robert's claimas are rather true. If you want more evidence, go check Reporters Without Borders (RSF) and Freedom House, or even Amnesty International. These are not western-biased organizations; They criticize EU and the USA as much as Asia. And just to show that their criticism is not for the sake of criticism, Amnesty International's reports on New Zealand and NZ and RSF does not make reports on countries with Good Press Freedom like Finland.
the pikamaster
spam.Originally posted by Qitai:Brain washed record player. My, this type of repeat telecast made me hate something which I do not hate intially.
After reading all these articles on TVD...checking out those websites....you are certainly brainwashed.Originally posted by pikamaster:Actually, most of what Robert said is true. Go read articles on TVD, or even on YPAPbbs, and check out Singapore Elections as well (hhtp://www.singapore-elections.org). Check out thinkcentre.org's Links Page and newsintercom.org's links as well, adn you'll find that Robert's claimas are rather true. If you want more evidence, go check Reporters Without Borders (RSF) and Freedom House, or even Amnesty International. These are not western-biased organizations; They criticize EU and the USA as much as Asia. And just to show that their criticism is not for the sake of criticism, Amnesty International's reports on New Zealand and NZ and RSF does not make reports on countries with Good Press Freedom like Finland.
the pikamaster
be less of a "die-hard" pls.Originally posted by sgdiehard:After reading all these articles on TVD...checking out those websites....you are certainly brainwashed.
It is not what these people say, it is what we know is good for us, what is applicable to us. Finally, we are the one in it, not them. It is always easy to stand outside and comment/criticize.
I did not in anyway say or imply that they came any govt propaganda machine, it is you assumption. I don know if you are shouting as I am only reading what you write. You think you are not shouting because you are not high,Originally posted by pikamaster:be less of a "die-hard" pls.
Your lines sound like they come from a govt Propaganda machine. And from what you post, I can tell that you clearly have not even looked at those websites yet, so how can you make such a quick comment?
If I were brainwashed, I would be shouting crap right now, not conversing in such a calm voice. After all, brainwashing arouses high passions, especially political brainwashing.
If we stick with the "what we know is good" line, we are being very unreceptive to feedback that could help us improve. The "what we know is good" line has been implanted in us by our "we-know-what-is-best" pseudo-confucian Administration, and might be exactly what is hindering True Progress for us.
And by the way, orgs like AI perform country visits; they don't just "stand outside and criticise".
the hopeful pikamaster
n btw, y dun u have a look at those websites first?
Yes everything may be intact, but don't forget none of the opposition has ever come to power and none of them knows how to run a government except maybe a ward or two.Originally posted by Chia Ti Lik:my answer to you is YES WE CAN. Why
voting out the PAP means only 84 PAP MPs are shown the boot.
You have the SAF intact, you have the Police Intact, LTA is intact, MRT is intact NEL is intact SCDF is intact, LTA is intact, Town councils are intact, HDB is intact, Hospitals intact, NTUC intact, Temasek intact, you have the Courts and all other miinistries and statutory boards and whatever departments intact.
So why can't we run the show? (actually not me only lah but many other capable people in line)
Please understand the separation of the Executive (Government), the Legislature (Parliament) and the Judiciary (Courts)
Originally posted by arburthen?:Yes everything may be intact, but don't forget none of the opposition has ever come to power and none of them knows how to run a government except maybe a ward or two.
Only PAP has been the ruling party for last 30 odd years thats means the 84 PAP MPs which you are hoping to boot has the membership support from LTA, MRT, SAF, NEL, SCDF, Police and what not.
If I was the ruling party and I just lost majority power to a political newbie opposition before I leave office I will turn everything upside down. And inform all my supporters to not cooperate and drag their feet on general population issues.
By the time the opposition figures out how to run a government the term is up and the people by then has had enough of all the blunders and experimentation c ockups from the new government will be begging for my party's return to power.
Classical case look at indonesia, they didn't want surharto so they brought on in a so call democratic government hoping things would be better, apparently not. In almost 10years they have had 4 governments change hands, civil unrest, another civil war in Acheh, endless riots, ethnic clensing violence and these terroists who were hiding in the shadows now brazenly walk in daylight, need I say more?
The people of indonesia has had enough. And now the they are begging for a military figurehead to return to power as seen in their most recent election.
I don't agree with you. And frankly I don't think you know what the hell you talking about.
Thats why I say if opposition want to come to power can they take over seamlessly? If all the pap ministers just drop everything and walk out tomorrow to go holiday for a year can the current opposition able to come in and 'catch it' and continue to run things as though nothing has happened?
Are you sure it fell thru, no trouble now is only because every government of indonesia that came to power after Suharto has wisely stayed away from investigating him. And now after 10years 'maybe' indonesians will see some light at the end of the tunnel.Originally posted by goh meng seng:The answer is yes.
This happens to Suharto also, who has built up a whole network of "support" but eventually fell through it.
Goh Meng Seng
Originally posted by fymk:The way I see it . If I think there is a credible opposition party with credible ideas, I might fly back and do voting as a Singaporean.
CSJ has been hung up and overpublicised as the monkey to lambast other good opposition parties. I don't like his idiotic behaviour who just loves the attention and gets used as an example for the reason not to vote the other side.
To be fair to all , I decided to do a little reading ...
I read the old WP manifesto which is unfortunately the latest 1994 online- I am interested in the revised version for this year. Any WP members care to answer my questions?
Health care ideas are good but unfortunately in the 1994 version of the manifesto , it is not feasible to open more hospital beds nor convalescent since considerations have to be given the international and domestic shortage of nurses as well as the frequent movement of nurses plus other health care professionals across borders. Trained nursing aides or foreign nurses will also backfire on the system in the long term . How would you tackle the problem
Health care costs - how would you propose to balance healthcare cost without creating a long and deep deficit in the budget? Australia , UK - those with public health systems are busting out .
Now education - I like the ideas but I pose this -
university - if tuition fees are kept minimally and places are increased - how would WP propose to keep university facilities and research fully funded and up to date? How about overcrowded classrooms or lecture halls? I would also like to see a graduate entry program for those who are willing to retrain for other professional jobs. Not an important priority for me but I just would like to add. How about the scholar system? A level scholars? Why not extend psc scholarships to polytechnic students?
Promote tradesmen training like plumbers, electricians and mechanics training but u have to get rid of the stigma of ITE as those who cannot make it anywhere (harsh but the stigma does exist)
I am all for helping the lower income groups but I don't want a welfare state .
How do you define breed on hatred?Originally posted by Qitai:So far, I see more destruction energy than creation energy. I do not like an opposition who breeds on hatred. Rather see more creation energy.
Older than you i hope!Originally posted by paperchicken:you are really childish. how old are you ?![]()
Finally you got the spelling correct.Originally posted by paperchicken:Uncle Goh still ok lah. His buddy really pathetic.![]()