Originally posted by Qitai:How about using the NEWwater on toilet flush only? Think everyone will feel better about this, plus it will not corrode the pipes like the seawater experiment they did earlier. Only problem is that having two pipes may cost more. Not sure about that though. Actually, if that is possible, maybe we can even have a lower grade water purification just for flushing purpose. We don't need top quality water for flushing toilet.
Originally posted by SilverKris:I did a search on recycled water and there were 21,000 entries which came up. I looked at 4 and all these indicated that recycled water technology is being used for drinking not just in california orange county but other states like arizona texas and florida as well...for many decades too. the following is a ***government*** website which says clearly recycled water is mixed with freshwater before drinking:
http://www.sannet.gov/water/waterreusestudy/geninfo/faq/where.shtml
----------------------------------------------
Where else is recycled water used in California and the United States?
In southern California, the Irvine Ranch Water District has distributed recycled water for over thirty years. Recycled water is used in high-rise office buildings for toilet and urinal flushing. In Los Angeles and Orange counties, recycled water is injected into groundwater storage basins to prevent saltwater intrusion into the basins near the coastline. Additionally, in Orange County, recycled water that has undergone additional advanced treatment is added to groundwater supplies that are used as a source of drinking water.
Recycled water is used in many ways and in many states across the country. In Arizona, Texas, Virginia and Florida, recycled water is added and blended with water sources in reservoirs and underground storage basins that are used as drinking water supplies.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
i rad your articles: first article suggests orange county residents not drinking recycled water yet even though other sources including govt ones say they are..... dunno why..... maybe it is referring to recycled water not being drunk directly, but mixed with fresh water...which is what the govt is doing now.
second article really confirms that recycled is safe, and it is psychological barrier that should be overcome. and in sg newater is to be mixed with fresh water in reservoir oso..oso not drinking recycled water directly.
oso no health risks brought up in both articles....and thios thread really about public health risk from drinking recycled water as you say rite
This is a very old subject now. Water supplies have been a strategic issue closely related to our survival. Search for alternative started long long time ago but nothing came to surface until 2003 when relationship with malaysia soured and looks like we must have additional sources of supplies by 2011 and be completely self reliance by 2065. It was then the new water came on stage, more a morale booster for singaporean than anything else. Alternative water supplies were extensively discussed in all media. Apparently Mr. Goh was not in singapore or he cannot recall some of the facts that were revealed.Originally posted by goh meng seng:Dear SilverKris,
Recycled water mentioned in these articles are not exactly "New Water", which is a reclaimed sewage water. Most probably this "recycled water" refers to the something similar to our longkang water being recycled.
Besides, there is no suggestion of "direct" drinking of such "PURE" water as claimed. They are being pumped back into the fresh water system.
They have only started the project of reclaimation of sewage water in 1999. And even so, this water is not for portable usage, but for non-portable usage.
Unless you are suggesting that we be the very first one to drink directly from reclaimed sewage water?
As I have said, we should have independent researchers, not connected to commercial entities that might have vested interests in these projects, to ascertain the safety and quality aspects.
When New Water was introduced, there was a frenzy going on in Singapore, and it seems that PAP is promoting it like hot cakes, drinking directly from it! And we have misleading reports on how California people drinking "recycled water" which is very much different from reclaimed sewage water. And the fact that, they did not drink these recycled water directly. These recycled water was pumped back into the fresh water system.
I think that is why later on, instead of keep selling the idea of "safe to drink" New Water, PAP govt says that these New Water would be pumped back into the reservoirs, which is what the advanced country, USA, is doing.
The proper, conventional way is to develop the "recycle water" water first, not the reclaimation of sewage water! We are doing it on the reverse! Never mind about that, as long as New Water, as in reclaimed sewage water is used for non-portable business, that's alright. The next step is to develop a more advanced "recycle water" from the dams and pump them back into reservoirs.
There is one Hokkien saying, "Kiang jiu hor, mai Kie Kaing".Meaning, be smart, not smart Alex.
