Taking care of the enviroment is part of the govt's job. There's a department call Nparks tat takes care of that. Temperature in built up areas is higher than in countryside. Its proven in scientific studies. More greenery is good for us. Plant more trees. Have more rooftop gardens.
aiyah...i oso know all that and i oso agree with your points...national parks (under ministry of national devpt), ministry of environment, tree planting day and all that. but as everyone who studies singapore geography knows....some places like chinese garden or japanese garden the responsibility of jtc. so not every tree on every road, or every bush in housing estate, or every bladee of grass under nparks lah.
taking care of environment oso not totally under nparks since environment can oso refer to sea/river water quality, air/noise quality pollutionn etc. but seriously hor, i have been to the big cities in us, europe and melbourne....sg is very deserving of its garden city image where urban areas are concerned. small territory populated by more than 4 million, but greenery everywhere. my american friend oso told me bukit timah reserve has more flora and fauna species than entire north american continent. i dont believe...so check website...wah lau he wass right! one nature reserve here can have more types of plants than usa/canada combined! make me damn paiseh.

oso...i agree that temp in city higher than countryside.....global warming due to industrialization...but george bush dont seem to care or believe leh..never sign kyoto treaty. so long as big countries like usa and australia who use a lot of energy resources refuse to sign, global warming will continue....and even if usa decide to sign tomorrow, it will take close to a century for the ozone to recover.
singaporeans can still do their part even if other countries dont..no need to wait for gahmen to complain first...per capita level, we are BIGGGGGGGGGGG contributors of cfc...each singaporean can switch on aircon LESS OFTEN, thereby reducing energy consumption. but here damn hot leh, u can do it a not? i try only lah...but cannot tahan, switch on a while hehehehehehehehehehehehehe
p.s. wah lau...this is my longest posting everleh!!!!!!!!!....but i am an environment freak!