In one swoop , you made a huge generalisation. It is not a communist system really - communists are supposed to make everything equal.....everything is state owned ...not sold away or privatised. AND not to mention : ministers don't earn 1 million straight out in a communist country. And a communist system never trusts foreigners to run anything. ...you catch my driftOriginally posted by SG Sharil:i found out that s'poreans don't really likes democracy as they prefers a china communist system in s'pore instead
will s'pore succeed using china's communist system?
how do u noe? u conduct islandwide survey?Originally posted by SG Sharil:i found out that s'poreans don't really likes democracy as they prefers a china communist system in s'pore instead
Just been told by a friend returning from Shanghai, there are now 2.5 million millionaires in China. Even if it means 2.5 million RMB, it is still a lot!! If Chinese communist system can make 2.5 million millionaires in singapore, hey, whats wrong? But,Originally posted by SG Sharil:i found out that s'poreans don't really likes democracy as they prefers a china communist system in s'pore instead
the thread starter, thinks that singaporean chinese will follow china chinese way. ROFL ROFL.Originally posted by sgdiehard:Just been told by a friend returning from Shanghai, there are now 2.5 million millionaires in China. Even if it means 2.5 million RMB, it is still a lot!! If Chinese communist system can make 2.5 million millionaires in singapore, hey, whats wrong? But,
how did you find out s'poreans don't likes democracy? did they say why they don't like democracy? I thought there is no democracy in singapore? sure they want china communist system? not the maoist, stalinnist, marxist, north korean communist system?![]()
china isn't communist anymore... they call it "market socialism" now...Originally posted by SG Sharil:i found out that s'poreans don't really likes democracy as they prefers a china communist system in s'pore instead
actually i think...aiyo!!!!!.....talk so much rubbish leh! a republic is simply a country whose head of state is not a king or queen...but usually a president....got nothing to do with political systems like communism or democracy or absolute monarchies. simple terms leh..how come oso can get wrong. u never take history in sec sch meh??!?
you are mixing things up.
DEMOCRACY?
WHAT DEMOCRACY?
FOR HELL'S SAKE,
ITS A BLOODY REPUBLIC!!
BESIDES CHOOSING THE LEADER,
WHAT ELSE DO YOU VOTE FOR?
IF YOU CAN VOTE ON ISSUES,
ITS A DEMOCRACY,
IF NOT,
ITS A REPUBLIC!
sheesh...
heard of alternate definitions?Originally posted by SilverKris:aiyo!!!!!.....talk so much rubbish leh! a republic is simply a country whose head of state is not a king or queen...but usually a president....got nothing to do with political systems like communism or democracy or absolute monarchies. simple terms leh..how come oso can get wrong. u never take history in sec sch meh??!?
all republics no king or queen, the democratic republics vote for own leaders, the non-democractic ones don't.
that's why got republic of korea (south korea), democratic people's republic of korea (north korea- they say they democratic but kim rules! haha), people's republic of china (mainland china), republic of china (taiwan), republic of austria (austria) , french republic (france), republic of singapore (singapore) etc etc.
my colleagues n friends, regardless of race, have high praises for chinese communist party n their leaders n they think that they hv the best political system in the worldOriginally posted by sgdiehard:Just been told by a friend returning from Shanghai, there are now 2.5 million millionaires in China. Even if it means 2.5 million RMB, it is still a lot!! If Chinese communist system can make 2.5 million millionaires in singapore, hey, whats wrong? But,
how did you find out s'poreans don't likes democracy? did they say why they don't like democracy? I thought there is no democracy in singapore? sure they want china communist system? not the maoist, stalinnist, marxist, north korean communist system?![]()
heard of alternate definitions?aiyo!! in your first response there is nothing in it to suggest
republic - a political system in which the supreme power lies in a body of citizens who can elect people to represent them
OR
a form of government whose head of state is not a monarch; "the head of state in a republic is usually a president"
yours is the second one. the more popular defination.
for the first one, which is the one i meant,
"people to represent them"
which means its like you choose one person, or enitity, to make decisions for you.
you can choose the person, but what choice that person makes is directly out of your control. except that you can always kick them out of office. =)
democracy is just a variation of a republic, in which the numerical majority of an organized group can make decisions binding on the whole group.
which means the people should have most of the power.
nope. not singapore.
an example of a democracy would be switzerland.
an example of a republic would be singapore.
=)
you are right. i didn't take sec school history =)
but i do know the philosophy of alternate meanings =)
which is the idea that words can have more than one meaning =)
Originally posted by SG Sharil:i found out that s'poreans don't really likes democracy as they prefers a china communist system in s'pore instead
let me guess, english is not your best subject...?Originally posted by SilverKris:aiyo!! in your first response there is nothing in it to suggest
"republic - a political system in which the supreme power lies in a body of citizens who can elect people to represent them". only in your second reply u say that (probably after checking dictionary)
what you said in your first reply is
"DEMOCRACY?
WHAT DEMOCRACY?
FOR HELL'S SAKE,
ITS A BLOODY REPUBLIC!!