This is a matter of public health concerns. Don't need to jump the gun. There is no report on whether drinking reclaimed sewage water will affect pubic health or not; using "proxy" claim of drinking recycle water no harm means New Water no harm, is commiting a philosophical sin.
Reclaiming Sewage water only advanced to our New Water level in recent times, not decades ago.
Goh Meng Seng
Drainage water, if properly collected, need no recycling. If you look around all the private housing estates you will find that all the drainage system is now covered with metal grille to screen off leaves....As far as I know, this exercise is island wide to ensure only rain water goes into the drainage system which lead to the reservoir and the treatment is conventional and need no expensive reverse osmosis. We din skip recycling drainage water, we just reclaim it, in the cheapest way. If rain water does not go in and choke the sewage system then we deal with the sewage water, more thoroughly but at higher costs. I think this make sense.Originally posted by goh meng seng:Dear Sgdiehard,
I don't really dispute what you say. Looking for alternative water sources, like alternative energy sources, is very old subject. And I really agree with you that the 2003 "show off" of New Water is actually a political wayang to boast confidence.
I really do not see how we could be self reliant on water if we are going to aim for a population of 7 to 8 million. Water demand will be more than doubled. If we cannot handle it now at this population level, you expect us to handle a double growth in demand?
I might have missed out some news articles, but there isn't a "vision" or published full idea of our water strategy. And it is really amazing that we skip the step of recycling (or reclaiming as you preferred) of water from our drainage system and go straight into sewage recycling.
You are right about "being pure" in New Water but there is process risk involved. If simple things like safe boxes could also cause a blunder, how about microscopic filtration monitoring? Besides, being "PURE" doesn't necessary mean good for healthy drinking.
Reverse Osmosis has proven to be effective in distilling sea water and cost only one third of conventional desalination system; why not use it?Why use it on sewage treatment instead? Any logic for that?
They are building an additional pipe system to bring non-portable water to the households. That's what I have been told.
Apparently you are taking the risk of chlorine water too lightly.Just pray that you are not the nearest household to the distribution system of treated water.
Goh Meng Seng
Originally posted by sgdiehard:Drainage water, if properly collected, need no recycling. If you look around all the private housing estates you will find that all the drainage system is now covered with metal grille to screen off leaves....As far as I know, this exercise is island wide to ensure only rain water goes into the drainage system which lead to the reservoir and the treatment is conventional and need no expensive reverse osmosis. We din skip recycling drainage water, we just reclaim it, in the cheapest way. If rain water does not go in and choke the sewage system then we deal with the sewage water, more thoroughly but at higher costs. I think this make sense.
It is agreed that being "pure" without all the minerals is not good for health. I mentioned earlier and that is the reason why newwater needs to be mixed with water in the reservoir. Risk of process error is bound to be there, but to what extend? If microfiltration, reverse osmosis and UV light plus the conventional checks ALL fails, you are talking about 1% of sewage water going into the reservoir (the current mixing rate), it is like all security checks fails and somebody manage to bring a bombs into Orchard MRT, what can we do? damage control management then.
Whether the plan we have can quench the thirst of 7 million or not, or if the plan is meant for 7 million or 5 million, i don know. At least we now have more alternatives than we did 10 years ago. With desalination plants we will have one more alternative. If Malaysia agree to sell at reasonable prices, better! but have to bear in mind that Malaysia had to go on water rationing in certain states in recent years. They may not have enough. so what else can we do?
I take at least 2 liter of water a day, for ......years (can't tell you how many or I will be revealling my age), but there is no sign that chlorine has affected me, so far so good. Doctor tells me it is better to drink tap water than can of cola which contain 7 teaspoon of sugar in each can. Coffee should not be more than 3 cups a day. Too much beer no good, alcohol limited to two glasses of wine every evening. sigh....there must be more important thing to worry in life.
