Dear SilverKris,
It would mean that either in 1997 financial crisis alone, Temasek would have lost Billions, maybe at least $7 billion dollars or more, depending on whether the performance prior to 1997 is bad or good.
Goh Meng Seng
TO goh meng seng
I oso dunno why u picked out 1997 for particular mentionÂ…or how u reached the figure of $7 billion. And even then, u indicated in your words u donÂ’t really know, and arent sure of those numbers osoÂ…Â….so really just guessing rite, or to put it nicely, educated guess, since u have econs degree.
As for profits and losses:
i havent looked at the entire report. but from page 46 onwards of my acrobat reader are details of each listed company's performanceÂ…..and there are a lot of them! as i scroll through, there are details of profits and losses for particular years. If u really interested to know, read and calculate lor..Â…..
frankly i think when doing business and making investments, there will be times when profits are made, and times when losses are made. that is the nature/risks of business and investments...cannot expect every year more and more money made, and the profit graph only going up, but never down.
world economy changes, industries oso change, property prices can oso go up or down, demand for particular goods/services can oso go up or down..... as the report indicates, even in the same year, some temasek companies made money, some lost moneyÂ…..depends on which industry and industry conditions then.
Besides hor, my sister reading news reports oso said temasek has national goalsÂ….they do not operate just based on purely commercial goals. So temsek may invest in say some high tech manufacturing company even though it may not always offer the best returnsÂ…..just so that singapore can gain a foothold in that industry in the future.
when losses made, people shouldnt scream and accuse the company of being evil lah, cheating money lah, losing taxpayer's money lahÂ…...all that very unreasonable rite. wah! and when people STILL complain when profits made.....i dunno wat to say.
no businessman even if he just owns a provision shop can guarantee business will always be good and NEVER bad. always risks involved..Â….
even calculated risks are not 100% guaranteed or accurate.
and bottomline: they still make profits in last ten years!....people only disagree only whether MORE profits could have been made.
Ok dinner time lor!!!