ITS A DEMOCRACY"
so first definition u:
1. confuse meanings of democracy and republic (as if both meanings are exclusive)
2. said people choose "THE LEADER"
and now second reply, it becomes
1. suddenly a question of 'alternate meanings'
2. people who elect "BODY OF CITIZENS" (not just the leader) i.e. a group of people who become leaders.
i call this word games, and trying to stick stamps over everyone's eyes. anyone who reads your two replies CAREFULLY hor knows what is going on and your attempt to cover up.
your two definitions of 'republic' are correct...but this is not about 'alternate meaings'..they basically mean the same thing ie choosing leader(s). glad u checked the dictionary lor...hehehhehehehe. monarchs are never chosen by people...even in malaysia the agong is chosen by sultans every few years on rotation system. knowing same word can have many meanings is common sense.
the sentence in first reply "if you can vote on issues=democracy" is wrong. many democracies vote for leaders, but they do not vote on issues. like labour prime minister tony blair is an elected leader, but no vote by britons on whether to join iraq war. majority of britons oppose to it. while britons didnt vote on that issue, UK still democracy.
to call switzerland democracy while defining singapore as just 'republic' is nonsensical. switzerland is a federal public, sg is parliamentary republic. both countries are also democracies although singapore is not a liberal democratic one in the western style.
they must be from china. i never heard of Singaporeans saying tat. most ppl have pride in their country's own system except a minority few who think everything is wrong with the Singapore system.Originally posted by SG Sharil:my colleagues n friends, regardless of race, have high praises for chinese communist party n their leaders n they think that they hv the best political system in the world
let me guess, english is not your best subject...?I would like to add my two cents' worth:
i wrote..
republic - a political system in which the supreme power lies in a body of citizens who can elect people to represent them
which BLOODY HELL MEANS THAT YOU VOTE FOR PEOPLE WHO WILL REPRESENT YOUR VOTE, AND THEN DURING DECISION MAKING, YOU PRAY THAT THEY HAVE THE SAME POINT OF VIEW AS YOURS.
(in the context of what i thought the word republic meant.)
didn't quite become contrary to what i said earlier now, does it?
i have not played any word games...
you merely have a weak grasp of the english language.
or you read too fast.
which is kind of odd, to your "CAREFULLY" claim..
=)
however, you did try to clarify the meaning of republic for me.
at least in what countries think the meaning is...
you see, most countries choose to have the second meaning in my second post as the basis of their "republic" status.
its the most popular one.
the first definition rarely comes up in the dictionary.
why?
its more in the context of the USA.
democrat and republican.
there, my definition is is almost correct.*
however, internationally, republic is just plain old, "a non- monarchial type of country."
which is why i posted two meanings,
to avoid the confusion.
in the first meaning, switzerland would be simply a democracy,
in the second meaning, switzerland would be a federal republic, and thus a republic..
*i mean, why would there be a difference between the two,
if republic is simply a non monarchial type of government.
so is democracy.
yet they are two seperate parties!
meaning that their definition of a republic is not just simply that....
"DEMOCRACY?Surely you don't expect others to conclude from that post that you really mean to say:
WHAT DEMOCRACY?
FOR HELL'S SAKE,
ITS A BLOODY REPUBLIC!!
ITS A DEMOCRACY"
heard of alternate definitions?I think not, and that was what Silverkris was trying to point out. Your second post and what you purport to claim comes out of the blue. A democracy is really about having the right to vote for leaders in an election. It's less about voting for 'issues'. I think what you were trying to refer to is a 'referendum'. As you acknowledged yourself in the second post, in a democracy, elected leaders are given the responsibility to decide on issues in the interests of the country. They do not leave to the citizens who elected them to decide on every issue. However if they do, they hold a referendum.
republic - a political system in which the supreme power lies in a body of citizens who can elect people to represent them .
dude, your signature is offensive..Originally posted by SG Sharil:my colleagues n friends, regardless of race, have high praises for chinese communist party n their leaders n they think that they hv the best political system in the world
Do they speak in glowing praises? I have not heard many SIngaporeans speak in glowing praises of SIngapore's system, in school, at work, among my dad and mom's friends, among my siblings' friends' parents, among teachers at my school and elsewhere even the few people from the press who came to talk with us...that's basically every Singaporean around me, I guess.Originally posted by paperchicken:they must be from china. i never heard of Singaporeans saying tat. most ppl have pride in their country's own system except a minority few who think everything is wrong with the Singapore system.![]()
Sadly speaking the same can be applied to many singaporeans.Originally posted by Lingos:I don't think they know what democracy is.
You ask your dad and mom's friends, among your siblings' friends' parents, among teachers at your school whether they want to live somewhere else. Grow up lah pikamaster stop whining and complaining.Originally posted by pikamaster:Do they speak in glowing praises? I have not heard many SIngaporeans speak in glowing praises of SIngapore's system, in school, at work, among my dad and mom's friends, among my siblings' friends' parents, among teachers at my school and elsewhere even the few people from the press who came to talk with us...that's basically every Singaporean around me, I guess.
So where u get that impression from?
the confused pikamaster