To think about it, I never smell chlorine when i drink. When I say drinking from the tap, I actually mean filling a bottle with tap water and drink as and when necessary. Drinking directly from the tap waste water. May be allowing the water to settle after leaving the tap helps. Anyway, no issue here.Originally posted by goh meng seng:Dear sgdiehard,
You are really lucky that you are not staying any nearer to water distribution network controls.
The little rain water collection methodology cannot solve a larger scale problem. Most of the rain water from built up area went to waste throught the canal system, into the few rivers mentioned to be dammed.
I think there is a risk involved if the filters are not properly monitored. To make sure that the filters will not deteriorate in the process needs good monitoring technique. To reduce such process risk is to pump these water back into reservoirs or the underground storage system (they are using it in US). In such a process, it dilutes the effect. There has been instances of poisoning due to improper water treatment in US. Such thing cannot be taken lightly as public health is concerned.
I also doubt we could depend on Malaysia for our strategic long term supply of water. Yes, it is good that we have alternatives right now. But a population of 7 to 8 million with uncertainties over water supply? No thanks. I don't think it is possible to be self sufficient.
We will ultimately explore the need for treating seawater through the reverse osmosis methodoly. Oil will be scarce for the next few decades.
But many people feel that we would be spending too much monies on the variety of water system we are talking about here. I say, it is necessary and strategically important for us to spend these monies; instead of the $600million Durians with $50m annual maintenance. Water is critical to our nation's survival.
Goh Meng Seng
The two porcupines may not make money by themselves but they bring in other benefits like tourist dollars and attracting world class arts talents to Singapore.Originally posted by goh meng seng:Dear sgdiehard,
You are really lucky that you are not staying any nearer to water distribution network controls.
The little rain water collection methodology cannot solve a larger scale problem. Most of the rain water from built up area went to waste throught the canal system, into the few rivers mentioned to be dammed.
I think there is a risk involved if the filters are not properly monitored. To make sure that the filters will not deteriorate in the process needs good monitoring technique. To reduce such process risk is to pump these water back into reservoirs or the underground storage system (they are using it in US). In such a process, it dilutes the effect. There has been instances of poisoning due to improper water treatment in US. Such thing cannot be taken lightly as public health is concerned.
I also doubt we could depend on Malaysia for our strategic long term supply of water. Yes, it is good that we have alternatives right now. But a population of 7 to 8 million with uncertainties over water supply? No thanks. I don't think it is possible to be self sufficient.
We will ultimately explore the need for treating seawater through the reverse osmosis methodoly. Oil will be scarce for the next few decades.
But many people feel that we would be spending too much monies on the variety of water system we are talking about here. I say, it is necessary and strategically important for us to spend these monies; instead of the $600million Durians with $50m annual maintenance. Water is critical to our nation's survival.
Goh Meng Seng
Originally posted by paperchicken:The two porcupines may not make money by themselves but they bring in other benefits like tourist dollars and attracting world class arts talents to Singapore.
.....and its not just about money. If you have to lay pipes to let ppl use seawater for flushing toilets you think ppl will not kpkb when HDB come in to hack their toilets ?![]()
How are they going to supply seawater for flushing without hacking and laying a seperated pipe ?Originally posted by goh meng seng:Dear Paperchicken,
There are really ways to do it without the need of going into your flat to hack your toilet.
BTW, what about these porcupines? What's that? ;?
Goh Meng Seng
Two years ago the joints of the seawater chiller cooling pipes at Marina made of special epoxy material gave way. None of the Singapore contractors could repair them so the seawater pipes were finally modified at great costs for future maintenance purpose.Originally posted by paperchicken:How are they going to supply seawater for flushing without hacking and laying a seperated pipe ?
the porcupines are the theatre by the bay.
conclusion : suggestion by Goh Meng Seng to use piped seawater is a bad idea.Originally posted by robertteh:Two years ago the joints of the seawater chiller cooling pipes at Marina made of special epoxy material gave way. None of the Singapore contractors could repair them so the seawater pipes were finally modified at great costs for future maintenance purpose.![]()